We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was great!”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our stay was great!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

When we check in Nargiza made us feel special and welcome. Marques handled our luggage, so we could start exploring the city.
Hotel Vetiver was a great find.(TripAdvisor) It's right next to the subway, which gets you to Times Sq. in a short time. Julia in the breakfast room is eager to please, and the breakfast was fresh. We would have liked a little protein (boiled eggs) instead of all the carbs, but it was fine. The room was nice and clean and had a balcony with a view of the city. Thank you Rosalia for the smiles and good wishes during checkout, we will recommend Hotel Vetiver.

Room Tip: Choose a room furthest from the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    486
    154
    43
    44
See reviews for
361
339
69
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

When I came in chad made me feel as if I was at home. He got me checked in so quickly and gave my girlfriend and I toothbrushes and toothpaste when we asked if there was a near by drugstore to buy some. He also gave us a take out menu for a great 24 hr diner called Bel air which was great. The room was nice and clean and had a balcony with a great view of the city skyline. The complimentary breakfast was great, everything was fresh and the guests were nice people as well. Overall our stay was great and we will gladly be coming back to stay again at the Vetiver

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you find yourself with lots of money to burn, go ahead and book a hotel directly in Manhattan. Or you can try one of the cheap rat holes and hope for the best. For everyone else, there's this place. Hotel Vetiver was a lucky find. It's right next to the N,Q subway, which gets you to Times Sq. in 15 minutes; and within walking distance from the M,R,E and 7 trains, which make transfers from JFK and EWR airports as easy as they get, not to mention a 20min bus trip to LaGuardia. The neighborhood isn't exactly trendy, but you'll find a grocery store, a nice diner and several good eateries within two blocks. I'd like to highlight the helpful staff and the genuinely friendly welcome - our room was even more spacious than originally booked.
The downside here is the poor insulation against the outside cold. Unless you keep your always on, the room temperature can drop rather dramatically. Also, hot water faucet gave barely any water, though the shower was fine. On the other hand, the continental breakfast really makes up for any minor drawbacks. The quality and quantity of food is a definite plus, with special emphasis on bagels.
All in all, Hotel Vetiver is a solid choice, whether you're on a budget or not. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better price/quality ratio anywhere so close to Manhattan. I'd gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Only top floors have any chance of actual view of the skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

While being in-between appartments. Staying in various hotels in the LIC area, I have to say the Hotel Vetiver was the hands down the best. Customer Service from Chad at the front desk, Chris who helped with luggage ( which no other hotel in the surrounding area did ) to Rosalee on the phone. ( hope I spelled it right ) were spot on with smiles a helping hand and information about the area. The rooms for the price where more than on target. Thank you and I will recommend the Hotel Vetiver to my friends. See ya soon

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostsoul74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I enjoyed a lot , was really cozy and nice, loved the place, I had a wonderful experience, everything was well organized and welcoming. They have very good service ..and the room I stayed in ,had a beautiful and excellent view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The only person who was very helpful to me during my stay was someone named Marquis who gave me excellent service. It took me over 20 minutes to check in because one person was in training so did not know the procedures, and the other was on the phone, running back and forth and did not make eye contact with me. Marquis was very helpful and gracious about the whole thing. Otherwise, the room was about what I'd expect and at a decent price for NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have only positive things to say about Hotel Vetiver. It is a very well run hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very courteous and helpful, and the light breakfast is a plus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrnaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 32 in Long Island City
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 32 in Long Island City
1,793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing