We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails. Great character. Easy Trip from Manhattan.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dutch kills

dutch kills
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails. Great character. Easy Trip from Manhattan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It seems Long Island City is really up and coming and now it has a trendy bar (in the Brooklyn mold) to go with it. My favorite places are hidden and off the beaten path and this is one of the best I've found. Dark with old fashioned character (lots of exposed wood and private booths). A great list of cocktails. Interesting crowd. I haven't eaten here yet but the drink menu is impressive and the bartenders are not eye candy, they're real professionals (well perhaps eye candy if you like suspenders and ironic mustaches).

If you're looking for an easy adventure outside of Manhattan then this is your place. Only 1 stop from Midtown --- just don't get lost trying to find it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OMG; gets out o' here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Just had Dr. Funk rum drink at the Durch Kills... My, my, my.. Not to be missed! What a place. The drinks are amazing, atmosphere is a step back in time... Think Dick Van Dyke, Lucy and Ricky, Rosemarie ... A definite must!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vidalarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a speakeasy with delicious cocktails and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Friends took me as I'm sure I couldn't have found it on my own. I only went for drinks so I cannot speak about the food which I understand they have now expanded their menu. The cocktails ate carefully concocted by quirky, fun, and friendly young people. I strongly recommend the Gold Rush,bourbon and fresh ginger!! I could have one of these for breakfast, everyday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vidalarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went for a couple of drinks.... left after 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a lovely little hidden diamond, we went for a few drinks and did not leave until 1am.... Karen our cocktail person we awesome but would not make me a cosmo ;) all in all well work a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeanKrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a gem hidden in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Dutch kills is a pretty gem that is still kinda hidden in the rough.
I come here with friends and the atmosphere is always awesome for dates or chilling out.
It's kinda costly, but worth the amount. Usually I go for the bartender's choice and throw out a couple adjectives and they always seem to hit the palette right on the nose.

Also a good thing is it's never overly crowded. Sometimes there's a lot of people and you might have to stand by the bar, but never face in the armpits. Plus sometimes there's live music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dutch kills also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to dutch kills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing