We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Extremely nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Newer accommodations. Extremely nice staff. Very attentive. Short taxi ride or Subway trip to downtown Manhattan and to Laguardia Airport. Great Value. I would recommend for a great get-away weekend. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a good view of the Mahattan skyline. Local grocery store three doors down. One Block to subway N/Q train.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you sincerely for an excellent review on Trip Advisor,

You have mentioned some great highlights about our property! I am glad that you found great value in our location and convenient access to downtown Manhattan as well as LaGuardia Airport. We are situated very nearby to both John F. Kennedy and LaGuardia which can also be access by train as well as taxi. I am so glad that were able to enjoy one of our rooms on the 9th Floor. The view is truly breathtaking.

We hope you might visit us again and I thank you again for taking the time to mention Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    461
    140
    32
    29
See reviews for
337
308
63
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May 2013. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Free wi-fi. Buffet breakfast with juice, coffee, tea, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bagels and croissants. Convenient for central Manhattan - it's just round the corner from 39th St subway station, which is only 2 stops away from Manhattan centre. Excellent view from the balcony of our room. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed there for four days.
Pro:
Good and friendly service. Nice and clean rooms. Perfect connection to Manhattan (Subway close to the Hotel) Free WiFi.

Not so good:
Breakfast is very simple with only sweet bread and some fruits. Coffee was OK... More diversification appreciated.

But all in all we can very recommend this hotel as it has a good price for this standard and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in the most basic room. Hotel clerks give wonderful service. All the premises are very clean, they have a small lobbi with lots of seats. The room was very nice, the bed was huge. We needed an extra blanket and a fridge, so we requested those from the front desk and they put that in our room during the day, and rearranged the furniture to accomodate the fridge. The WiFi service works great - one day it didn't work and we complained to the front desk, they called their ISP right away and fixed it by the evening. The elevator really is slow, and the stairs smell wierd, but it's fine with us. The breakfast is very limited, we didn't eat there, but the price is worthwhile even without the breakfast. Subway nearby is super comfortable. A very nice place in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

the hotel service was very good, helpful, and friendly

good location, less than 5 mins away from 39av station

the rooms are clean with very nice views of Manhattan skyline

20 mins to town

just renovated and some rooms still renovating, therefore guaranteed a nice new place

they refill the toiletries everyday, very efficient

helped in calling a limo for us to go to airport, very good

very good value overall

Room Tip: ask for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fartty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting NYC. Booking ahead went smooth, and the price was quite good compared to others around, especially when you book a certain amount of time ahead to get a discount.

The room (with double Queen beds) was nice and clean, as was the bathroom. The staff was very helpful and friendly, with some good suggestions about where to get some food and other things. Basically, the entire stay was pleasant with everything you can expect from a hotel in this price range.

The only negative was a nasty draft of cold air coming from around the A/C unit, apparently this one was not sealed very well. Only found out where it was coming from on the second night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrancium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from 9 days NYC and stayed 9 nights at Hotel Vetiver. In general: nice hotel, good location. We stayed in a double bedroom with two Queen Beds.

Pro's: friendly staff, clean bedroom, daily cleaning and new towels provided, request for extra duvets was accurate, free wifi, breakfast was simple (bagels/croissants/coffee/tea/juice/milk) but good enough for us, only 1 minute walk from hotel to subway station (N/Q goes directly to Manhattan, within 15 minutes you are in Times Square!), next to the hotel there is a small grocery store.

Suggestions for improvements: the water in the shower was weak, more seats in breakfast room (waiting time about 5-10minutes between 8.30 - 9am), possibility to buy bottle of water (reception/machine).

Unfortunately we encountered one bad experience: We bought one pound of special M&Ms at the M&M store (souvenir for my two sons) and have put the bag on the desk in our room, not having the expectations that the bag was "unsafe". Apparently housekeeping was hungry during cleaning our room and decided to eat half of the bag (without our permission). Once we discovered this, we were furious! We couldn't believe that M&M's were unsafe! We informed the reception about this when we checked out. The lady of the reception was very nice, but felt embarrassed. She offered to pay us back (but we said it's ok) and said she would find out. Hopefully this won't happen again (hopefully it was a one time mistake).

I would have rated Hotel Vetiver with Very Good in stead of Average, but due to the M&M-incident I decided to rate the hotel with one star less. Nevertheless, I would still recommend Hotel Vetiver and would stay there next time, since the hotel is in general a good hotel with a reasonable price in a good location.

Room Tip: Request for a Manhattan view (from 6th-9th department)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 2911 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing