We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place still improving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place still improving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have stayed here multiple times in last few years. Manager and staff know how to treat people well. Hotel is two blocks from subway convenient to Manhattan. This time, they seriously improved their former mediocre breakfast items and increased space to avoid breakfast time traffic jams. A good move. Will return again next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank stpeterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    774
    263
    59
    45
See reviews for
498
512
105
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel was decent for the NY price. The best part is that it is right across the street from the subway. Very Convenient! The hotel itself is as expected for the price, but it is livable for a short stay. It was clean and had a complimentary continental breakfast. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crimson4cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

... kumar was probably the most accommodating, friendly, and helpful hotel employee I've come across so far, which says a lot because I travel and stay overnight in many hotels on a regular basis for my job. Definitely dedicated to helping others..I was shocked with how willing he was to actually work hard while on the job...very motivating.

Thanks Kumar, i hope your superiors recognize your hard work on a regular basis.. promote him

Room Tip: king size bed for sure, 1st floor for gym if you like working out, 4th floor for ice if you love ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 10 day visit to NYC. Although the hotel is fine, I am not a great fan of papers plates and this was what was on offer for us for breakfast. Everything was paper, the plates, cups, plastic spoons, forks etc. I wouldn't have thought it would have been that much extra to supply "proper" dishes. The price of this hotel was not much cheaper than the one we stayed in in Manhattan. Also on our last day we had to pay a dollar each case for this to be left until we were heading for the airport. Was this left in a secure room - no. Was there someone watching over the cases - no. Left on the floor at reception - why are you charging for this???? Although there are two lifts you seemed to spend a lot of time waiting on them. We did take the stairs but on our last day with luggage this was a bit difficult to had to wait a long time to gain access to the lifts. I also found some of the staff rude and standoffish.

Room Tip: Although the hotel itself was fine, I didn't like having to commute. My next trip and my advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PADDYMSCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is conveniently less then 100 yards from the subway which goes into the heart of New York, travel to Bryant Park and you will be at the bottom of Times Square next to the Library, it makes life so much easier.

The team at the hotel are very pleasant and helpful, breakfast area is rushed and crowded but let's be honest you want to get out and play in the city asap anyway so why would you want to get comfy

The room was perfect, The bed is massive and very comfy and the phAntom housekeeping team are awesome, thank you. To the team of best western thank you for making my experience a lot easier

Ooh if you get the chance go to the halal food shop and get the chicken burger it is SCRUMMY yum yum

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel is conveniently located just a flock or two from the F train station: you can be in Times Square in 15 minutes. On the other hand, there's nothing around the hotel, and if you like walking the first restaurant is 20 minutes away.
Breakfast room far too small, rooms are acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side, possibly on a higher floor: the view over Manhattan is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Convenient to subway station and provided easy access to all of New York City. as first time visitor to New York City, the Best Western Plaza was a real deal, financially and location. Would stay there again on next visit to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#8 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing