We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Amazing hotel, simply beautiful! Wonderful experience all around, I highly recommend staying here - doesn't matter if it's for business or pleasure, I've been for both and it is perfect. I won't be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenaLa'uren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vetiver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am originally from the area where the hotel is located but had to return for a death in the family.

The hotel is one block away from the "N" train which can get into Manhattan very quickly. There is not much in the area of 39th avenue but if you walk to 36th avenue or take the subway one stop there is a large Brazilian community with a few restaurants and bars to choose from. It's probably about a ten minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel room was small but had a fake, grass covered balcony with amazing views of Manhattan. The bed was nice and firm. But since there was a balcony there were horizontal blinds on the windows that you can open to get outside that did not keep the room dark. Maybe a change of window treatment would be in order to provide more darkness.

Additionally, the walls are thin and you can hear everything that is going on outside your room. The elevators were slow, so while people are waiting you can hear them chat. As a seasoned traveler I always bring eye shades and earplugs just in case.

The free breakfast was continental and served in the basement.

Lastly, the area in general was quite noisy from construction going on all around in the area. Directly across the street from this hotel construction was going on for the development of what looked like another hotel. Even with my earplugs I could hear the "beep, beep,beep" of some type of machinery. This obviously was not the fault of the hotel. So just be aware that this is going on if a quiet morning of sleep is important to you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tat2lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

With prices of Manhattan hotels as high as her skyscrapers, Vetiver in Long Island City was a good, affordable, alternative to staying in Manhattan. The 39Av subway was just 70m walk away from the hotel and 2 stops from 59St/Lexington Ave in Manhattan. While the surrounding location looked industrial, we felt safe walking to/from the subway even late at night. There were a few eateries around the area as well as a restaurant/cafe in the hotel itself but we never tried them since we spent all day in Manhattan.

Having driven in from Cape Cod, we found limited paid parking in the street in front of the hotel (15min for a quarter), which was useful for unloading our luggage and parking temporarily until we returned our rental car later in Manhattan.

Our family of 4 shared a room on the 8th floor (the hotel had 9 floors) with a balcony that provided a good view of Manhattan city skyline. The room and bathroom was sufficiently large that we never felt claustrophobic, like some Manhattan box hotels. Room was clean, beds were comfortable and equipped with TV, in-room safe, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer but no fridge.

Breakfast was adequate - don't expect a Comfort Inn/Country Inn/Hampton Inn/La Quinta hot breakfast. While reasonable in size, the breakfast area got filled quickly (the hotel was full during our stay). The only hotel lift was slow, so just getting down from a high floor to the breakfast room in the lower ground floor meant a long wait during busy mornings.

Service was a mixed bag, with some helpful staff and some not so customer-oriented. NYC was our last stop in our 4-week road trip of the northeastern US, and we had encountered good friendly service from most of the 10 hotels/motels we had stayed at prior to Vetiver, so by comparison this was average at best. Perhaps it's just NYC, as our interactions with others here, be they subway staff, cab drivers or other service personnel just didn't live up to what we had experienced elsewhere on our trip.

Another nice thing was that on our day of departure, the hotel arranged a private transfer for us to JFK airport which cost USD45 (cheaper than a cab). The pick up arrived punctually in a spacious car and brought us to JFK within half hour (this was a Sat morning - on weekdays, heavy traffic can mean 1-2 hours getting to the airport, so plan accordingly).

Slow lift and mixed service aside, if you're visiting NYC, we would still highly recommend staying at Vetiver for it's convenient location and affordability.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

HANDS DOWN BEST HOTEL 5 MINUTES FROM MANHATTAN!!!!

PEOPLE, FOOD, SETTING AND OUTDOOR SPACE IS WONDERFUL!!!!!!

The front desk staff were very knowledgable and helped find exciting things for us to do in the big city!

The room had a view of the manhattan skyline
gorgeous furniture and VERY CLEAN

LOVED THE HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I returned to the hotel with my family.. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The breakfast was awesome not to mention the gorgeous dinning area. We slept extremely well due to the wonderful mattress
The bathrooms are HUGE! the hotel feels very luxurious!!! Great price!! Great staff!!!!
We loved that we were only a few minutes away from manhattan

Decor is FANTASTIC!!!

My family and I will be returning next year!!!
Can't say enough awesome things about this hotel!

Room Tip: amazing terrace view of manhattan !!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atephanieschahds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice hotel for travelers with limited budget.
Good location, 50m walfk from subway (39th), 20 min from Times Square.
Pay attention during weekend nights, could be that subway doesn't stop at 39th and it's needed a 5 min walk.
Great support from the receptionist.
Breakfast OK, in line with the structure.
Room is quite large and clean, with a huge shower.
Be sure to bring an eye-cover and ear-plugs if you need dark and quiet to sleep.
I would come back again for sure, unless I win at lottery. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fra_EleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Vetiver for 9 nights. We were a group of 15 on a trip to NYC and this was a great location to have as a base. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious (by NY standards) and you can´t beet the ease of connection to either the City or JFK. The neighborhood felt very safe and it was great to have a deli / corner store just down the block on one end and a nice little Greek diner down the block on the other. BReakfast at the Hotel Vetiver was basic (cereal, juice, bagels, fruit etc.) but it was all fresh and of a high quality. I would definitely recommend Hotel Vetiver for a stay in NY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: $105 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing