We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place!”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I enjoyed a lot , was really cozy and nice, loved the place, I had a wonderful experience, everything was well organized and welcoming. They have very good service ..and the room I stayed in ,had a beautiful and excellent view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

The only person who was very helpful to me during my stay was someone named Marquis who gave me excellent service. It took me over 20 minutes to check in because one person was in training so did not know the procedures, and the other was on the phone, running back and forth and did not make eye contact with me. Marquis was very helpful and gracious about the whole thing. Otherwise, the room was about what I'd expect and at a decent price for NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have only positive things to say about Hotel Vetiver. It is a very well run hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very courteous and helpful, and the light breakfast is a plus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrnaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is very clean throughout, the room is very spacious. It is excellent situated one block away from the subway station 39th ave, which is 2 stations away from Manhattan. The staff is friendly, except for 2 occasions that I found troubling. During breakfast hours, which is 7am to 9:45am, for the other hotels I’ve been to, at the end of the breakfast time, they will close the door and not let anyone else in. But for those who are inside, they will continue to enjoy it until they decide to leave. However, at this hotel, at 9:45am they start taking away everything, even though I was in the middle of it. I found this quite rude. On another occasion, was with booking. I booked through Booking.com, don’t go there, I was able to book one room for one price. When I called back trying to book another room, they did not honor the price, but instead charged me $100 more than the other room. I called the hotel’s front desk, they said there was nothing they could do since I did not book with them. I called Booking.com and they said that the hotel could adjust the price, since it was their hotel and they control the price. I felt like a ping pong ball bouncing back and forth. At the end, I had to pay the extra $100 for the room. Minor detail though. I would definitely go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay there, you won't regret it. Great hotel, once you find it. It's a kind of hard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is really great!!! The breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful. The room was well-equiped by a nice TV and controls for the lights. It was really comfortable and clean. The price was fair enough.

Room Tip: It's located close to brazilian restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Vetiver is a quirky, friendly, clean, and conveniently located new construction in the constantly developing Long Island City neighborhood. The quiet building and rooms feel shoddy in construction and lack a sense of practical design and comfort. Strange elements like tiny coat hooks with plastic hangers on them, weird furniture placement, plywood bed bases, challenging vertical blinds, temperamental electric heaters, and minimal bedding mix with beautifully tiled bathrooms and wooden floors to create a confusing guest experience. It is all fine and utilitarian if the rate is right but only the welcoming, earnest staff, the Beekman COPA Soaps, and the outdoor balcony spaces make any outstanding impression.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night and I was glad I choose this hotel. The rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable and service was great! There is NO SMOKING in the hotel, but they have Balcony's, if you need a cigarette that bad, just close the door because they check the room and charge $200 fee for smoking in the room. They didn't have parking but parking on the street was not hard to find. Only problem I had was my Wii not being able to connect to the WiFi - other than that, I would recommend to out. I will def. stay here again once it gets hot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 34 in Long Island City
1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#32 of 34 in Long Island City
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Inn and Suites Long Island City
County Inn and Suites Long Islan...
#28 of 34 in Long Island City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: $71 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing