We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from Sept 18-21 (3 Nights). We called the night before to ensure we could have an early booking and were advised that there would not be a problem. When we arrived at the hotel we were told by the front staff that our room was available however we would have to pay 40.00 for early check in-no mention of this when we called earlier. The bed was comfortable however there was a tissue under the bed mattress. The bathtub in the first room was dirty (hair etc) we brought our own cleaner to clean this out. The 2nd day we had to change our room (1st room was a room with a jacuzzi for 179 however this room was not available for the next two nights) to a suite 199. When we were leaving for the day at 8:30/9:00 we had to check out and leave our luggage at the front desk-they would not put it in the room so it stayed there until we came back that night. The day we were leaving we asked to have a taxi called and they said they did not have a number but the shuttle service went in 1/2 hour-the shuttle arrived and jammed 10 people in a van-not very friendly at all. Overall I did not find the staff friendly or accomadating. The hotel was clean overall. The service was poor. The breakfast was fine-basic. The area was ok-we were not bottered and traveled to and from by subway late at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loriann123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    692
    254
    51
    43
See reviews for
444
455
97
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

A friend and I with our two daughters stayed at this hotel during NY fashion week. The hotel staff was great! Upon our early arrival we couldn't get into the room so they allowed us to store our luggage while we ran to some appointments. It is a very close walk to the subway and about a 10 min subway ride into Manhattan. The area is a little sketchy since it is next to section 8 housing, but we had no problems when we came back to the hotel at night. ( in a group of course) We were able to check in a little early @ 1pm and get settled into our room which was very nice. The sink in the bathroom reminds me that of a school bathroom sink, no countertop, the shower curtain was a little short, so to avoid water all over the floor we turn the shower head towards the wall, beds were very comfortable.The breakfast was ok, toast, bagels, danishes and cereal, not the best but it will do. Overall experience was very good. Would stay again in a pinch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Please note - I'd only recommend this hotel to a friend that was looking for a really affordable, clean hotel that was close to the subway close to central New York. It's not a hotel for a lovely New York vacation for middle aged couples.
When we pulled up, we were a little concerned - it's close to many automotive shops and industrial sites.
I'll confess, as a female traveller I didn't wander around outside. My colleague cabbed it to a family dinner - I ordered in... (an absolutely spectacular pizza) - recommended by the front desk - but they also had lots of other options for delivery.

The rooms are very clean, the front desk in the evening was exceptionally helpful, the wakeup calls were right on time. The bathroom is very clean - Pantene hair products. The towels are absorbent and nice.

I had room 809, and the view of the bridge was lovely, especially at night. It's close to the subway.

All in all - if you are in a group, with some large male company, and you don't expect to be in the middle of the action - it's a clean, cost effective hotel. As a woman on a business trip- I was happy that I had seen New York, because I wasn't wandering around alone.

just a little bit outside the circle of comfort for me... but clean, and very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetnThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were there for 4 days and besides the free continental breakfast which was average at best and the neigborhood which his a bit suspect we have nothing to complain about this hotel. We were at the most a 4 minute walk to the subway station which brings us directly to Times Square in 10 minutes. The rooms were small but very clean and everything worked properly for us. Why pay over 200.00 a night in Manhattan and an extra 40.00 a day to park your car when you pay almost half the price with limited free parking on site or on the street. I highly recommend this hotel. The day we will come back to New-York City, we will surely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan200362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilversum
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

New hotel. It is clean. The rooms are ok. Only 50 meters from the subway. Two stops to center Manhatten. Free Parking!!!!!. Breakfast is miserable. Take your stuff to your room and eat in peace.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nimoboma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel advertisings that it has parking, but it is a lie. It has 7 spaces for over 100 rooms, meaning in fact you have to park on the street - and no parking 7 to 10 am and 4 to 7 pm. So it pretty much ruins your vacation. The office is filthy, one elevataor was filled with full trash bags. The so-called free breakfast is a zoo - nothing works (juice, etc) and the place has seating for about half what is needed. It's also filthy. The phones in the rooms don't work. The rooms moderately cleaned. The room safe didn't work and the hotel desk didn't care. I've not stayed in a Best Western for years - since we stayed in one with no water about 10 years ago - and it will be another 10 or so to do so again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murrrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I chose this hotel because i traveled on my own. Can't say i regret my decision. The room was very clean. Just perfect if you travel alone or just a couple (room is a bit tight). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Subway was just 5 minutes by walking and you could be in manhattan in just about 10 minutes. And the fact that there is free wi-fi is great if you wanna keep in touch during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing