We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brilliant clean rooms fab views over Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant clean rooms fab views over Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent two nights here in August 2013 room lovely (only downside is its a bit small ) however spotless and great service. Will defo go back the view were amazing !!!! Just ashore walk to the subway or free bus every hour - what more could you ask for !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahsexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    461
    145
    66
    39
See reviews for
148
617
54
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The rooms were spotless, the staff was outstanding in helping us navigate and hold luggage, the view of the city is spectacular and the food was great. This gem of a hotel is not only economical in the market of NYC hotels, but the breakfast buffet was only $10.00 (and was good - so was the coffee), they have free shuttle service (in a great little bus) to/from Manhattan, they held our luggage for us (and were pleasant about it), and the mattress was comfortable and restful. We will never stay at another hotel in the city again, our first and only choice will be the Z Hotel.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but the higher you go the better view of the city. They do have live music o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here during a heatwave. The A/C in our room was not great and the room was warm at times. The breakfast buffet was poor for $10. We went to eat during the last half hour of breakfast and nothing fresh was put out. The best things were the free Manhattan shuttle and phone calls. Oh yes and also great Manhattan skyline views from every room. Not a good location for being within walking distance of restaurants. The hotel restaurant and bar struggles to wait on other customers when there is a function on.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a bar on the roof with loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikefromgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel overall was a great place to stay. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. we stayed 4nights and found it was really good value to be out of manhattan. Be cautious ant staying Friday and Saturday nights though if you like your sleep.
Our flight in to New York was delayed but a short phone call to the desk and there was no problem with a very late check-in.
Originally our room was on the second floor but the man on the front desk put in a request to move us up for a better view and we were very pleased we were moved. The view of manhattan from any of the rooms above the 3rd floor is amazing.
The rooms themselves were clean and modern and the bathroom was good too. The shower room door is a little strange in that it isn't really a proper door, just a pane of frosted glass.
Travelling to and from Manhattan each day was really easy. The shuttle service runs really well and when the bus was filled there was a replacement called up to collect those who didn't have a seat. The subway station is only a 10 minute walk away if you are staying out late or just want a bit more flexibility. We walked down 23rd street to 43rd ave until we reached the hotel!
There are places to eat in Long Island city too if you don't feel like heading back into the hassle and bustle of manhattan. A 15-20 minute walk takes you to a collection of bars, restaurants and shops. We stopped at blend on vernon boulevard.

The only problem we had with the hotel was the noise on the Friday night. Although having read reviews we were expecting loud noise the rest of the experience we were not expecting and we weren't actually informed about the event by the hotel staff. We could hear the music from the corner of 23rd and 43rd on the walk home! Arriving back to the hotel there was a crowd of people outside and it did not feel like a hotel. One of the lifts was out of order because someone was sick in it. There isn't actually anything stopping party guests getting access to any of the floors either. perhaps an express elevator for party guests or one reserved for hotel guests would be better/ more secure. When we arrived back in our room on the 10th floor the music was ridiculous. Further into the evening there had been fireworks arranged about 2 blocks away which exploded at about our level which was a fright when you are just managing to fall asleep! It was disappointing as this was our last night in New York before heading off.

All in all we would stay here again but only during the week. Although the party atmosphere is great sometimes, it's not when you pay to sleep in a hotel, not a nightclub.

Room Tip: Anything above the 3/4th floor. Any room faces the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st eustache
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

very clean, breakfast very good, I was there just one week after they open the place, nice view from the top of the hotel also from rooms, with the parking we have some problemes but it was ok
they have the limusin service they pick you up from manhatan, it was very helpful, ..............

Room Tip: dificult to find the adresse on GPS, we turn around 30 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iulian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We found the hotel through a friend. The rooms were great, very comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The view of the skyline was amazing. The food looked good though we did not eat the in hotel and very reasonably priced. The hotel seems like its in the middle of nowhere but its not, its a 5-10 min walk to the subway which has access to 4 lines that will get you to brooklyn, manhattan and queens. There is also a free shuttle once and hour to and from a drop off point in midtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious, modern and super clean. All of them have an amazing view of Manhattan, worth the 10 minute shuttle. Staff is welcoming and friendly. Beds are comfy. Don't be afraid to leave Manhattan! There is a club on the roof garden with DJs playing every night. Great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,278 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,506 reviews
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Property: Z New York Hotel
Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing