We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great base for staying in New York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great base for staying in New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and got a very reasonable rate. When we first arrived (jet lagged and late at night!) we were a bit surprised by the neighbourhood - it is a but run down. But don't let that put you off - the hotel is right beside the subway and we found a bit of character when we walked around. As well as its handy location, what sets this hotel apart is its unique décor and the very helpful staff. This hotel is very modern and plush and the staff were very friendly and helped us get our bearings as soon as we arrived. If you are looking for a good hotel as a base to explore New York, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pintofstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Vetiver, thank you for a great review!

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us about your stay. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our our location to the subways to get into the city. It really is such a convenient and affordable way to get around! I am also glad that you enjoyed our decor. Our goal is to create a unique and comfortable ambiance for all of our guests. We look forward to having you again and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    467
    140
    36
    31
See reviews for
344
314
65
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great Hotel!1! Great Staff!!! Great Room!!!! Great View!!! Great Breakfast!!!
Room cleaning service is great!! One small blocks away from N AND Q line which connect Manhattan directly within 20 min. Some fast food restaurants are around and convenient! The breakfast are so good and lots of choices!!! Rooms are new and decorated nicely with awesome furniture!

Room Tip: Choose the top level and you can enjoy the skyline of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review!

You cannot imagine how excited our staff is to know how much you have enjoyed your stay.
I am so happy that you mentioned how helpful our staff was during your stay. We believe the team that we have employed here are one of our biggest assets here at the hotel because we have gotten excellent feedback about their helpfulness repeatedly from guests that have stayed with us. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers; when customers like yourself have shared your experience, you can only imagine how grateful we are!

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very good hotel. Very nice, helpful and friendly staff. Clean rooms and good cleaning staff. 1 min walk from subway station with direct connection to Times Square. Queens size beds that makes you feel like a king.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the upper 3 levels for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review!

Our staff is just delighted to know that we have "wow"ed you! I am so happy that you were able to receive our quality customer service which truly sets our hotel apart from our competitors. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers, as we do not have as much exposure as some of our competition. We rely on our reputation and the perspective that guests like you are left with to encourage other travelers to give us a try.

Thank you for mentioning our proximity to the subway station; this is why many of our guests choose to stay here with us.

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a kind review!

Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very nice rooms (the heater is laud) and very good service. The subway is near the hotel, only 200 feeds to go. My special tip, buy the metro card ($29, 7 days) and you can go easy to all places in New York you wont.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Very nice rooms (the heater is laud) and very good service. The subway is near the hotel, only 200 feeds to go. My special tip, buy the metro card ($29, 7 days) and you can go easy to all places in New York you wont.

Thank you for a great review Roland!

We sincerely appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We want to offer our guests a unique experience when they stay in New York, while still being affordable. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of the subway. It really is the best way to get around New York City in terms of convenience and price! We hope that if you decide to come back to New York again that you will stay with us! Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff was out of this world awesome! They couldn't have been friendlier, more helpful, and courteous. They showed me where to park for free, they gave me great directions to every tourist attraction I wanted, and they helped us cart in a ton of stuff as we are caterers and needed to move our equipment into our room. The rooms are gorgeous and so quaint yet roomie. Super clean, and I loved the all tile huge shower! The breakfast was AWESOME!! What a selection and was free. Really for a business trip and the price, we were stunned at the fact that this place wasn't sold out. It is also super close to the subway, so that was a life saver for us! Seriously, this is a gem and I know this hotel will be booming once more people find out about it. I will definitely be staying here again when I go back to NYC!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review Noelle!

Our staff is just delighted to know that you have taken some of your time to write a review like this one. I am so happy that you mentioned how helpful our staff was during your stay. We believe our team that we have employed here are one of our biggest assets here at the hotel because we have gotten excellent feedback about their helpfulness repeatedly from guests that have stayed with us. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers; when customers like yourself have shared your experience, you can only imagine how grateful we are!

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have traveled extensively throughout my life. Rarely have I found any place that has not stretched the truth or misrepresented some aspect of their facility. Well Hotel Vetiver happens to have broken the mold on that. There was not a single aspect of the hotel and staff that was not as shown on their website or through booking.com. The Hotel was impeccably clean, staff was kind, warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and considerate. They showed genuine interest in each customer and referred to each by name from what I witnessed and experienced. The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. The housekeeping staff were kind and very thorough. They went out of there way to assure my stay was comfortable, successful and enjoyable. The Best Coffee that definitely rivals Starbucks--taste quality and with a kind smile even delivered to your room if you prefer. They never were negative in any manner ---my heavens I have absolutely nothing negative in thought for this establishment. I have stayed in Manhattan Hotels for 4-6 times the price and wouldn't touch the floor for the dirt etc with grumpy staff. HOTEL VETIVER just set the standard back on it's feet and now the other must chase it uphill. I have already offered the address, phone number, and cards to three individuals traveling to New York in the near future. I will return with the grand knowledge that my stay will be as splendid as this one

Room Tip: There is not much more that could be said---this Hotel and its staff are top quality. Not one grumpy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottelemp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review Charlotte!

Our staff is just delighted to receive such a kind review and to know that you have taken some of your time to write a review like this one. I am so happy that you were able to receive our quality customer service which truly sets our hotel apart from our competitors. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers, as we do not have as much exposure as some of our competition. We rely on our reputation and the perspective that guests like you are left with to encourage other travelers to give us a try.

I am so glad that you enjoyed our Crudos Cafe coffee! We have actually recently undergone a revamping of our cafe so it is wonderful to know that you not only enjoyed the coffee itself, but also the convenience of it as well!

Thank you for mentioning the value of our hotel as compared to Manhattan hotels as well. That is by far one of the biggest reasons why guests choose to stay at our property. We appreciate that you were able to experience our quality staff and location to the city, without the price!

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A little more maintenance and clean, could be good.....excelent courtesy and attention to the guess. Excelent location. May be, you can check with the food services in the area for deals, better than taxi services, wich are too expensive.Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanabriahumberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review for our property! We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself during your time with us.

I see that you have mentioned you would have liked a little more information about local restaurants in the neighborhood . We are actually developing a guide for our guests with information about restaurants, local shops and transportation that we suggest with the most value in terms of quality and price. We want to offer our guests a unique experience when they stay in New York, while still being affordable. We never want to substitute, or suggest any vendors that substitute services for price.

We hope that if you decide to come back to New York again that you will stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us, your feedback is critical to helping us make improvements daily and we truly value the experience you have shared!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing