We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Queens Hotel in Bleak Nieghborhood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
661 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Queens Hotel in Bleak Nieghborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've stayed here several times before when this hotel was a different franchise. But it still seems to be the same management. For visitors who know the area or are here on local or family matters, this might be a good budget choice. But for visitors looking for the pulse of New York experience, this might not be such a good location. The hotel is across the 59th street bridge from Manhattan but is easily accessible by the F subway line. However, tourist resources in the vicinity of this hotel are nil. Rooms are generally of moderate size but maintenance suffers because of the constant turnover of budget visitors. For example, when the lodgers above showered in the morning, water leaked down through my lighting fixture. And even with all the lights on, my room was still quite dim. My observation is that a good number of the guests are Europeans more comfortable with staying in out of the way neighborhoods and riding public transportation. They were down to the free breakfast early and snapped up the best food choices before I got there at 8 or so. My room had a fridge, iron, closet and drawer space but not enough hangers. The ice machine was in the breakfast area so I had to take the elevator or stairs each time I needed to re-fill the bucket. I will say that the Wi-Fi was free and worked O.K. This hotel seems best for those who just need a bed and some free breakfast treats and don't mind the public commute. If you bring a car, there is some parking on-site. Street parking is also available. If you choose to store your bags on the day you leave (or if you arrive too early to check in) there is a small fee.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    456
    116
    24
    18
See reviews for
265
326
62
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The location is good and only 3 station awaty from the 5th Ave. The community is a bit slacken but safe. good value for what is has. the room is clean and service is kind to travellors. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mengche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is clean and breakfast is plenty. The room is comfortable but the black spot was that they wanted to keep copy of my driver license for their records! It is illegal. I provided several pic ID and I reserved with weeks in advance, and I used same credit card number to pay, and still they wanted to keep copy of my driver license. I did not allow it.The Lady Monica is very rude: When I asked her why to keep copy of my drv lic she just made me sign twice comparing my signature with the drv lic. Otherwise, everything else is very good.

Room Tip: If you want a city view (really it is not), you have to pay $20 a night. They may reduce it to $10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsaav r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a huge fan of spending to much on lodging however I want a clean bed and friendly staff. This place exceeded both of those expectations. You cannot beat the close distance to the F train to attractions in downtown NYC. For the price the room was awesome. I requested city view and my kids loved it. If you are parking there know this the spaces are tiny!!! If you park on the street you have to move your car by 8:00 am daily. If your doing all public transit and want to have more money to spend on other fun stuff in NYC this is the hotel for you.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had a double charge from the hotel on our credit card and they didn't release the amount they double charged us!when i said to the girl at the reception that we don't have money not even for a coffee because we were depending only on our credit card she rudely answered me ''stay here and drink cofee,we have a lot!''finally we got our money back when we came back at our country 1 week later!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Property: Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing