We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend getaway to New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway to New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Your front desk employees are amazing, extremely polite, very professional. The girl that checked me in was wonderful (I arrived on January 24th and checked in around 3 pm), and the guys in the evening were excellent as well. The room was great, quiet and the gentleman who managed or over see the cleaning crew was fabulous too. GREAT STAFF!!!

Room Tip: Not much of a view on 4th floor, but very quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    460
    140
    32
    29
See reviews for
337
308
63
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel Vetiver is in a great spot with a metro station less than a block away, making it easy and fast to get to Manhattan. LaGuardia airport is also a short trip away. The staff was extremely helpful during our stay, including finding a parking spot for us that was close by. The rooms were generous and bed comfy, a good value for the price. The only downside of our room was a heater that came on a bit loud, but other than that I enjoyed my stay and would again choose Hotel Vetiver for accommodations in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zakrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

5+ stars. Great locale, great service, lovely room and accommodations. Couldn't ask for more. Used the hotel for a quickie business trip in the NYC/Queens area and it was absolutely perfect. Spent the night and left the next morning. So nice to be right by the N/Q line, and so close to the city. Met up with friends in Astoria and enjoyed myself there, then was able to comfortably return to the hotel and sleep soundly into the night. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our purpose was purely for sightseeing and our first time in NYC!
39th Ave subway station was 1 minute from the hotel and 2 stops from Manhatten!
We were assured the area was safe to walk around at night and we didn't have any issues.
Staff were very friendly throughout our stay, always helpful and accommodating, Luggage Porter was very friendly and showed us around the room to get us settled, we stayed 8 nights and our room was made up well each day. Room was large, we had a Queen size room with a balcony that had a lovely small view of Manhatten city.
T,V was huge, even though we didn't have time to watch much. Breakfast was basic and didn't eat it every day, if you are looking for a large breakfast I would visit the diner just on the corner where 39th Ave subway station is, really good diner. Breakfast was free so can't complain.
Bed was comfortable and huge, shower was big and good pressure, nice hot water. Bathroom always cleaned every day. Lots of room to put luggage with cupboard space in bathroom and room, good design.
The last night we had a problem with the heater which was unfortunate but we reported it and I'm supposing it was dealt with after we left. These things happen so cannot mark them down for that.
The price was amazing for the stay we had, very comfortable and if you compare it to staying in Manhatten its a bargain so we are extremely happy!

Stay here, you will not regret!

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper I would ask to be as far away from the subway as possible. Its not TOO l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were so happy to find this gem in Queens near the subway. Super clean rooms and such a nice staff. We stayed over New Years Eve and loved our week there. Housekeeping even found our son's wallet and they emailed us right away. Thank you Hotel Vetiver!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

the price and the location are good but the hotel need some upgrades
Room is small and need some upgrades
staff are goods
the elevator is slow
The breakfest is normall like all in USA, they finish the breakfest so early

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the overall value of our hotel, as well as our staff.

I will keep in mind your suggestion about some upgrades to our guestrooms and leaving breakfast for a bit longer.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by an impeccable hotel staff ready to accommodate any requests and very helpful.
Check-in formalities were fast and efficient, they upgraded me for free to a suite because my room was not ready.
Comprehensive breafast, 1.5 block away from the subway station and it will take you less than 10 min to reach Manhattan and all the attractions.
Wi-fi signal was good in the room with no surcharge
The only downside would be the different taxes added to the original price and also a rather cold dining area, aside from that all other amenities were good and clean.
It is hard to find a cab in that area so you might need reception to call you one( chauffeur service which costs more than a regular cab).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HindLouiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 2911 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing