We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal for the price”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“great deal for the price”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in the most basic room. Hotel clerks give wonderful service. All the premises are very clean, they have a small lobbi with lots of seats. The room was very nice, the bed was huge. We needed an extra blanket and a fridge, so we requested those from the front desk and they put that in our room during the day, and rearranged the furniture to accomodate the fridge. The WiFi service works great - one day it didn't work and we complained to the front desk, they called their ISP right away and fixed it by the evening. The elevator really is slow, and the stairs smell wierd, but it's fine with us. The breakfast is very limited, we didn't eat there, but the price is worthwhile even without the breakfast. Subway nearby is super comfortable. A very nice place in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    486
    157
    44
    47
See reviews for
364
341
70
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

the hotel service was very good, helpful, and friendly

good location, less than 5 mins away from 39av station

the rooms are clean with very nice views of Manhattan skyline

20 mins to town

just renovated and some rooms still renovating, therefore guaranteed a nice new place

they refill the toiletries everyday, very efficient

helped in calling a limo for us to go to airport, very good

very good value overall

Room Tip: ask for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fartty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting NYC. Booking ahead went smooth, and the price was quite good compared to others around, especially when you book a certain amount of time ahead to get a discount.

The room (with double Queen beds) was nice and clean, as was the bathroom. The staff was very helpful and friendly, with some good suggestions about where to get some food and other things. Basically, the entire stay was pleasant with everything you can expect from a hotel in this price range.

The only negative was a nasty draft of cold air coming from around the A/C unit, apparently this one was not sealed very well. Only found out where it was coming from on the second night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrancium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from 9 days NYC and stayed 9 nights at Hotel Vetiver. In general: nice hotel, good location. We stayed in a double bedroom with two Queen Beds.

Pro's: friendly staff, clean bedroom, daily cleaning and new towels provided, request for extra duvets was accurate, free wifi, breakfast was simple (bagels/croissants/coffee/tea/juice/milk) but good enough for us, only 1 minute walk from hotel to subway station (N/Q goes directly to Manhattan, within 15 minutes you are in Times Square!), next to the hotel there is a small grocery store.

Suggestions for improvements: the water in the shower was weak, more seats in breakfast room (waiting time about 5-10minutes between 8.30 - 9am), possibility to buy bottle of water (reception/machine).

Unfortunately we encountered one bad experience: We bought one pound of special M&Ms at the M&M store (souvenir for my two sons) and have put the bag on the desk in our room, not having the expectations that the bag was "unsafe". Apparently housekeeping was hungry during cleaning our room and decided to eat half of the bag (without our permission). Once we discovered this, we were furious! We couldn't believe that M&M's were unsafe! We informed the reception about this when we checked out. The lady of the reception was very nice, but felt embarrassed. She offered to pay us back (but we said it's ok) and said she would find out. Hopefully this won't happen again (hopefully it was a one time mistake).

I would have rated Hotel Vetiver with Very Good in stead of Average, but due to the M&M-incident I decided to rate the hotel with one star less. Nevertheless, I would still recommend Hotel Vetiver and would stay there next time, since the hotel is in general a good hotel with a reasonable price in a good location.

Room Tip: Request for a Manhattan view (from 6th-9th department)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

+
Very good location (2 train stops from Manhattan) Rooms are spacious, modern and clean Front desk staff were nice and helpful (although they charged my card for our friends' "Condo" bedroom, and their card for our "Deluxe" bedroom.

-
Breakfast was included. The food is good quality but the selection is limited (tea/coffee/orange juice/milk - fruit, cereals, bagels, sliced yogurt cake, croissants, yogurts). Breakfast room is too small for the number of guests. Between 8 and 9 people need to queue up to get in. We (5 people) stayed here 9 nights and had the same experience every day : The buffet food is refilled in small amounts at a time (if there is approx. 30 people in the room, you cannot bring out 3 croissants or 3 portions of fresh fruit every 20 minutes...) The staff looking after the breakfast room were hardly friendly bordering on impolite (don't expect hi and a smile). The lift gets extremely busy at breakfast time. So we were better off using the stairs (9 floors...) Now I would still recommend this hotel BUT make sure you get breakfast before 8:30

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Vetiver has potential due to their awesomely attentive staff but the attention to detail in the rooms makes it fall short of perfect. Missing tiles in the shower and holes in the wall where the toilet paper holder was once mounted give the impression that details are overlooked. And this, I hope, is temporary.... but good luck sleeping past 9am... the power tools of the construction crew in the room next door were my alarm clock. With that said the place is cute. It's close to mass transit and reasonably priced. They just need to hone in on a few details and it could put them over the top for this area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATMGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Vetiver for two nights on my first stay in NYC. Leading up to my travel the receptionist was very friendly in answering all my questions in regards to location, neighbourhood, hotel amenities and everything else I could think of asking,

Upon arrival we parked on the street in front of the hotel. There are several private parking locations within walking distance however street parking was easy to come by, and was free.
Our first impression of the room was "well the pictures didn't lie". The rooms weren't extravagant but weren't exaggerated or staged either. What you see in the photo is how the room will look. Nice, clean and modern colour themes.

The breakfast was just a standard continental breakfast of bagels/cereal/ juice/ coffee ect; but was pretty good.

Subway is literally a 1 minute walk away. 24Hr subway stop.

The only CONS I can say about this hotel which are very minor and I hope the hotel managers read this:
Having a coat hook in the room would be amazing. Rather than laying coats on the floor/bed a coat hook in the entrance way would be very useful.
Also, I can tell majority of the time and effort was put into making the rooms look beautiful that they kind of overlooked the corridor flooring which has seen far better days.

Overall : I'd stay here again if I come back to NY.

Room Tip: Apparently the balcony rooms have a great view of the NYC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest;


Thank you for your great comments about Hotel Vetiver!!
Our front desk staff is fully trained to assist our guests with any inquiries that you might have.
Knowing that you received this assistance when you needed it makes us feel that our job was well done.

In regards to the coat hook in the room and the corridor flooring, we thank you for this important highlight and will promptly provide this opinion to the appropriate department. Improving our rooms appearance and consequently guest satisfaction is a priority for us and we work day after day to encourage this matter. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit to our Hotel.

Have a great rest of the day!


Warm regards;

Eslainy Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 32 in Long Island City
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 32 in Long Island City
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 32 in Long Island City
1,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing