We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Petach Tikva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My good impression started even before I reached the hotel. My GPS got a bit befuddled in Queens so I phoned the hotel and the lady at the reception desk "talked me in"! Her directions were excellent. She was also polite and accurate. The room was good,the shower excellent and the air-conditioners worked well. The breakfasts were excellent and the kitchen staff kept topping up where necessary. The the guys and dolls at the reception desk were extremely helpful.
OK - so the area was a bit run down - but not seriously and definitely not at all dangerous. All this goes to prove that you don't have to go to a big expensive hotel in Manhattan to stay at a good hotel...go to the Sleep Inn in Queens. Anyone who says otherwise is just plain SPOILT!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    468
    121
    24
    19
See reviews for
274
330
65
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

They should provide free parking as the neighborhood is not so safe and too much to find a parking . The breakfast food quality can better. At least waffle was expected. Rooms are too small. Rest are good if you are looking for Average hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aminul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Room smelles, bed covers were dirty, nothing to enjoy except the view from our room over Quensboro bridge and Manhattan. Close to subway too. Noises at 3 am from people returning to their rooms and unable to open the doors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Antandreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our one night stay. Very clean room. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful city view and very close to the Subway. The staff was efficient, helpful and very cordial. I recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maricarmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it. Like other reviewers, the neighborhood seems sketchy, but we had no problems. Super convenient to subway. No onsight laundry, but laundromat right around the corner. Great views of city. Parking garage under hotel is pay lot and super tight to navigate through. We has a Nissan exterra and it was nerve wreaking turning the corner. Staff super helpful and breakfast was standard.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masimonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a Choice Privileges Diamond member, I stay at Choice branded properties frequently, of which Sleep Inn is one. This particular Sleep Inn was one of the best of the brand that I have ever stayed in.

The staff are pleasant, efficient, helpful, and cordial. I was checked in by a cheerful front desk person and was on my way to the room in no time. The room was of ample size, with the typical Sleep Inn furnishings - 2 comfortable beds, work desk with ample space, wall-mounted HDTV, in room coffee, and a nice view of the NYC skyline. Bathroom was spotless, with ample hot water for the shower. This may have been a handicapped room, because the bathroom door was extra large and there was room where a wheelchair could have rolled up to the sink.

A nice touch was that in the elevator, the floors where ice, soda, and snack machines were located were clearly noted by the floor buttons.

The neighborhood itself is a bit run down, but the location turned out to be quite good - about 2-3 blocks to the closest subway stop (F Train) and a few blocks more to Queensboro Plaza subway, where a variety of lines converge. The F train makes it very convenient to get into Manhattan (2 stops) or to LaGuardia (1 stop to 74th Street/Roosevelt Ave, then catch the express Q70 bus to LGA), and if you're going to the Mets game, you can catch the 7 train from Queensboro Plaza. There is a 24 hour small grocery about 2 blocks from the hotel, on the walk to/from the subway.

Two things to be aware of - for informational purposes only.

First, the hotel does ask to make a copy of your personal ID when you check in. Normally I consider this a BIG red flag and decline permission to make copies, as it is very risky to copies of one's personal identification floating around, no matter how good a hotel's security policies may be. I personally have had such copies misused in the past (NOT at this hotel - at 2 other hotels) and see no reason why a hotel of any quality should require this from guests. Normally I downgrade my Tripadvisor ratings when this happens, but in this case, I have not downgraded my rating, because when I explained my decline to the person who checked me in, they withdrew the request. But I mention this to let other travelers know that they may be asked to allow a copy to be made of their ID, and, from a personal identify protection standpoint, I would strongly encourage such guests to decline to allow the copy to be made. I also mention it in the hope that hotel management sees this comment and gets rid of what is an ill-advised and invasive policy.

Second - most Sleep Inns have a 24-hour coffee service set up for guests. This one apparently doesn't. No big deal; just mentioning it so you'll know.

Overall - a very nice hotel, well run, and surprisingly well located for trips into Manhattan and to/from LaGuardia, but not at a Manhattan price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I thought this hotel was great for my purposes. It was a typical Sleep Inn layout, clean, and the staff was unusually friendly and helpful. Hats off to them. I enjoyed to low cost accommodations that are so close to the Subway.
The only issue with the hotel is the proximity to a very large public housing project. I walked to and from the subway a dozen times, only one time did it feel uncomfortable. The local residence tend to be hanging around outside from about 8 pm to 11pm. During that time it can be a little intimidating. The streets are dirty but that is typical of New York. There are two small markets, a chinese to go place and a subway sandwich shop...
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Property: Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing