We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money NYC”
Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for Money NYC”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay as part of a whirlwind visit across the USA. Great location with excellent vistas of Manhattan's skyline. Professional helpful staff at front desk and restaurant/bar. Modern rooms with quality amenities. Comfortable bed, free wifi. Small space - but we weren't on our honeymoon! Free shuttles to Bloomingdales was fantastic, and catching a yellow cab back to the hotel late night was inexpensive. Kitchen was undergoing refurbishment - so cant comment on cuisine. Roof top bar was closed due to off season. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Planning another trip with lots of friends in October 2013. Cant wait. Thanks for a great stay. R Ellis.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the best views of Manhattan's skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    528
    162
    73
    50
See reviews for
172
718
60
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've picked Z hotel of our short 3 nights stopover in NY on our way to Cancun, mainly due to financial reasons - Manhattan prices are stupid, plus we didn't mind staying off the island.
Location of hotel id fine, but walks to the subway after 9 pm is somewhat of a scary experience, minibus transfer is a big help.
View from the room is fantastic over skyline. Room itself is fine, definitely on a small size, bed is barely a quenn size. Bathroom is fine, but there's no heater and can get chilly sometimes. Breaksfast was average.
In general we can recomend this hotel for travellers looking for a budget place to stay near Manhattan, without levelling down to 3 stars hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dshmyglya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here as opposed to somewhere in Manhattan because it was a good standard without the Manhattan prices - leaving us more money to spend on the high life. Good rooms, outstanding views of NY Skyline. Not the best of breakfasts, but enough to get you going. Five minute walk to closest subway ( first stop in Queens ). There was a limo service, but I found this a bit hit and miss so preferred the SubWay

Room Tip: Go as high as you can get for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thought this hotel was a bargain find for the view alone. It has a motel design to give every room a view of the city, which you cannot beat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The mini transport bus was a huge plus and so were the free bicycles. The rooms were clean and stacked to the max. The beds were comfortable and pillows plush. Have recommended it to friends and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We are traveling as group of 4 all in early thirties. Been to NYC before would highly recommend this hotel they make an extra effort on the things that really count. Service is excellent, rooms are compact but have all you need and an amazing bed. The view is breathtaking and I makes staying here well worth it. The free shuttle makes sight seeing and going out in the evening s breeze, great atmosphere, great service, great price really can't fault it. Ifoke us you want the best but don't want to pay the silly prices if the centre of town this is for you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbkb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel with nice atmosphere with their Owen urban transportation over to Manhattan. Roms are neat and the staff are serviceminded. Breakfast could be better bit hits all good. Would recommend it again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSilvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Z Hotel in Long Island City, NY and were extremely disappointed in the customer service and treatment here.
A few family friends stayed at the same hotel and we all noticed the heating/air conditioning was not working properly in any of our rooms. Heat was blasting even after turning the temp down to 64 degrees. The front desk said there was nothing they could do about it and did not opt to help correct the issue.
Management was extremely disappointing, rude and the customer service at this branch was horrendous.
My family and friends will never go back there and we will be sure to tell everyone we come into contact with never to waste their time or money here!
Horrible!

Room Tip: As long as you don't stay at the Long Island City branch, you might have a better chance of enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Director of Sales at Z NYC Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Beth,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback as we constantly strive to improve our guest experience.

Unfortunately during the change in seasons it is quite difficult to regulate interior temperatures, however the a/c is available year round. As with other guest that experienced similar situations our in house engineering staff, which is available 24 hour a day for such issues, has always resolved these issues. It’s unfortunate that you didn’t reach out for assistance.

I apologize for any misinformation that may have been given by our staff and that you felt mistreated. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff accordingly.

The Z NYC Hotel management and staff strive to provide each and every guest a memorable stay. If I can be of further assist, you may contact me directly at your convenience.


Lisa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Property: Z NYC Hotel
Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing