We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best View of Manhattan's Skyline”

Gantry Plaza State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The Best View of Manhattan's Skyline”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is one of my favorite parks in all 5 boroughs. It is a 2.5min subway ride from Grand Central (take the 7 toward Queens and get off the 1st stop: Vernon-Jackson, exit and walk toward the water). You have the entire skyline in front of you. It's a wonderful place to bring the paper/a book, to tan, etc. If you have children, there is even a little park for them, too. Gantry has a wonderfully maintained landscaped area along the piers, and there are several great restaurants either on the water or a few blocks back (near the subway entrance). To me, what makes it so appealing is that there little if any traffic, so you have a perfect view of the Manhattan, which makes it one of the best romantic date spots.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Trekkingtheglobe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    68
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Want the best view of the Manhattan skyline?”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I'm reluctant to write a review of this place because I kind of love the fact that its a rather "hidden gem" in NYC and if you mention to name "Gantry State Park" to even real New Yorkers (meaning people who's lived here for 15 plus years or their whole life like me), I'm pretty sure they would be puzzled and think its out of the city, up in the boonies like Bear Mountain, quite possibly upstate or in Jersey.

But no, this is an absolutely lovely park up in a progressive, expanding area of Long Island City Queens, which is quite the happening area. And honestly, this has become one of my favorite parks in all of NYC thus far.

Let me give you a run down of whats so special and lovely of this park:

View: One of the best views of the Manhattan skyline in the entire NYC. The view from here is mostly a view of almost the entire east side of Manhattan and of course the iconic buildings (Empire, Chrysler, United Nations etc) and Queensboro Bridge. I don't care who you are but the view of the Manhattan skyline just never gets old and is always fun to look at. From afar you get a totally different view of the city, and it looks like a huge giant from up in the heavens was playing with lego blocks. Amazing.

Romance: Honestly, forget Central Park (in a romantic sense). If you really want some peace and quiet, not as much distractions, then take your date/someone you have a crush on/ someone you want to propose too/boyfriend/girlfriend/husband/wife/gay or lesbian lover/multiple love interest whatever the case maybe; bring over hither! The peace and quiet, the serenity, the Manhattan skyline (especially at night), the greenery mixed with the industrialy, the East River frontery will definitely add that romantic spark (I know industrialy and frontery isn't a word but I just really wanted to make it rhyme). During the summer, they have the hammocks out, so make sure you get that cuddle wuddle thing going on!

Activity: There's plenty of space to do plenty of outdoorsy activities here. There's a soccer field in the area if you want to play some soccer but let me tell you, the people who play are serious bout their soccer, so don't got their to fool around. Want to play some paddle ball, badminton? Go ahead. Want to get some people together and practice martial arts? Go ahead. Want to exercise with a group of friends? Go ahead. Want to do some yoga? Have a picnic? Catch some sun and get a tan? Want to take the kids to a playground? You can do it all here.

There's plenty of open grass if you want to lay down and chill and there's plenty of benches, and beach chairs to sit and chill. And like I mentioned before, Hammocks during the summer.

Population: I thought I'll just mention this if its any importance to anyone. I've been here during the winter and a few this since June this summer and I've been here from 2PM and the latest I've been or stood was to about 11pm. Amazingly, even during the busiest of hours, it was never overly packed. So you don't have to really worry about huge crowds, overbearing crowds, at least for right now. You can still feel like you're in NYC but with being able to think and move.

Area: This is located in Long Island City which is a very happening, very hip but at the same time pretty low key and progressing area. Its not as popular and known as Brooklyn or Manhattan but I'm kind of happy it isn't but I do hope it gets just a tad bit more attention in a way. If you don't feel like being in overly packed Manhattan but don't mind having close access to Manhattan when you want to go back or visit, then this is a perfect spot. Directly across the river is an awesome little city with plenty to do. Next to this park there's plenty of great deli's, bars, some neat restaurants, a comedy club and of course 5 Points and P.S. 1 is not far away.

I'm really happy I discovered this park and I'm happy that its gotten awesome reviews so far. Whats even better is that the park is STILL expanding and being worked on. Don't let the construction of the nearby buildings or in some parts of the park fool you, that's just a sign of even more awesome things to come. Its really a wonderful park and a great escape from the more commercial Central Park, this is a place to go. It probably doesn't have the dynamism that Central Park has but who cares. This is the peoples park and it has a flare and charm all its own.

If you're visiting NYC by all means visit Central Park but DON'T pass up going across the river into Queens to check out this charming park and area. If you live in NYC and never been to this park, well, stop being a damn full and come check this park out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
41 Thank DanX_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Queens at it best location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

a great place to be to take in the mid-town Manhattan skyline view.
Remember also to visit 5pointz no too far from there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just a 10 mins walk from our hotel this must be one of the best views of the city skyline Be sure to go at night as the view will take your breath away


DON'T MISS THIS

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank greeny1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
211 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Most New Yorkers don't even know about this amazing place.”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

One subway stop on the number 7 line from Grand Central, this waterfront part provides the most spectacular view of Manhattan imaginable. We took some friends who have lived in NY for decades and they wre amazed. It's beautiful during the day and even more spectacular at night. Go to one of the excellant local restaurants and then walk off dessert.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gantry Plaza State Park also viewed

 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Gantry Plaza State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing