We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good place despite the neighbourhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place despite the neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Vetiver during our NY visit in July. We picked the hotel mostly because it was a value hotel, budget-friendly in terms of NYC without compromising from quality. It was indeed so, I cannot complain about anything as all was clearly indicated in hotel website and the reviews we checked prior to booking. The edifice is renewed, nice, comfortable and cosy, beds very comfortable, the rooms quite good-looking. The breakfast was ok, not great but no problem.. The staff was friendly. The neighbourhood was not very pleasant in fact, but conveniently close to the metro station which took you downtown in 10 minutes. We did not encounter any difficulties or problems, but if you are planning to enjoy the night in NY and return to the hotel late, this may be an awkward choice, for it did not feel 100% safe in late hours (though we witnessed or encountered nothing unpleasant); and more importantly, the trains function weirdly after a certain hour and you might easily find yourself in an unknown area. Otherwise, this is a good option not to spend too much and enjoy the same standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estellabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    471
    146
    41
    33
See reviews for
349
323
66
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I actually stayed here for 4 nights June 16-June 21. The hotel was in the middle of an unattractive residential area with a lot of auto body shops. Not being familiar with NYC, I wasn't sure whether it was safe or not. I arrived at 10:00 am and the front desk was very pleasant. They did not have any rooms available at the time but they did check-in my bags. Because I did not have a vehicle, I had to walk around the area. There were a few small delis and markets in the area. Not many places to dine-in. I found a Chinese restaurant on the corner by the hotel, but the food really sucked (not sure how you mess up Chinese food) and the people were extremely rude. I was happy to finally get into my room which was actually really comfy. The room was very spacious, nice decor, more than enough closet/drawer space, flat screen, and a balcony with of great view of Manhattan. The staff was very accommodating and assisted me when I needed them (towels, delivery menus, microwave, etc.). The hotel was very close to the subway station that will get you to the main tourist attractions within 20-40 min. However, I would recommend getting to your hotel before late night. Also, my friend who lives in NYC came to visit me during the trip and agreed that this wasn't the best area to walk around at night. On the 3rd night, however, I was craving wine and walked about 5 blocks (by myself) to get to a store that served alcohol. I got back to my hotel around 8:30 pm safely...but I still wouldn't recommend it. Since this trip, I have been to NYC again (at another hotel) and had a better experience. Therefore, I am giving this hotel 3 stars. I don't have many complaints about the hotel itself (accept for maybe the thin walls and the slow elevator) but I did not feel very comfortable with my surroundings. I am a young woman who was traveling by myself at the time. I felt much safer when I had a friend there with me. I would recommend this hotel more for groups of friends just for safety reasons if you're not familiar with the city. I wouldn't recommend it for a family with children, however. One more thing, if you're flying into JFK it's not very close. I took a taxi to the Air-train (Jamaica train station) to get back to the airport but a shared shuttle to/from the airports would probably be your best bet or you'll be paying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed for a week in July. I found the staff to be very friendly. Every night we came back to the hotel we were welcomed by a friendly staff member. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and functional. We had two large beds that were comfortable. A balcony that looked over north Manhattan across the river. The other side would be an even better view. The bathroom was large and clean. Water pressure in the shower was a little low, but OK. AC worked well even on blistering hot days. Breakfast was simple with bagels, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. Coffee, milk and orange juice were also provided. On some mornings the coffee ran out and we had to wait while more brewed. As many people have said, this is probably the best location outside of Manhattan. The N and Q subway lines run within a few 100 feet of the front door of the hotel. We felt safe even coming back as late as midnight. All in all, a good hotel that our family would definitely go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel has the worst customer service ever manager iris I believe is not manager material at all I had reservations to stay for a week when my fiancée had to be hospitalized needless to say we didn't make our trip when I incurred about a refund I was told I couldn't be refunded cause I didn't give enough notice which you aren't given when a loved one falls I'll and I was charged 900 with out even an apology or and attempt at reconciliation on their part.... NEVER BOOK HERE AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcrosthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello Mr. Crosthwaite,

Thank you for your feedback. We at Hotel Vetiver strive to provide all of our guests with first class service and we apologize that you do not feel that you have received such service.

Upon making your reservation with Expedia ( a third party booking service), you were given the choice of choosing a Non- Refundable or 72hr cancellation reservation. As the non-refundable option was chosen in order to receive the discounted rate that Expedia was offering at the time of booking, you agreed to such terms that your reservation was non-Refundable.

As we strive to ensure that world class service is received by all hotel Vetiver's guests, I would like to extend the possibility of arriving at a later date providing that we are not sold out the days you request. As your booking was done on a third party site, the current rates at the time of inquiry might be different, to which you would be responsible for.

Again thank you for expressing your concerns to the hotel Vetiver team. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Iris Jacobs
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level Contributor
172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Admit we booked on basis of finding a cheaper quality hotel close to Downtown. What everyone says about the location is true - easy ride to Times Square. Its in an unusual neighbourhood - lots of old warehouses/industrial units being renovated and some made into flats and hotels. Didnt feel unsafe at night and there is a 24/7 corner shop nearby and a Chinese takeway. Most residents very friendly. Staff at hotel 100% friendly and helpful.

Downsides: no good to excellent eateries nearby. Hotel required cash up front (not credit card) for any extras. That left me $100 dollar out of pocket for 3 days. Breakfast (free) very basic and also extremely crowded breakfast room. Only one lift which was slow at peak times. Room very small (for two double beds). One was crammed against the a/c. Wires hanging from ceiling where a smoke alarm had been disconnected. Hotel had a "yet to be finished" feel about it.

Would stay again but would first search for any similar alternatives offering such good value for money

Room Tip: can be a little noisy in terms of lift bell and voices from outside the room.Take ear plugs if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in hotel vetiver on June 2012 . The location was great !!! The subway is one block away.the rooms are fantastic. The staff is caring . They are still working on the bar but there is no construction noise whatsoever... The breakfast is great !! I would definitively recommend this hotel to anyone !!!! Thank youuu lanny and iris !!!! Will come back soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raa0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

such a charming boutique hotel perfectly located only one block from the subway. Comfortable beds and high-end linens. Staff was very friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing