We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel in Queens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
poole
Level Contributor
158 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel in Queens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Admit we booked on basis of finding a cheaper quality hotel close to Downtown. What everyone says about the location is true - easy ride to Times Square. Its in an unusual neighbourhood - lots of old warehouses/industrial units being renovated and some made into flats and hotels. Didnt feel unsafe at night and there is a 24/7 corner shop nearby and a Chinese takeway. Most residents very friendly. Staff at hotel 100% friendly and helpful.

Downsides: no good to excellent eateries nearby. Hotel required cash up front (not credit card) for any extras. That left me $100 dollar out of pocket for 3 days. Breakfast (free) very basic and also extremely crowded breakfast room. Only one lift which was slow at peak times. Room very small (for two double beds). One was crammed against the a/c. Wires hanging from ceiling where a smoke alarm had been disconnected. Hotel had a "yet to be finished" feel about it.

Would stay again but would first search for any similar alternatives offering such good value for money

Room Tip: can be a little noisy in terms of lift bell and voices from outside the room.Take ear plugs if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    455
    137
    30
    29
See reviews for
333
305
62
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in hotel vetiver on June 2012 . The location was great !!! The subway is one block away.the rooms are fantastic. The staff is caring . They are still working on the bar but there is no construction noise whatsoever... The breakfast is great !! I would definitively recommend this hotel to anyone !!!! Thank youuu lanny and iris !!!! Will come back soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raa0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

such a charming boutique hotel perfectly located only one block from the subway. Comfortable beds and high-end linens. Staff was very friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed with the family in this hotel for 4 nights. The easy and quick way to go by metro into Manhattan is perfect. The hotel is just around the corner from a metro station which brings you in 10 minutes to times square.

We had a room with a sofabed and a double. The sofabed was good for our kids, but maybe a bit spartan for adults

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloembloembloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel had all the accomodations you wanted and was close to the subway. The choice of this hotel was made by considering price and travel time. However as the hotel was still under construction, there were some flaws: a guy entered our room at night, no proper reception, the fire alarm made noise... I hope after the complete renovation these flaws were taken care of. The staff was friendly. We did not had any breakfast, did not use the swimming pool nor the room service. The room was clean and tidy and a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiekekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Really great hotel reasonably priced and it's a very quick subway ride to manhattan. Hotel is very close to the subway (1 block) but not so close that the subways bother you while you're trying to sleep. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdshaw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Living in the Hamptons and working in Manhattan can take such a toll on a commuter like myself especially when working late hours and relying on public transportation. I started to commute home twice a week and would stay in hotels around Manhattan the remaining 3 days. Boy was that a mistake! It affected me financially and I began to think will I have to quit? Should I ask to relocate? But I loved my job, had just started and the location was great. I was running out of options until a coworker recommended Hotel Vetiver. Let’s start with the hospitality, my goodness there really are pleasant people left in the world! The front office staff is not only extremely professional, but genuinely nice, welcoming and very helpful. The front office manager Iris is an absolute pleasure to work with. She even goes out of her way to call me once a week to confirm my stay and that my needs are met. They are accommodating to my schedule, last minute changes, and go above and beyond to make my stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are spectacular, very spacious, clean, brand new, beautiful décor and huge windows that begin my mornings with the sunshine as my alarm clock. [unless of course it’s raining] :) The included continental breakfast is such an advantage especially because when either running late or not wanting to spend 10 dollars on breakfast in the city, I can run right downstairs,grab a quick bite and head straight to the office without making any other stops. The subway is a 2 minute walk away with access to all trains that get you into Manhattan within minutes. I honestly couldn’t believe I had not heard about Vetiver earlier. When someone like myself who lives at the office more than at home it can be rough at times, so going to a hotel like Vetiver where I know I will be treated kindly, is such a good feeling at the end of a stressful 9-5 ( or in my case 9-8).I now have a corporate account with them (which they also offer) and get to enjoy my “home away from home” three times a week. I couldn’t be happier and I very much recommend this hotel to everyone. I promise you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#6 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 2911 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing