We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place for a hang out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Afton

Sweet Afton
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Place for a hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Nice place with great staff and good place to hangout and have drinks. I was told that I have to try to have brunch there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueScooterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
203 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stopped there for dinner, but got there just as the kitchen closed for an hour. Grabbed a table in the back and some drinks to wait and have conversation. This was a bit difficult as the music was quite loud at 4:30 in the afternoon. We asked the waitress if it could be lowered and it was, but still quite loud. Had good food - the fried pickles are amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank trevelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

love the Sweet tea here Vodka infused tea is brilliant, Jalapeno Poppers are really hot and the Grilled Cheese is great to

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon1986111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place in Astoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We are from Atlanta, but we visit NYC quite a bit. We always stay at a VRBO in Astoria. We have gone to Sweet Afton twice and both times the meal was excellent. The waitstaff both times were extremely pleasant, nice and cool. Both times, the place was hopping with activitiy. There is a great Happy Hour and a great selection of beers. I highly recommmend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bar in Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Sweet Afton is my go-to spot for celebrations and catching up with friends. The atmosphere is very relaxed, especially during off-hours, and the cocktails are inventive. I highly recommend the fried pickles! Check out their brunch for good drink specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Afton also viewed

 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Sweet Afton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing