We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient, Clean, and Not Too Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie
1 review
“Convenient, Clean, and Not Too Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a nice room overlooking LIC with all of the basic amenities of a typical hotel room. The service was very professional. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast although I did not have a chance to try it. It is in a good location close to the Queensboro Plaza and 39th Ave subway stops as well as the Museum of the Moving Image. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletteClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review Violet!

I am so glad that you enjoyed the amenities of your room. We strive to make sure that our guest rooms are equipped and suited to the comfort of our guests. I am glad that you found our service to be professional. We have an excellent staff here and I truly believe that they are some of the most talented professionals in the business. The next time you are here, you must make use of the complimentary breakfast. We are in the process of adding some an additional outdoor patio area that I am sure you would enjoy.

I thank you again for thinking of Hotel Vetiver while on TripAdvisor. We rely on customers like you to help us get the word out about how great Hotel Vetiver is.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    461
    140
    32
    29
See reviews for
337
308
63
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was tooooo small. Really can't fit into 3 people. The mini size made me and my parents very uncomfortable. There is even no room for one single chair inside the room!!! I would suggest the hotel not to claim that the room could fit into 3 or 4 people. This is just misleading.

The hotel claims it can see Manhattan view, but in fact not at all. There is a Holiday Inn building (20 floors?) right in front of the hotel (9 floors). So really nothing we can see accept the Holiday Inn building.

Plus, the hotel is really close to the N/Q metro line. So huge noise even in the late night.

I paid $237 for a night. I would really not recommend this hotel to anyone else. Hotels I previously stayed in that area like Ramada or Howard Johnson have much much better value for money.

Room Tip: Never choose this hotel if you have a party over three, or even two if you guys are not couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Shirley, Thank you for the feedback you have provided us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate knowing our customer's perspective on the property. I know that you had mentioned your room was not comfortable for 3 people. We do offer two different room types here at the property which accommodate up 4 persons in the room. That would be our Superior Room which has One Queen sized bed as well as a Full Sized Bed. We also offer our Double Deluxe Room which has Two Full Sized beds available as well. As with much of New York City, space is a truly a luxury so the size of our rooms may seem small compared to hotels especially if you are accustomed to staying in other areas of the country, however our rooms are much larger than the size of rooms that you would find in Manhattan. I am sorry if you felt that you were misled or misguided by the our advertisement of 4 persons on the Superior or Double Room type. The reality of that advertisement is that we do accommodate 4 adults in those room types very often, but if you were not comfortable in that configuration it is our hope to have an opportunity to present you with another option to make your stay with us more comfortable.

One of the most attractive features of our property is the proximity and convenience of the subway. The subways do create noise, however Long Island City is exponentially more quiet than what you can expect to hear in Manhattan.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. You giving us an opportunity to improve our product and we thank you for that.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great option for something close to Manhattan without the cost. It's really close to the 39th Ave stop on the N/Q train. From there it's an easy ride into Manhattan. Getting to the hotel from LaGuardia was a $20 cab ride.
The room was pretty spacious. Bigger than ones I've had at more expensive hotels in NYC. The halls are a little noisy because the floors are concrete, and road noise creeps in from outside. I was happy to have some earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Ryan, Thank you for a wonderful review!

I am so glad to hear that you took advantage of our proximity to LaGuardia and to Manhattan. When our guests are making their way to the hotel from the airport, they are not aware that the cabs are really an affordable and convenient option. I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed the size of the rooms, we appreciate it very much when guests take note of our size compared to hotels in Manhattan, as we have to differentiate our property from properties in the city to make staying outside of Manhattan even more desirable.

We hope that if you decide to visit Manhattan again that you will use us for your accommodations.

Kind Regards,
Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

to all future guest,when you book up a room at this hotel make sure request high level room,the first floor's room is noisy place people talking laugh early in the morning and the front desk and the elevator are to close to the rooms,window's room close to insecure hotel dark yard, if you are booking double bed room ((don't forget to ask separated beds))I booked up for two persons separated beds, they gave us a king bed.i ask to exchange the room they wanted me to pay extra money.

Room Tip: high level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences with TripAdvisor.

I know that you had mentioned that you were staying in a room on the first floor. We know that many of our guests are hoping for a room on a high floor with a view of Manhattan and we do our very best to try to honor everyone's requests. Many time if we cannot honor the request initially when you check-in we do not mind making arrangements to change the guest to a higher floor when a room becomes available. I also know that there may have been some miscommunication about the room type, however we do not offer rooms with King Beds at this property. Our Superior Room featuring, One Queen bed and One Full bed as well as our Deluxe Double room featuring Two Full beds both have separate beds. All other room types in the hotel: Studio, Standard and Condo only feature one bed.

I hope that we were able to offer you great service as well as the comfort and ease of our location while you were here to make your time in New York City that much more enjoyable. We hope that if you stay in NYC again, that you would allow us to accommodate you on a higher floor.

Thank you again for the feedback!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Room was too small n could hear everything from hallway n other rooms. (noisy sound from outside so woke up few times)
Also air con didn't work.
But friendly staff... Overall I didn't enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank learysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

I can see that you found your room somewhat small and noisy. We would like to mention that as of June 1st we have updated our website to feature our newly renovated Studio room type. We are also working on updating the pictures on all of our third party partners, for those who reserved their rooms through an Online Travel Agency such as Expedia, or Booking.com.
It is important to us to make sure that our customers have an opportunity to see an accurate picture of our newly renovated room.

I know that you also mentioned that your air conditioner was a bit noisy. I wish that this would have been brought to our attention while you were here so that we would have had our engineer make adjustments to your unit in your room. Most of the time, these units just need to be periodically reset. If our engineer found that your unit was having a more extensive issue, we could have moved you into a new, more comfortable room.

I am happy to see that our staff offered you great service. Our excellent customer service is definitely one of our strengths and we are delighted that you have taken notice. We hope that if you ever make your way into NYC again that you would give us another opportunity to stay again. We have a great deal of exciting changes happening at the hotel, such as an upgraded continental breakfast menu and additional outdoor seating in our breakfast area.

Sincerely,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Don't go spending your money on hotels on Manhatten. This hotel is max 15 minutes away from center of Manhattan. Situated very close to a subway station, it takes no time to go to Central Park, Times Sq or even Southern Manhattan.
We got advised about dos and don'ts, help finding good activities and amazed by the very friendly persons around the reception desk.
Don't expect too much of the breakfast. It is there, but there is not much space.
If you are sensitive to noise during night, bring ear plugs. You can clearly hear what is going on in the corridor.
In total, a very good option if you don't want to spend all your vacation money on a Manhattan hotel and if you like a great service level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK-Dolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review!

You have offered some wonderful insight on the perks of staying at Hotel Vetiver for our savvy travelers. What we offer in terms of value and convenience is second to none and I am happy that you mentioned our proximity to some amazing stops in the city.

I am also glad that you took advantage of the expertise of our staff! We always try to guide our guests on some tips that will save you money and precious time while out sightseeing in the city. I know that you also suggested not to expect too much from our breakfast as well, but I would like to suggest that our guests do keep their expectations high. Because of the feedback from customers like you, we have opted to update our continental breakfast menu as well as to renovate our outdoor patio to provide additional outdoor seating. We are very excited about these updates and it is thanks to customers like you that have left some important suggestions to us to help improve our product.

Thank you kindly, for a wonderful and insightful review. We appreciate the time you have taken to help us improve our property. We hope that you might come and visit us again to let us know what you think of the new changes we are making here.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in May and enjoyed every minute.

The rooms were very well maintained and the beds were very comfortable. Whilst the standard of the rooms are commendable its the staff that require the most praise. So helpful and friendly its as though you were staying with family. We were on vacation and so was our ability to clean up the constant pile up of new shopping bags, but the cleaning crew were nice enough to sort it out every single day and still managed to smile. The guys at reception were always on hand to entertain our needs for extra duvets extra pillows etc, and were great to talk to about what to do, what to eat in NY.

The hotel is very conveniently close to 39th Ave metro station where two different lines can be caught straight into manhattan. Also not too far a walk was access to 3 other metro stations where access to a further four other lines into manhattan can be caught.

Would recommend this hotel very much and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: had a room with two double beds on the top floor and rear of hotel. Although the view from the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEPLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel Vetiver Family!

We cannot thank you enough for the praise of our staff. It is gratifying to know when our customers take notice of our efforts to be helpful and attentive to your needs. It is refreshing to see that you have taken notice of work of our housekeepers. I truly believe that we have some of the most talented, hardworking and friendly housekeepers in the business. They never cut corners and are always willing to do the little things to make sure our guests' quarters are as tidy and comfortable as possible.

I am also delighted that we were also able to give you some insight onto the great eats of NYC! The neighborhood of Queens has been named as the most diverse community in the US so it is no doubt that there is a restaurant to suit anyone tastes right here in Queens. For anyone who is looking for a night out on the town, we are only 10 minutes from some of the most famous and unique restaurants in the world in Manhattan.

We are so thankful for the helpful tips that you have left for future guests and we hope that you will come back to visit us again the future. We have some exciting upgrades to our breakfast menu and facilities taking place at the hotel that I am sure you would enjoy!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 2911 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing