We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$148
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
$240
$197
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$109
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$288
$250
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Garden Long Island City(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
$256
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Paper Factory Hotel(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$132
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Z NYC Hotel(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
$246
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
$254
$220
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveler rating
405
504
171
50
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
504
171
50
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationnew yorkbagelstimes squarecontinental breakfastthe holiday innenjoyed my stayconvenience storemanhattan skylineice machinecentral parkfew blocksbalconynyccitykitchenettestops
Filter
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love the interior styling of Hotel Vetiver with hints of France in the '20s meets modern time. The staff is super friendly. Continental breakfast is not so bad considering it's complimentary. Subway is literally a 2-minute walk. Times Square is 10-15 minutes away by subway; Manhattan is even less. There's a convenience store a few doors down. They also serve hot food. There's a breakfast place by the subway station. I ordered cheese and spinach omelette that I didn't enjoy; my husband ordered a sandwich which he thought was good. So I don't know whether to recommend this joint or not. The area is rundown but we didn't feel unsafe. Probably because the places that we had to walk to (the convenience store and the subway) are not too far from the hotel anyways. Overall, it's an awesome hotel and I don't mind staying here again at my next NYC trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review!

One of our favorite things about the hotel is the ambiance and decor. I am not sure if you remember the large picture of the little girl in our lobby, but that is actually our owner's niece.

The area that we are located in (Long Island City) is actually under going extensive renovations as a whole, which we are very excited about. We always want our customers to feel great about their experience inside the hotel, as well as on the way into our hotel.

We are so happy that you had a great experience with us and we would love to have you if you ever find yourself in the city again. Please stop by our desk and let us help you find better places for food next time! There are so many great choices that we could send you too.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

we arrived on the 28th of December it is kind of far from the JFK but we took a taxi that was around 35 USD, (the subway is available too) as soon as we arrived everyone took care of us, the first thing that they do is indicate where is the closest subway station, and with a map on hand they showed you what are the most common places that you can visit and how you can go there. Mostly everyone speaks Spanish so if you don't speak very well it wouldn't be a problem. The Hotel is just a block away from the subway and the station is just about 5 minutes away from the central park and about 8 minutes from times square. The hotel has elevator and breakfast everyday; the breakfast is simple but is very good, the only thing that the room doesn't have is a closet, but the rest of it is great. I highly recommend this hotel for your vacations

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliancubil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us about your stay. We always strive to help guests in their travels here at the hotel and we stress our accessibility to the nearby subways as an excellent way to get around the city. We are glad that our multilingual staff members were able communicate with you!

We have actually taken into consideration the feedback that we have gotten about the closets in our guest rooms and we are currently in the process of adding closets. We hope that if you travel to New York City again, that you might see how we have improved since your last stay.

Thank you for your kind words and appreciate you sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel is typical *** "New York" hotel. Building is not new but they are renovating rooms and other facilities. Service people are polite and everything works. There is free WIFI in the rooms. The best thing is the SUBWAY. The closest station is in the next block (N & Q trains). It takes 10 minutes to get to Time Square. If you are not used to use subway it is time to learn. There are several other, new hotels in the area and you are able to save 50 % on a hotel compared to the Manhattan prices.
There area is changing rapidly and there is no reason to be afraid of anything in the streets or in the subway. Subway is the best way to get around in Manhattan anyway.

Concerns
At least in our two rooms, there was air conditioners next to beds going on and off through the night. Also subway trains passing by make noise. I would say, these things happen in most of the New York hotels, but if you are a bad sleeper the hotel is not probably for you.
We were upgraded to "penthouse suites". The rooms were large with little kitchen corners. One of the rooms did not have a closet or even hangers. This is maybe changing when renovating proceeds.
In summary, I rather spend the money in good restaurant than overcharged hotel rooms in Manhattan. I will definitely stay in the are in the future. We stayed there between Christmas and New Year for four nights and saved 1.500 € (2 rooms) compared to Manhattan prices.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms with Manhattan view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your staying at Hotel Vetiver!

We truly value the time that our guests take to give us both positive and negative criticism. One of the reasons why we believe we offer value for the money our customers spend with us, is our location and proximity to the train. We also appreciate you for expressing how helpful our staff is. Our priority are our guests and we always strive to make them feel like they are at home when they stay with us. We are a small hotel so it is very important to us to establish a real connection with every guest.

We have taken into consideration the feedback that we have gotten about the air conditioners near the beds and we are currently in the process of changing the configurations of our rooms. We have also begun the task of making sure that all guest rooms are equipped with closets as well.

Overall, we hope that these concerns this did not take away from your experience with us and we are excited to have you stay with us in the future to see how we have addressed your concerns! Please reach out to us directly when you when you would like to plan your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for six nights in early December - and what a pleasure it was! We never once missed not being based in Manhattan - this hotel is 5mins from the subway and then two stops to Manhattan. So easy!!! The staff are an absolute delight - really friendly and helpful. As others have said previously, they are more like a small family than a group of co-workers - they really do care about their guests. The free breakfast is also a huge bonus and kept us going for most of the day - delicious bagels, cream cheese, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, juice and tea/coffee! I would agree with several other reviewers - there does need to be a second toaster or a quicker machine, but we never had to wait too long and it was worth the wait!

Our room was large (unheard of for New York), the bed very comfy and it was great to have a small balcony even though it was too cold to do anything more than to pop out briefly!

While we were there we did have a problem with the toilet, but once alerted to the issue the hotel did their best to solve it, but unfortunately it couldn't be fixed during the course of our stay, although we were offered another room had we wanted to move. We ended up staying put as we liked our room and worked around the problem!

We walked around the Queens area in both daylight and late at night and never felt threatened - in fact, this was the case throughout New York.

If (when!) we go back to New York we look forward to returning to this lovely hotel.

Thank you one and all for a superb stay!

Morag & Ian

Room Tip: Some of the higher rooms afford an excellent view of Manhattan!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzyGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Good morning ;


In behalf of Hotel Vetiver staff and myself we thank you for such a great review!

We welcome you to experience one more time the great comfort of our rooms and the outstanding hospitality that we count on.


Best regards;


Eslainy Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went to spend an early Christmas with daughter in Astoria, Queens, and this was the only hotel available close and extremely reasonable. Staff were very friendly and courteous, and the room was comfortable and very clean. It had a little fridge, stove top, and dishes if you needed to use them. It was 1 1/2 blocks from train so it was easy to do touring in Manhattan with her. Continental breakfast was ok and great that it was included in price., The only drawback was that it was not located by any coffee places, little restaurants, stores, but that is how Long Island City is and since this is a more industrial area i would not be comfortable roaming as a woman alone at night--I do not do that any ways in very many places.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NP14510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear guest ;


Its an awesome feeling to know that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel.

From our spotless rooms to our attentive staff we are always trying to improve our services and I find very important that you were delighted by our superb service.


Thank you for such candid comments.


Regards;

Eslainy Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews