We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money NYC”
Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay as part of a whirlwind visit across the USA. Great location with excellent vistas of Manhattan's skyline. Professional helpful staff at front desk and restaurant/bar. Modern rooms with quality amenities. Comfortable bed, free wifi. Small space - but we weren't on our honeymoon! Free shuttles to Bloomingdales was fantastic, and catching a yellow cab back to the hotel late night was inexpensive. Kitchen was undergoing refurbishment - so cant comment on cuisine. Roof top bar was closed due to off season. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Planning another trip with lots of friends in October 2013. Cant wait. Thanks for a great stay. R Ellis.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the best views of Manhattan's skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've picked Z hotel of our short 3 nights stopover in NY on our way to Cancun, mainly due to financial reasons - Manhattan prices are stupid, plus we didn't mind staying off the island.
Location of hotel id fine, but walks to the subway after 9 pm is somewhat of a scary experience, minibus transfer is a big help.
View from the room is fantastic over skyline. Room itself is fine, definitely on a small size, bed is barely a quenn size. Bathroom is fine, but there's no heater and can get chilly sometimes. Breaksfast was average.
In general we can recomend this hotel for travellers looking for a budget place to stay near Manhattan, without levelling down to 3 stars hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dshmyglya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here as opposed to somewhere in Manhattan because it was a good standard without the Manhattan prices - leaving us more money to spend on the high life. Good rooms, outstanding views of NY Skyline. Not the best of breakfasts, but enough to get you going. Five minute walk to closest subway ( first stop in Queens ). There was a limo service, but I found this a bit hit and miss so preferred the SubWay

Room Tip: Go as high as you can get for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thought this hotel was a bargain find for the view alone. It has a motel design to give every room a view of the city, which you cannot beat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The mini transport bus was a huge plus and so were the free bicycles. The rooms were clean and stacked to the max. The beds were comfortable and pillows plush. Have recommended it to friends and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We are traveling as group of 4 all in early thirties. Been to NYC before would highly recommend this hotel they make an extra effort on the things that really count. Service is excellent, rooms are compact but have all you need and an amazing bed. The view is breathtaking and I makes staying here well worth it. The free shuttle makes sight seeing and going out in the evening s breeze, great atmosphere, great service, great price really can't fault it. Ifoke us you want the best but don't want to pay the silly prices if the centre of town this is for you

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edinb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel with nice atmosphere with their Owen urban transportation over to Manhattan. Roms are neat and the staff are serviceminded. Breakfast could be better bit hits all good. Would recommend it again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSilvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Z Hotel in Long Island City, NY and were extremely disappointed in the customer service and treatment here.
A few family friends stayed at the same hotel and we all noticed the heating/air conditioning was not working properly in any of our rooms. Heat was blasting even after turning the temp down to 64 degrees. The front desk said there was nothing they could do about it and did not opt to help correct the issue.
Management was extremely disappointing, rude and the customer service at this branch was horrendous.
My family and friends will never go back there and we will be sure to tell everyone we come into contact with never to waste their time or money here!
Horrible!

Room Tip: As long as you don't stay at the Long Island City branch, you might have a better chance of enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Director of Sales at Z NYC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Beth,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback as we constantly strive to improve our guest experience.

Unfortunately during the change in seasons it is quite difficult to regulate interior temperatures, however the a/c is available year round. As with other guest that experienced similar situations our in house engineering staff, which is available 24 hour a day for such issues, has always resolved these issues. It’s unfortunate that you didn’t reach out for assistance.

I apologize for any misinformation that may have been given by our staff and that you felt mistreated. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff accordingly.

The Z NYC Hotel management and staff strive to provide each and every guest a memorable stay. If I can be of further assist, you may contact me directly at your convenience.


Lisa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#8 of 34 in Long Island City
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#4 of 34 in Long Island City
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#21 of 34 in Long Island City
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: $129 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing