We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Value, slightly shady location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value, slightly shady location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is close to the F line subway into Manhattan, this makes it an affordable option for those unable to stay in the city.

The breakfast was clean and well stocked, and a great add on included in the room price. There is also a convenience store on the corner with is great for picking a few things up.

Reception is helpful, and provided directions to several locations within the city with ease. The hotel does have thin walls; but is great value for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusGirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    457
    116
    24
    18
See reviews for
266
326
62
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seal beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very close to the F Line Subway so a ride into Manhattan is quick and easy. The hotel has a breakfast included which was sufficient and tasty. Staff was excellent in every way. Room was clean and comfortable. The only downside is the location. It is tucked away in a somewhat industrial area but we found it not to be a problem since it is so close to the subway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my daughter in a king bedded room with a Manhattan view...and what a view. It was simply breathtaking and what a way to start a holiday!

We got a taxi from the airport which cost $45 plus a tip, but we used the subway to return as we had got the hang of it by then.

The immediate area is a little bleak and when we arrived at night it seemed a little dark and scary but the following day we could see that the area was fine and we always felt safe there.
There really isn't anywhere to go nearby, apart from the corner shop, but we only slept here and all our time was spent out and about in Manhattan.

The king bed was enormous, much bigger than in the UK, and the room was clean and comfortable with full bathroom, Wi-Fi, TV, hairdryer, safe, ironing board and iron at no extra charge. The room was cleaned daily with towels changed every day and sheets every other day.

I'm quite fussy about hotel bedrooms, but I had no complaints here.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the breakfast room staff who kept everything topped up quickly.

I don't know why people on here have complained about the breakfast...there's everything most people could want.

You can have cereal, toast, scrambled egg, donuts, bagels, cream cheese, preserves, fresh fruit, yoghurts, coffee, juice etc...probably a lot more than most people would normally have. You need to leave some room for those massive portions of food they serve in Manhattan!

The breakfast room did get a little crowded, but there was a 2nd room to use or you could take the breakfast back to your room. We got a table every day so I don't think it's too much of a problem.

The subway, 21st Street station, is only a 3 minute walk, and we bought an Unlimited Ride 7 day metro card there ($30) which we used to travel all over Manhattan, the Staten Island ferry, Roosevelt Island cable car and into Brooklyn. It was excellent value and something I would recommend.

This hotel was well priced for such a good standard, compared to Manhattan, and I would definitely stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to come back to New York.

Room Tip: A high room with a Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is just about 30 mins away from Manhattan Times Square.
The neighborhood is safe enough.
Rooms were clean and well kept and front desk personnel that handled us during our morning check in was very accomodating.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stay here all the time for business which brings me to my customer in Times Square. The neighborhood is not the best, but it is 2 blocks from the 21st St. Queensbridge station on the F line and only 5 stops from 42nd St. downtown. Clean and decently appointed rooms and a courteous staff. If I had to pick downsides, they would be the neighborhood and the lack of dining options nearby, bur the Subway around the corner is my go-to place after a long day at the office.
The main upside is what you get for your money for the proximity to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MotoMarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Rooms are ok and clean. Breakfast is ok. Hotel is located in a not nice area - but the subway is right around the corner. About 15 minutes to Times Square. Service was excellent. We had problems with our safe. It was solved within minutes. All in all: Nothing special - good average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Property: Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing