We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WOW!! SAVE 25% DISCOUNT!!
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Turku
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

New York was amazing and Hotel Vetiver was brilliant for our 7 day visit.
It is located in Queens, away from the main attractions, the subwaystation is about 200 metres from the hotel and you can be in Manhattan in about 10-15 minutes. We slept very well and the noise of subway didn´t disturbed us.

The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful, very modern clean interior, excellent rooms, very comfy bed.

For the price of Hotel Vetiver I don't know why anyone would stay in Manhattan.

First two mornings we went to breakfast, but it was very simply. And the breakfast room was just too packed to get a seat. The tables was also too low to eat nicely.

Room was very good and clean. We would have no hesitation in choosing this hotel again.

Room Tip: If two people sleeps in the same bed, the full-size bed might be too narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Our hotel offers the best location 2 blocks from the New York City Train System and a 10-15 minute ride to the Heart of Manhattan - Time Square!! We appreciate you staying with and Thank You for your Great Comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    448
    131
    29
    29
See reviews for
325
300
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gan Yoshiya, , Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The first time we arrived to the hotel we were shocked. the rooms are small, also the bad.
But after one day we noticed that the staff is very friendly& helpful. the breakfast was good,
and the location also was good, very close to the subway and if you think about just slipping at night we don't need more than that. also the price was fair.
I am really recommend to stay in this hotel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: since the rooms are small my recommendation is to choose the largest they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Eti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank You for your response and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Our Hotel is continuously the Number 1 choice for travelers looking for a Great Stay, Price and Service!! We provide all three and we go above and beyond expectation to make sure that our Guests are happy. We want to say Thank You once again for staying with us and for your recommendation of of our Great Hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

For the price of Hotel Vetiver I don't know why anyone would stay in Manhattan. It's so close to the subway that you can get anywhere you want to go quickly and conveniently. I didn't bother with breakfast at all as it was just too packed to get a seat. My room was huge and most importantly very clean. My only issue was with other guests - I had screaming kids running the halls and a couple arguing by the lifts but that's not the hotels fault. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Nicola D thank you for those Wonderful Comments about our hotel!! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the issue that you encountered. I spoke to my staff and they assure me that they were aware of it and it was handled quickly. Please let us know when you plan to return back to NYC as we will be happy to have you stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I decided to tour NYC this summer. We come from small towns and had absolutely no idea what to expect in NYC. We drove up from Canada to Hotel Vetiver and subsequently bought subway passes and conned the hotel staff into constantly reteaching us into figuring out the messy subway system. First and foremost, the staff at Hotel Vetiver was truly amazing. They went above and beyond at every turn and amazed us with their patience. From snagging us a prime parking spot out front to answering our endless tourist-y questions, they were just terrific. My only regret is that I forgot their names :( Having not the foggiest clue about distance in NYC, we randomly booked this hotel online and never regretted it!! It is located in a somewhat shady looking neighbourhood but being SO close to the subway, we were never concerned nor did we ever see anything that gave us concern. Being right on the outskirts of the city gives you the great view, less noise, more space, and more $$ to spend elsewhere. Save yourself some money and stay out of the city...a 10-min subway ride in is well worth it! The breakfast was pretty basic but super good...but after the first morning we learned to go down early for better variety!! The outside patio seating in the breakfast area was my fav...what better way to enjoy your morning coffee!! The only area for concern we had was during our 2nd and 3rd nights at the hotel, our air conditioner quit working :( :( It was hot and muggy and we slept very little. We did notify staff but as they were overbooked, we had little choice but to stay put...their mechanic did manage to get it going eventually and we loved him immensely for it :) A HUGE thank you to the staff from the 4 loud, Canadians who enjoyed your facilities this summer. We appreciated you all sooo much....thank you for giving us a trip of a lifetime. We hope to see you again some day!!! God bless you guys :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BScNStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
First I want to say Thank You for your Great Comments regarding our Staff and Service!! Our Staff is very dedicated to providing the Best Guest Experience!! We apologize for the issue that you had in your room and I'm glad to hear that it was quickly resolved. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to NYC and your stay with our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

New York was amazing and Hotel Vetiver was brilliant for our 6 day visit. It is located in Queens, away from the main attractions, but the subway station is about 200 metres from the hotel and you can be in Manhattan in about 10-15 minutes. The hotel itself - staff very welcoming and helpful, very modern clean interior, excellent rooms, very comfy bed. The breakfast is a simple buffet which suited us fine: cereals, fruit salad, croissants, bagels, yoghurt, tea, coffee etc. We would have no hesitation in choosing this hotel again.

Room Tip: No Manhattan skyline view from our ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Our Hotel is the preferred choice for travelers due to our Great Location!! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all that we offer at our Hotel and we look forward to providing the Same Great Service to you again!! Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week in March and booked this hotel based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor when looking for a hotel. If you are looking to be slap-bang in the middle of the New York nightlife this won't be for you but if you are looking for a reasonably priced, good, clean hotel only 10 minutes away from Times Square on the subway, this is perfect. The room was a good size, very clean and it had an extremely comfortable bed. It was great to have the continental breakfast included and was more than sufficient. There is a good diner on the corner beside the subway stop too. It is a quiet area and there are no bars around so you will have to do any socialising in the city as opposed to near the hotel but we were aware of that when booking. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your Wonderful Comments and for your Recommendation of our Hotel!! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you plan to return as we will be happy to see you again. Thank You for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 7 nights in Vetiver! everything was great!
Very close to the subway, staff was very helpfull.
I was sick during the trip, they helped me out for some good advice.
Next time i visit new york again, Vetiver hotel is for me a must.
15 min from Times Square... you can take line 7 also from Queensbourough bridge.
When we went out.. a taxi from manhattan is 12 $

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chintoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Upon your return back to New York City please know the the Hotel Vetiver is your home away from home. We hope you are feeling better and Thank You for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#6 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing