We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The stay at the hotel was really nice, spacious room, good size bathroom, really friendly and helpful staff!
The breakfast was really nice, And location really close to metro station!
Negative about the hotel would be the cleaning, even thou towels and sheets were changes they had stains, also dusting and vacuuming the room was really poor.
Overall it was a satisfying stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kefah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were trying to find hotel close to Manhatton and also cheap. This was the cheapest we got in a very short notice. Apparently it turned out to be very good. It was good, good rooms and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Samia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As soon as I arrived, I felt welcomed, place didn't look dangerous and the lobby was presentably fancy. I had parking so that was a plus and all my needs were taken care of by the staff as far as reservations, applicable discounts, service and room arrangements. The room is surprisingly trendy. My friends in the local area of NY even say it looks nice. Travelling from the Midwest for a weekend getaway to NY, I honestly don't think I would choose another place to stay after the weekend here. Thanks Best Western, see you next month!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel, and we were very satisfied.
The area where the hotel is located is not very nice, but the subway-station is only 2 minutes away and in 20 minutes it will take you to the Empire State Building.
Our room was on the topfloor (10th floor) and we had a nice Manhattan-view. The room was not very big, but had all the amenities we needed. Linen and towels were changed every day and it was very clean.
The staff was very helpful and could give us advice on what to see and do. They also helped us order pizza when we arrived and were tired after a long flight.
The only thing that we didn't really like was the breakfast. The breakfast room is really small and the food was very boring.
We paid app. 150 $ pr night and that was a good deal compared to the Manhattan prices.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we're going til New York.

Room Tip: Go for a room with Manhattan-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We toured New York with a grandchild and found this hotel to be clean, with a great morning breakfast, friendly staff that could answer our questions and arrange a taxi to the airport at the end. It was a great location to use the subway (a 5 minute walk to the station) to reach the heart of Manhattan. If we visit New York again, we would definitely try to use this hotel and would recommend it for our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We did not choose this hotel - our friends from France's travel agent did so it is popular abroad as good value. We had a large, lovely room on the 10th floor with a great view of the bridge. Some of the rooms were smaller. The room was clean and fresh and even late at night there was hot water. I liked having a small fridge to store fruit and juice. They do have computers up from the lobby so we were able to print off our boarding passes. Staff was pleasant and called us a cab for the airport. We were at La Guardia and it cost $25.00 from the hotel to the airport. Seems they will store your luggage before or after checkout but in the front lobby in full view. We stored ours with our friends who stayed on another week.

I would have liked to have been closer to downtown Manhattan. A girlfriend of mine found a lovely boutique hotel near Central Park for 40% off and it came out about the same price - really expensive when you add in the hotel tax and state tax and all the other taxes ($200 per night). We used subways but did find it a long day as we did not return to our hotel to shower/rest or freshen up for dinner - then go out again. In general I find I like Best Westerns in Europe which are more individual and elegant than in US cities. We stayed in a gorgeous hotel (Best Western) inside Carcassone in France.

The convenience store next door was a blessing for bottled water, juice, fruit. As I am Gluten - Free the complimentary breakfast was useless for me - mostly buns and croissants and cereal and yogurt (with additives) and the only fruit on offer was a delicious apple that was a little soft. Most people complained that the eating area was small and crowded. My boyfriend would bring juice up for me after his breakfast with his friends who found it fine. Luckily there are lots of coffee places all over NYC - even the museums make great cappuccino and latte. We did stop by late at night on our way in and get hot water to make tea (yes it was boiling not tepid) so if you're a tea drinker bring your own tea bags and voila! We also made hot chocolate with their powdered chocolate so that was a bonus. There aren't restaurants in the area. One night we got off the subway at the wrong entrance and started walking through the 'projects' - a bit scary for me - so we turned around and walked briskly back to find our hotel. This was the only time I was frightened. I felt safe in the hotel per se.

I travel quite a bit and research thoroughly beforehand. I don't think I would have chosen this hotel but it was fine as the entire trip was fabulous with all the great art museums and fabulous theatre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel staff rude, breakfast awful, noisy, poor parking, not very clean. Hotel not in a good part of town. Most of hotel staff very rude...if you have a problem they speak to each other in their native language between one another. I would not stay here again if they were to give away a free flight and nights....buyer beware

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#10 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing