We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant ser Manhattan on manhattan .”
Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You cant ser Manhattan on manhattan .”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel with nice atmosphere with their Owen urban transportation over to Manhattan. Roms are neat and the staff are serviceminded. Breakfast could be better bit hits all good. Would recommend it again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSilvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    529
    165
    74
    50
See reviews for
173
722
60
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Z Hotel in Long Island City, NY and were extremely disappointed in the customer service and treatment here.
A few family friends stayed at the same hotel and we all noticed the heating/air conditioning was not working properly in any of our rooms. Heat was blasting even after turning the temp down to 64 degrees. The front desk said there was nothing they could do about it and did not opt to help correct the issue.
Management was extremely disappointing, rude and the customer service at this branch was horrendous.
My family and friends will never go back there and we will be sure to tell everyone we come into contact with never to waste their time or money here!
Horrible!

Room Tip: As long as you don't stay at the Long Island City branch, you might have a better chance of enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Director of Sales at Z NYC Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Beth,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback as we constantly strive to improve our guest experience.

Unfortunately during the change in seasons it is quite difficult to regulate interior temperatures, however the a/c is available year round. As with other guest that experienced similar situations our in house engineering staff, which is available 24 hour a day for such issues, has always resolved these issues. It’s unfortunate that you didn’t reach out for assistance.

I apologize for any misinformation that may have been given by our staff and that you felt mistreated. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff accordingly.

The Z NYC Hotel management and staff strive to provide each and every guest a memorable stay. If I can be of further assist, you may contact me directly at your convenience.


Lisa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned to Denmark after a nice week in NY, which included a night at the Z hotel. This booking was meant as a break from the hectic downtown atmosphere, and it worked out just fine with very good and friendly service from all the staff. Burgers from the diner were very good and so was the breakfast, but dont expect too much of the menu. The hotel is very new with splendid decor, etc. The room was okay, but the heatingsystem was noisy. Overall a pleasant stay with good shuttleservice to Manhattan, which is good as the surroundings are a little 'dark after dark'. And last, but surely not least... the view from the room is absolutely fantastic! :-)

Mr. & Mrs. Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiborg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My stay at Z Hotel was fantastic. We arrived at 2am because of a late plane out of Denver due to a snow storm. The staff was so energetic and accomodating. We had been travelling for a while on holiday from Australia.

They met us at the curb with a smile and called us by name because they were expecting us.

The drive from LaGuardia was a quick 10 mins by taxi.

My husband has a back injury and the bed was very comfortable for him after a full day of walking around the city.

The view was incredible- it looks exactly like the photos on the website. In fact, the hotel looks like it does in the photos there are no rude surprises.

The shuttle was fantastic. Quick ride into the city, and reliable.

Wouldn't walk around the area at night, but that isn't a problem when the shuttle is provided, and a cab from midtown is so cheap.

Stayed in one night and drank in the bar talking to the staff. Had a great time. The atmosphere was fun, and the staff all young and friendly.

The size isn't that small when considering New York standards. We were travelling with a ton of luggage and were very comfortable. didn't have to climb over luggage or each other.

We enjoyed it so much we extended our 2 night stay by 2 more nights.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at the Z Hotel during the renovation of my Apt, and I am very impress by the quality and the concept of this Boutique Hotel. Service is amazing, all amenities, phone, internet are included, for a very good price. About the room, it's a boutique hotel, that means you have a ultra clean & design bedroom and furnitures. The Hotel is very convenient to commute to the city, they have a free shuttle avery 30min what a dream. I think this is Z best deal ever in NYC !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeetMeInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Small but comfortable rooms, FREE Wifi everywhere, Free shuttle to Manhattan.
Simple but good breakfast. This area will be top location in a couple of years. One can see that the area is under construction, The Hotel, and some buildings around, are the first step.We went for a walk in the evening but returned after 5 minutes as we didn't feel comfortable and safe :-((
_____________________________________________________________________________

Room Tip: Take a room at the highest floor with breathtaking view on Manhattan. Lower floors (we stayed at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulLonderzeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The view from my room was the best part of this hotel. This was for a business trip so I cannot comment on the shuttle to midtown, beyond saying the bus was cute.

The room was very European = small, but it was nicely decorated in an art deco style. The bathroom was even smaller with the shower enclosure too short to keep the water from splashing out. My second night I woke at 2am to heat blowing from my AC and the temp in the room nearly 85. The desk sent a maintenance man to my room without hotel ID and not in any type of a uniform, they really expected me to open my door (woman in NYC alone, open my door to a stranger???? NOT). After two attempts at changing out the AC unit, they finally achieved success. This was then shattered the next night when I returned from dinner and the heat was blowing once again. They said something about a boiler being turned on and that they needed to flip a switch on the side of the AC to change it back to cold air. Okay, I may not be in the heating and cooling business but if it was blowing cold air the night before who came in my room and flipped the switch????

The breakfast buffet/continental breakfast is adequate, though I protest having a 20% tip added to my bill when I only got OJ and coffee once. If I am tipping for wait service I really want to be waited on. This brings me to the lack of restaurants that you can walk to. This hotel is in a very industrial area and you must take a taxi to have a meal.

Staff at the desk was polite and well groomed. The hotel was clean.

Again, all I can recommend is to stay for the view which is SPECTACULAR.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor away from the elevator, but I hear that in the summer they have a club on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 32 in Long Island City
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 32 in Long Island City
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 32 in Long Island City
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#18 of 32 in Long Island City
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Property: Z NYC Hotel
Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing