We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sneaky little spot for a cocktail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of dutch kills

dutch kills
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
New Rochelle, New York, United States
Level Contributor
296 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sneaky little spot for a cocktail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

You would never know this place was there from the outside. The speakeasy quality was really interesting and though the bar is tight, it's a incredible space.

Went there for the Happy Hour, which goes on till 7 pm. Got the Moscow Mule, which I really liked their homemade ginger. I also ordered their beef jerky, which was good, but not enough to fill me up. However, I was hungry, but didn't have time to check out the rest of the menu.

This is 3.5 stars on my chart and if the service is as good the next time around, I'll definitely have to update my rating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KC_Choi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lively spot but am sure they didn't put the rum in my cocktail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Didn't eat here, though the food looked good (from what we saw at other tables)
Dark and woody - imagine you could very easily come in here and lose complete track of time, and leave many hours and many cocktails later!
Husband had a very strong rum cocktail, I couldn't taste any rum in mine - thought it was the overpowering ginger, but think maybe they put my shots of rum into husband's glass??
Despite that, would recommend giving this place a go - enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Without question the best of the numerous speakeasy-type bars that have opened in New York City. Great selection of drinks (the "Don Lockwood" is my new favorite), friendly and knowledgable bartenders and nice ambience. Also much cheaper than the manhattan spots. The bar is hard to find even if you know the address - very non-descript entrance - but is definitely worth the effort. If you're into the speakeasy trend, don't miss this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails. Great character. Easy Trip from Manhattan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It seems Long Island City is really up and coming and now it has a trendy bar (in the Brooklyn mold) to go with it. My favorite places are hidden and off the beaten path and this is one of the best I've found. Dark with old fashioned character (lots of exposed wood and private booths). A great list of cocktails. Interesting crowd. I haven't eaten here yet but the drink menu is impressive and the bartenders are not eye candy, they're real professionals (well perhaps eye candy if you like suspenders and ironic mustaches).

If you're looking for an easy adventure outside of Manhattan then this is your place. Only 1 stop from Midtown --- just don't get lost trying to find it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OMG; gets out o' here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Just had Dr. Funk rum drink at the Durch Kills... My, my, my.. Not to be missed! What a place. The drinks are amazing, atmosphere is a step back in time... Think Dick Van Dyke, Lucy and Ricky, Rosemarie ... A definite must!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vidalarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dutch kills also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to dutch kills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing