We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, convenient stay in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed for one night while visiting Manhattan. Everything was up-to-date and very clean. Our room was on the front side of the hotel so we had a beautiful view of the bridge and the skyline! The area outside of the hotel doesn't look like much but it is only a few minutes walk to the nearest subway and only about a 10 min subway ride to Manhattan. Very convenient at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Front side of the hotel for a city view
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 840LisaB840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn - Long Island City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 928 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great stay, so close to the subway takes you into Manhattan in minutes. Breakfast was a plus. And the staff super helpful got us a cab very late at night. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Quiet neighborhood otherwise ran into no trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izziesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Overall very good experience. Helpful frontdesk, good breakfast , good housekeeping .Proximity to subway is one of the major pros. However the locality appears deserted and unsafe particularly at night during the walk to and from subwaystation.however no problems at all during daylight.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your valuable opinions. Your reviews help us provide exceptional service and comfort for all our guests. We understand the hesitation you have about the area and hope that while the neighborhood is being renewed with very many new hotels and restaurants, you will feel more comfortable with your stays here at Sleep Inn - LIC. Hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Hotel is near a Metro Station, is clean and beds are good. The breakfast is horrible. I don´t like the localization of the Hotel, because at night I don´t feel safe from Metro Station to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is our extreme displeasure that you had a bad experience with our hotel. We aim to make all our amenities easily accessible and of full satisfaction. Our free continental breakfast is one of the many services we offer, and we hope that we can provide this service with full satisfaction. We understand that you are not extremely pleased with the neighborhood, and would love to inform you that with the many new properties coming soon, you will be more satisfied with your stays at Sleep Inn - LIC. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Here's what we experienced during our stay at this Sleep Inn.

Pros
- Excellent customer service
- Very nice room for an outstanding price
- Surprisingly good free breakfast
- Nice view of Manhattan
- Extremely easy access to Manhattan
- A couple quick and tasty restaurants right down the street

Cons
- Neighborhood in need of renewal
- Easy access to Manhattan is gone if F train is down
- Small breakfast area
- Some noise from nearby construction

Let me get the cons out of the way first because they did very little to diminish our stay here. The neighborhood at first glance may cause concern but we had no problems at all. Our luggage was delayed until the second day of our trip and we needed some OTC items. We walked to a local drug store a few blocks up 21st street. We also hit dollar type store beside it. Everyone we interacted with was helpful and friendly. This isn't a dangerous place it's just seen better days.

The subway is super close and can quickly get you to the heart of NYC but we had a couple incidents with the F train not running at the subway station. It was down over the weekend for maintenance and the last day due to a derailment. It cost us a little extra in taxi rides but was really only an inconvenience. The few incidents of noise and the small breakfast area were also minor issues.

The pros of this hotel FAR outweigh the limited cons. As I said, our luggage was lost upon arrival. We didn't know when our bags might get there. The front desk was great at helping us navigate the neighborhood to get what we'd need overnight. They also gave us a bunch of free standard toiletries and suggested nearby places to eat that were actually very tasty. Everything we asked for, from fixing a problem thermostat to getting us a taxi, was provided with friendly and courteous attitude.

The room was excellent. Bed was comfortable, view was good, complimentary internet access was speedy (averaged 14 mbps download on my tests), in-room fridge was handy, and house keeping always did a good job. Complimentary breakfast had a good variety with better than average bagels and pastry selection. If it was crowded we just prepared a plate and went back to the room.

Overall, we are very pleased and will stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really enjoyed your wonderfully detailed review of your stay. It is a pleasure to know that our accommodations were of full satisfaction to you. We predict that future guests will find this very helpful in choosing the right hotel for their next stay. By now the construction has been completed so we hope that during your next stay at Sleep Inn - LIC you will have a more quiet and comfortable stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good location, close to the subway station, very good service (front desk especially), great value for money, very satisfied... will be staying next times. Thank you very much.

Bosko Miskovic
Zagreb, Croatia, Europe

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lamanche2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

To Mr.Miskovic,

We greatly appreciate your review, and it was a pleasure having you and your guests at our hotel. We hope that future guests find your review helpful and enjoy the many perks and convenient services that are provided. Hope that you come back again for another great stay!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The rooms was very big and clean and the staff very friendly. Only the reception and the breakfast room was not so clean ( on the roof...).
We have the parking for the car, the metro was very very nera the hotel and in 10 minuts you hare in Time Square.
The price was very very very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Massimiliano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: $133 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing