We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Losers...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Losers...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Third time in NYC and for the first time very unsatisfied. It doesn't happen often to me that taxi driver gets scared when he gets the place where I stay. I have been staying at Manthattan so far, but this time the only option was Long Island (for the same price).

The location of the hotel is close to not a very nice area hence I got a warning to stay in my room at the evening and take taxi all the time.

The room itself is huge to NY standards, but unfortunately not clean (should only smell like it is :)) and renovated for the last time already few years ago. The other minor problem is that internet coverage is not the strongest so I'm literally sitting behind the door to get some signal.

The service was "ok". The guy at reception with shirt which hasn't been ironed has spent whole 2 minutes to check me in, but given the area I quite understand why there was nothing to tell me.

Next time please consider other option, I'm sure there are less doggie places around here...

Room Tip: different hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    849
    284
    61
    52
See reviews for
580
578
115
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night for a business trip. Subway and El train are literally a few steps away. Check in very fast and easy. This is not a full service hotel so no bell hop. Room was very nice and clean. No type of view at all. Hotel has security guard. So if you want to travel at night there is someone keeping watch. Didn't take part in the breakfast but it was packed when I went passed in the lobby. Overall if you need a decent place to stay close to the subway this it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexm0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

When I first arrived, the front desk service was superior. There were garbage that was found in the room. The room was clearly not cleaned properly. The lady that came to clean the room only put fresh towels down. She didn't clean the bathroom or take the trash out the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ReneeB732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

There's street parking and the hotel provides its own parking, first come first serve basics. The rooms are small but updated and clean. 2 blocks from subway. Breakfast was great, above the typical hotel breakfast. The only weird I've noticed we're the flat tires on the street parked cars. I got a flat tires and so did other car around me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stay here 11 nights! Great find and good value for money! Daily room clean meant standard was kept high throughout! Only downside is area but very good access to manhattan via subway! Really good if you on a budget would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaOmega70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

was a good room reasonable rate for the area i would go back there if i needed to depending on my situation and location at the time but we'll see how it goes you never know newyork is a huge town with many options

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindfreakmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 32 in Long Island City
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 32 in Long Island City
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing