We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gong for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gong for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have never stayed here, but I've gotten drinks a couple of times here. Hotel Z is an oasis in middle of LIC, and they have a really cool rooftop lounge. I suppose it only makes sens to go there when the weather is nice, but it has a most spectacular view of the city, and drinks are reasonably priced. It can also be a bit loud, as they blast the music, but if you are looking not to cross a bridge to the city, but still get a great view, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    514
    160
    73
    49
See reviews for
168
703
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

PROS:
- Incredible view of Manhattan and the Queensboro bridge - truly stunning
- Aesthetically pleasing design in the lobby, bar and rooms
- Quiet (other than the loud AC, which can be turned off)
- Comfortable beds
- Reasonably close to the subway (E, Q and 7 trains)
- Hourly shuttle to subway stop
- If you come in a colder month, you don't have to worry about noise from the roof bar as there is no DJ/party

CONS:
- Impractical room design (sink outside of bathroom, bathroom door a translucent slab of glass - more like a stall in the room than a private bathroom, very little storage space)
- Tip automatically added at the bar on top of high prices for drinks and limited selection of beer
- Crappy, loud pop in all public areas (the bar would be 100 times better with better music)
- Breakfast buffet costs $14.95 per person and, even though you serve yourself everything but drinks, which you have to ask for, a tip is automatically added (if you go here, eat at the excellent nearish Court Square diner instead for 1/2 that price and better food).
- Constant nickle and dimeing
- Daytime desk staff are the only people who seem to care about customer service
- Nothing beyond industrial wasteland in immediate area of hotel
- HDTVs mysteriously fed by low quality, low def cable - very limited selection of channels

Bottom line: if I was young and didn't care about the cons I listed it's a decent place (my teen daughter loved it); everybody else, not so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RamblinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Many of the reviews of this hotel focus on the view and how 'cool' the hotel is. We chose it since it seemed interesting and different, and our stay was certainly that, but not in the way we could have imagined. Our bedroom had a shower & toilet off, but the impractical washbasin was in the bedroom, just like in a cheap motel. There was insuffient storage space but there WAS a funky chair that you slid off rather than sat on. You certainly get a view not only of Manhattan, but also of the grim industrial surroundings in which the hotel is situated. This is as far from being a 'hotel district' as it is possible to imagine, with auto repair outfits, storage units and the like all around. There are NO retail shops, restaurants or anything you might want to visit anywhere near. It is not an area you would particularly want to walk around late at night. The Google StreetView photo is what faces the front door, from where we caught their shuttle to Bloomongdales, which is supposed to take about 20 minutes. However this apparent benefit is an illusion since it took us nearer an hour, due to congestion. Back at the hotel, being tired from a long flight and since we felt we had no choice, we ate in the snack bar in the basement, and found the food underwhelming and over-priced. It is emphatically NOT a restaurant.
We had virtually no sleep on either of our two nights, since the AC unit (bottom left in the room picture) has to be the loudest we have ever heard (think: standing under a jumbo jet). Basically we woke up repeatedly during the night, turned it on for a few minutes to bring the temperature and humidity down to bearable levels, then tried again for sleep. Then in the morning I was washing my hair in the shower when the large clunky shower head fell off the wall onto my head, and it is only the fact that I batted it away with my arm that prevented me from getting concussion or a fractured skull. The management made all the anticipated expressions of concern about my cuts and bruises (and will no doubt do so again when they've read this review) but this was not translated into even remotely adequate compensation, with them reducing our $600+ outlay by about $100. Clearly if I had hotshot US lawyers among my circle of friends then it would all have been different, but frankly I couldn't afford the time to return to New York for the hearing.
There's apparently nowhere to get breakfast nearby so you are forced either to skip it, or once again to visit the downstairs bar for an over-priced meal.
Basically the hotel is over-hyped and under-specified (but NOT under-priced). Would we stay there again? Never. Would we recommend it to friends? No.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bullshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a pleasant stay here, and would likely come back again. It's SOO expensive to stay in Manhattan; If you dont wan't to pay the $$ for a Manhattan hotel, this is a good place to consider. But as with any hotels there are PRO's and CONs.

PRO's
+hourly shuttle service to and from Manhattan (sometimes it's their school bus, sometimes a black van, and we even got a limo once!)
+every room in this hotel has floor-to-celing windows that face Manhattan
+quick service. called for an ironing board and iron and it was brought up in less than 5 minutes
+comfortable beds and soft towels
+our A/C and heater worked perfectly fine, we slept through the noise of the A/C
+large shower space, perfect water pressure

CON's
-not much sink space to store all of your toiletries
-their downstairs bar automatically charged us a 20% tip for 3 shots!! WTF??!
-neither of their two printers in the business area were working
-showers don't have doors/curtains! expect water to get everywhere...

We stayed during the week so we didn't experience any loud music from the bar on the roof, we were on the 9th floor. I guess we missed it on Thursday night when we were out in Manhattan til 4am but when we got back we didn't hear anything.

Service was OK but that depends on who you deal with. All the staff look very young. The staff in the day seems very nice and friendly but some of the ones who take over at night don't seem to give a crap about customer service and seem like they are just trying to get through their shift.

If you choose not to wait for their shuttle, the nearest subway station is about a 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Last weekend we used the Z for our base of operations for our daughter's wedding in Long Island City. Basically, we all agreed that the hotel is an excellent choice for tourists; but, could be better for wedding operations. For example, king rooms are necessities for wedding party changing, ect.; but, the hotel only offers one king room in wedding blocks. So, parents need to reserve king rooms at the higher rate. Parking is an issue during work day hours; with the closest parking building 4 blocks away. Otherwise, people are on their own finding scarce street parking closer. (Weekends and evenings are better in that regard). And, there is no room service for breakfast other than coffee for everyone dressing in the morning in the rooms. The rooftop is good for hotel pictures; but, if the weather doesn't cooperate, there are very limited indoor picture locations. In fairness to the Z, we aren't sure if the other hotels in the area are better for catering to wedding parties; but, we are sure that there is a need for a good wedding hotel in Long Island City.

Room Tip: Higher is better as long as there are no noisy rooftop parties at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Regarding location, some might find the surrounding industry/depot businesses disturbing, but you cannot beat the stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, you have from all rooms and the rooftop-terrace. The area is quiet at night - aldo if you walk home to your hotel in the evening. Convenient with the complimentary hotel shuttlebus, but you could also easily walk to the subway station Queensboro Plaza 7 blocks from the hotel (8 min walk). In the morning there might be a bit of noice from trucks unloading stuff in the area, but you get usted to it. The rooms are very nice - staff is eager to assist you in the Best possibilistisk way with all questions you might have. The restaurant downstairs is worthwhile trying - we had dinner and breakfast there once - bóthar were great!!! All-in-all, super hotel, good value, excellent quality, convenient location and an unbeatable view of the City - highly recommended to other future guests.

Room Tip: I Think all rooms have the stunning City-view, so you cannot go wrong there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertil-Brinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the view it offered of the New York skyline. We were not disappointed.
We spent all day in New York and wanted to stay just outside the city and were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a view. this hotel offered both of those. The view from our room was amazing.
Yes, it is in and industrial area as it does state. But if a view is what you desire then you won't be disappointed.
We had a nice stay at this hotel. And our bed was very comfortable.
We did go up to the rooftop bar and it appeared to be closed. We were here on Labor Day Monday and maybe it is only open on week-ends.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view, but I would imagine, the higher up, the better. We were on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#19 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Property: Z NYC Hotel
Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing