We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“General”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Average hotel. I though it was in a bit of a dodgy area. It is not very accessible via the Metro system, and thus you need to use a cab to get to and from Manhattan. This is an expensive option. I also did not appreciate the fact that I had to use plastic crockery and cutlery everywhere; i.e. polystyrene cups for coffee in the rooms and plastic plates in the breakfast area. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    862
    284
    63
    52
See reviews for
591
582
116
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Rooms were small but nice. Breakfast included but very poor. Location is one block from F subway and one stop from manhattan. It was relatively cheapest hotel with nice rooms not too far from manhattan

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

For the money, this hotel was, at best, OK. Nothing horrific happened while we stayed, but our room was cramped and had a distinct smell of dirty feet, which did not dissipate in the 2 days we stayed there. When we checked in, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful; however, when we checked out the (different) staff seemed less than enthused to answer some pretty basic questions. The breakfast was your basic continental fare, with a small dining area. One positive was the hotel's proximity to the N and 7 trains. Overall we were left with a generally negative impression though. I'd look elsewhere before staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

So I stayed at this hotel for a short trip to NYC to get a visa for travel. Things went weird from the get go. Not enough people working the front desk, had to wait in line to check in and once that was finally taken care of the girl at the front desk had given me the keys to a room someone else was already staying in (the key worked, it was very awkward...) There was no bell boy so you have to take your bags up yourself on the cart (which normally I wouldn't have minded if I hadn't brought so much for my travels) and the cart is hard to maneuver. After getting settled everything went ok, the staff was really friendly and helpful but the maids never actually cleaned my room (it was only a 2 night stay so no big deal). They came in once and made the bed. Nothing else was done after that. There is a laundry bag in the closet, but the maids never took the laundry, I was told that there is a laundromat two blocks away. Makes the laundry bag misleading. The breakfast was fine, but the space could get really crowded really quickly. Breakfast is free, but my suggestion is you get there before 8am. The rooms are nice, dark but nice. The bed is comfortable and they have a mini fridge for you and a thermostat you can control (which is nice in the fall and winter). Overall my stay here was awkwardly pleasant.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask about what's available, sometimes people check out early and it wont be liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First things first :

Very VFM hotel , Very centrally located, co-operative staff, No-frills but almost all essential facilities are part of the package (including the unexpected wi fi..).

If, like me, you are lugging your luggage all across the city in the subway, then this hotel is god send. just three mins walk from the station. hassle free checkin, probably due to advance booking for which there was no acknowledgement from the hotel. i had to call them several times to confirm wire transfer. Another minor irritant was the B/F which was not bad, but limited choice and the quality could have been better... what was available, was consumed in plenty by the guests. I saw some gluttons, stuffing their coats with apples and yoghurt. There is no fresh / fruit juice.

i got the room on the top floor and the windows overlooking the queens bridge. colourful sight in the evenings with all those lights. The spacious room, with good beds and the helpful front desk guy with a readymade printout of the NY city gives you a good feeling.

Wouldnt mind coming back here again :-)

Room Tip: ask for a room in the top floor over looking the bridge behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gop G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our shortest stay ever in a hotel, very well maintained building, room was much more than expected. Chic, big, clean, top nutch. Personnal was very attentive of our need and verified if the service provided was enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean rooms, pleasant staff and very helpful, very short walk to the F train which can take you to Manhattan in a matter of minutes......short walking distance to some great restaurants....
I have stayed twice at this hotel and would definitely stay again.....thanks to all the staff for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 658TeresaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 32 in Long Island City
1,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 32 in Long Island City
1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 32 in Long Island City
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing