We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delighted with the quality of service from all staff members” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“delighted with the quality of service from all staff members”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

the hotel is extremely cozy ! you are welcomed with open arms upon arrival! the receptionist answered each and everyone of my questions, the room was lovely! This is where I will be staying for all my future stays in NY

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflier15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    474
    147
    41
    36
See reviews for
352
326
66
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked a double beds room with a balcony for 4 adults ( 2 who height more thans 6ft 2) a month before my trip to nyc for my birthday . When i came to check-in, i was told that there wasn'T any 2 beds room available and so we'll have a 1 queen size bed with a bunk bed for two and that we will be transfert to another room the next morning. When we arrived to the room , we found a tiny leather couch who the called the bunk bed, we had the balcony. The leather couch was broken so one of my friend was sleeping on the floor. We complained about it, they said that the hotel was full and there's nothing they can do ... the hotel was full of families with young children so they colud easily give this room to them .... the next day they tranfert us to a 2 beds room but no balcony ... they told us that the balcony is available upon request and that there wasnt other room... ( so my reservation wasn't a request ) I paid an extra for that balcony and i wanted it. they said that it 's only a balcony.... poor custumer service no mannathan view ... no vending machine to get water, and tap water taste funky .... no extra pillow, safe who doesnt work, no fridge ... the only great thing is that there's a subway line just on the corner, 6 stations to times square 42nd. next time i'll book somewhere else but in the same area

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your stay and for writing a review. My apologies for a less than perfect stay, especially for moving from one room to the next. While some of our rooms boast small kitchenettes, we are happy to provide these upon your request. Only the first and second floor out of nine floors do not balconies, we do try to accommodate all requests for balconies as per availability. There are no additional charges for rooms with balconies.

On the third party confirmation you received you were advised that the room accommodation dates you desired were unavailable, however upon your arrive we tried to accommodate your party by moving you to a suite with two beds. Prior to your departure you were given a 10% discount on you entire bill for the
inconveniences.

Your feedback assisted us to revisit our normal high level of service and address this issue. I am very disappointed that your stay was less than perfect and the room standards were not to your expectation. I am also sorry we could not accommodate you with a future stay on trade as you requested and would be happy to personally discuss future stays with you

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to further discussing this stay, and all future stays with you.

Best Regards,

Iris Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had a great stay here, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the accomodations are very good clean and comfortable. I would definitely come back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great hotel, great location - short ride into Manhattan, and GREAT price! Couldn't ask for a better deal!! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
529 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This review is from native Brooklynites !
I will admit that when I booked a reservation at the end of February for our June 8-13 stay, I was apprehensive. Family and friends rolled their eyes.As the weeks rolled on the price differential between the Vetiver and Manhattan hotels made the decision a no brainer.
The location can't be beat.......3 minute walk to the 39th Ave. station. Every staff member was helpful & caring and always smiling...from Iris,Lainey,Elizabeth and Damian,etc. House keeping changed linens and towels each and everyday.........and we were able to print out our boarding passes. Damian worked SO hard getting breakfast ready: bagels,croissants,pound cake,fruit,cereal ,juice and coffee and tea!
I was very vocal about the dates coinciding with my birthday, so we were upgraded to a room w/refrigerator,utensils,2 burners for cooking(we didn't). We asked for a coffee maker and it was delivered promptly.
The bed was comfy.....room spacious. Our A/C was wacky.....and hubby the engineer thought he could take care of it himself. Should have told the staff. The only room design flaw: no reading lights at the bed. The ceiling lights just didn't do it.
We'd come back to the Vetiver again in a heartbeat......so do not hesitate to book here. You'll be glad you did!
From what we could surmise at breakfast, most of the clientele were foreign tourists. How smart they are!
We did return to the hotel midday and galavant back to Manhattan a few hours later. The MTA did NOT make $$$ on our one week unlimited METROCARD. Used it on trains and busses and gave them to the desk staff when we left. They were good for another 2 days.

Thanks for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morewierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

very good and comfort, budget, will comeback again to this lovely hotel....the only thing is that there is nothing around the hotel but a small market, who care as long the metro is only 150 m from the hotel and you can take 2 stops to Broadway Station where there is plenty of restaurants and cafes or in 10 mints you can be in Times SQ. my advice is to make metro unlimited weakly card for 27$ for moving free to city and all over NY

Room Tip: if you are traveling from Europe you should know that American Queen size bed is the European King s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo-bahjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

great hotel! very unique! close proximity to manhattan. I came from London with my husband and four children. The hotel staff were very welcoming. My children are under 12 and loved playing in the courtyard outside! we all enjoyed the complementary breakfast!!!!!!
amazing hotel and we will be coming back for a couples vacation next summer!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.7 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing