We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great new hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a brand new hotel in Queens, literally 1 block from the N train subway (which goes right into Manhattan). The room and bathroom were huge by NYC standards, and featured a small refrigerator and a 2-burner stove but oddly, no microwave.

There is no restaurant/breakfast, unlike other hotels in this neighborhood, but right down the street by the subway is a terrific little diner that serves great breakfasts. We hit it every morning on our way into Manhattan.

There is also no workout facility, but they did say it is in the process of being built and should be ready by summer. The construction is taking place now, including what will be a little bar or cafe in the lobby.

The room had a balcony which we didn't use (no furniture on it) but it was a nice touch. The staff were helpful, but if you can do NOT book this with Agoda! I booked and pre-paid, but they never sent the money to the hotel. Fortunately I had an iPad I was able to call up my credit card bill and show them that I had already paid; otherwise I would have had to pay twice and then try to get my $ back from Agoda!

Free wifi was a nice touch as some other hotels charge for it.

We will definitely consider coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of Manhattan - you'll enjoy your balcony that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    486
    153
    43
    44
See reviews for
360
339
69
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here last weekend. Check-in isn’t until 3:00 but our room was available when arrived at 1:00 p.m. The elevator was down, so we had to lug our stuff up to the 4th floor….surprisingly, there is only one elevator in the building. Upon arrival, we noticed that there was no fridge or microwave. After getting settled in, we decided to find a nearby store to pick up some snacks/drinks. We inquired at the front desk about a "public" microwave, there wasn’t one available; nor were there any ice machines in the entire hotel! Next, we asked about upgrading to a room with a fridge/microwave..the front desk agreed to do at a reduced cost. We were then taken up to see the room, it looked great but the outlet for the fridge/microwave did not work...really?! For this to be a nice hotel, it offered nothing extra. There are no places to eat nearby, with the exception of pizza parlors. We ended up going across the street to the Holiday Inn's bar for dinner/drinks. On the upside, the personnel were extremely friendly and the rooms were a decent size for NY hotels. Most importantly the subway was less than a block away and we were in the city within 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bu2fusul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed at Vetiver for 2 weeks with my wife when we first moved to NYC.

- Room and bathroom were huge
- Management is super nice and helpful - Rosalia and the rest of the team were great, listening closely to and acting promptly on every suggestion, complain and request
- Balcony has a nice view of Manhattan
- For people not familiar with the city it might seem like a dodgy location, it is off off Manhattan but with great access and the hotel is very close to the metro (a couple of stops to Manhattan and another couple to Times Square)
- Though the hotel was undergoing a some construction/renovation for the front entrance and the Cafe.(which I believe is over now, that didn't cause any inconveniences, for us at least)
- Not all rooms are configured/furnished the same way (some have closets, other have a sofa instead)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aboshoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This Hotel is still under remodeling and the dust and noise is clear evidence of that. There is also the details of the rooms where some are great, and some have simply been over looked. Again, they are mostly little things and some rather big things like the brand new Heater/AC unit that had a terrible loud squeeking noise that probably woke half the floor at night. With that said, if the management can iron these things out, this hotel is a good value close to the city, near metro, and the the rooms are spacious with balcony views of Manhattan.

Room Tip: When you actually are in the room, turn on AC/Heater to make sure it does not make any unbearable no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sizko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stood here December 31 2011-January 1, 2012. As I usually do, I'll break my review of this hotel down into categories, which will be: Location, Price, Comfortableness, Design, Staff, Misc.

Location: For people who aren't used to NYC, this area may seem sketchy and ghetto to you but it's really not. As of right now, a lot of the area is going under a lot of construction and renovation. Lots of new buildings are being constructed. It's more of a regular, working class neighborhood that you would find in NYC. Lots of different types of people, and ethnicities. It is Queens after all, and IS the most ethnically and culturally diverse borough in NYC and the country for that matter. Overall, the area isn't bad, and you won't be in any danger. You'll be around a lot of working class and "young professionals" in the area. You can always take the N and R train more up into Astoria if you want some good restaurants and bars or you can always go to other parts of Queens (or the rest of NYC for that matter) by the train (which is just a block and a minute or less away) and you're only 10 minutes or so away from Manhattan by train and less by cab. At night time the place is really quiet, so you don't have to worry about crazy noises like in Manhattan.

Price: The price of this hotel for a regular room were cheap! One of the cheapest in the city and you do get bang for your buck. I paid about 120 on New Years Day and 150 for the New Years Eve I was there. Its nothing over the top and its certainly isn't huge but you get a VERY comfortable bed, a very nice bathroom with amenities (all toiletries plus a blow dryer and of course hot water), most rooms have a balcony (mines did), Flat Screen T.V., with a big drawer with lots of compartments, desk and two night stands with a drawer and a nice chandelier over the bed. The room was pretty spacious and is good for 1-2 people and as a place to just really sleep (who needs to stay in a hotel in NYC?) As for the other rooms, and small suites, I can't obviously tell you about since I didn't stay there. So, compared to closets you get in Manhattan, you'll get a lot more room here.

Comfortableness: The hotel is VERY cozy and comfortable. It's small but I honestly didn't even feel like getting out of bed to be honest. That bed was REALLY, REALLY comfortable and is what I miss the most about the hotel along with the bathroom. It's even more cozy if you decide to dim the lights and just chill. The balcony is a fun to hang and have drinks and the views are beautiful (if you get one in the front of the hotel) and the place overall is simple but quaint and cozy. Definitely a great place to crash. The hotel DOES NOT have bed and breakfast, a gym or anything fancy like that. It's really just a place to sleep, rest up, shower and have sex (Heh, lets be honest!). Overall, I found the place really nice, comfortable and that bed was just oh so comfortable! (There is a heater and cooler in the rooms by the way).

Design: The place is pretty chic looking and kind of basic at the same time. The hotel is still being renovated in the front (since they want to make a cafe next to it). The rooms are nice, cute, quaint and yes, COZY (like I've been saying). It's a very nice, very clean. and relaxing. The back of the hotel seems to house a little bar-b-q section for the summer, where I guess guest can go mingle, have drinks, eat food. Overall, it's very pretty, very nice.

Staff: Very friendly. The cleaners are respectful, the doorman/women are very cordial, nice, polite and the other staff is A-Okay!!

In the end, you can't go wrong with this hotel. It's a no frills hotel but has everything you need to stay and is very, very comfortable. It's definitely not a motel or a hostel, let me clarify that. It's just a simple "boutique hotel". Its minutes away from Manhattan by train and cab, and near lots of attractions and sights, and the price is hard to beat! its a pretty new hotel so they don't have everything together but forgive them, please do. They're not a chain hotel after all. I didn't have a single problem here, and I had a very pleasant stay and so should you if you're just looking for a place to stay. If you want jacuzzi, bed and breakfast, gym, bed and breakfast--look elsewhere. When you're in NYC, this is ALL you need honestly. The people who work there will definitely be able to answer your questions and help you out!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front of the hotel, with a balcony if you want to get the view of the Manha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DanX_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for a Valentine's Day night out on the town! I arrived at the hotel around 6 PM and walked into an unfinished lobby. The hotel "office" was located in what seemed like a walk in closet. I was over charged upon check in and had to wait in the lobby for half an hour while the refund was being processed (only to find out I was charged once again rather than refunded), the time was ticking and I was afraid I would miss my dinner reservations in New York City. After finally completing check in we were told our T.V. was not working, nonetheless we were running out of time and did not mind the lack of a television. We went up to the penthouse on the top floor with all of our bags and not only did we encounter a broken T.V. but were also amazed to find hardware and light bulbs on the bed. The wonderful bathroom had no light bulbs installed and a ladder was in the middle of the room. We picked up the phone to call down to the lobby and (surprise) that didn't work either! The fridge was not plugged in and there was no closet or ironing board in the room. Also, no cups or coffee to enjoy in the quaint kitchenette (peculiar because they had a coffee maker). We gathered our belongings and went down to the lobby to express our dismay, we were then given the keys to the adjacent penthouse. We went back up to the ninth floor only to find the door to the room already open. We stepped inside and found out the door did not close, we could not stay or leave our personal belongings behind with no security whatsoever. The staff then told us that we could get ready for dinner in a THIRD room and that they would have our original room ready by the time we came back from dinner. By this time we had only ten minutes to get ready and head to dinner at Becco, an amazing Italian restaurant (highly recommend)! By the time we got back to the hotel at 10 pm we were told our room was ready, but that they didn't have an extension cord for the fridge but we could pick it up ourselves and place it on a chair to reach the outlet (not a small fridge!). Due to the fact we were over charged TWICE the night before once more we spent half an hour in the lobby before leaving trying to get a refund sorted out. This hotel was nowhere near ready to be opened, I have never had such a bad experience in my life! It is clear that the hotel may in fact have future potential but as of now it lacks in customer service, there is no reason we should have encountered so many trivial problems. The location is in fact great and only ten minutes to the city by car. Stay at your own risk!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xavier312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Had a great time while in NYC and loved my stay here..Rooms are great! Staff is great! Easy access into time square, comfortable beds, great view..what else can you ask for?!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 32 in Long Island City
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 32 in Long Island City
1,793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing