We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please, change blankets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“please, change blankets”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

blankets are horrible! Change them. It's very cold in the room, you can't open the window, just to switch on a heater. Heater is very old, this makes general staying not so comfortable as it could be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    864
    285
    63
    53
See reviews for
593
584
116
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there November 2012 for 2 nights.
I am a single mature woman and chose this hotel on arrival in N.Y.because of the closeness to La Guardia.No shuttle bus operates to the hotel so I took a taxi $18.from airport.
There is nothing in the area,...opposite the hotel front a large storage ware house, behind a powerstation.Busy noisy road. Next block is the largest public(council) housing estate in USA( reliable information from council employee).When I arrived staff on duty were very unprofessional, I got the impresion they had been called in just to cover weekend shift.
A few undesirable looking characters sitting in lobby.Only 1 liftworking.
PLUS FACTORS
Good breakfast, which was needed as there were no places nearby to get a breakfast except small Subway shop.
2 blocks from subway train to Manhattan
Free internet
Clean bed and bathroom

MINUS FACTORS.
Expensive considering area ( and I had Seniors rate)
Public areas carpets looked dirty needed hoovering
Considering this is supposed to be a new hotel I don't think double glazing was efficient,room cold and noisy
3 x 40 watt table lamps in room,no main light difficult to see, maybe to hide dirt on room carpet.
Duvet so thin I had to double it to be warm,couldn't get heat from air conditioning

Not a safe area to be out alone after dark,when I was there the F line subway nearby was closed over the weekend for repairs.I had booked for 4 nights but was glad I reduced it to 2 nights.

This area of Queens has nothing of interest, you could get somewhere better to stay in Manhattan for similiar price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareliz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A bad neighborhood but with the service I got there in the past, the professional staff that used to work there, the proximity to subway and the clean rooms - it used to be my favorite.
I guess a new manager and new staff makes the difference: dirty room, dirty corridor, one elevator (of two) not working and a staf that treats you like in an Arab Bazzar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel itself is in a very good condition. Rooms were clean and roomy. The decor was somewhat dark though which made it look older than what it really was. I paid extra for the "Manhattan View" as it was our honeymoon. I wouldn't really bother though as the view is obscured by another hotel. Breakfast was included and it was cereals and toast. The coffee is terrible but I have been told that American coffee isn't that great anyway.

The night staff were good. The day staff were useless. Prime example of this: There is a laundry bag in the room so we asked the night staff about how to get laundry done. Was told to leave it at the desk and they will take care of it. So, filled up the bag and took it down in the morning only to be told by the day staff that they don't do laundry and we need to use the laundromat down the road. Went to see the night staff that night and they said "No problem Sir, that will probably be two days and $15 dollars. We'll put it on your bill". Sweet I thought. Two days later, got locked out of the room by the day staff because my laundry turned up and they wanted me to pay straight away. I'd stay there again but I'd only deal with the night staff.

Location is great as it's only a block away from the subway which is 10 mins away from Rockefeller Center.

Room Tip: Manhattan side rooms are quieter but don't get it because of the view because their is a very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Typically hotel room size that you can expect in New York city.

Main advantage: just a block from the Queensbridge tube station street elevator. Takes you to Manhattan in a few stops. Complementary breakfast is quite adequate. But make sure you do this before 8.30am, since it tends to get crowded between 8.30am to 9.30am (when breakfast shuts). There is a Subway adjacent to the hotel and also a Bangladeshi 24 hour Deli next to it. There is a liquor store diagonally opposite the hotel (closer to the steps coming out from Queensbridge station to 21st street). Rooms are of decent quality, with A/c and Heating. Coffee machine and reasonable quality of toiletries. Friendly reception. The windows blocks out the sounds from the 21 street (which is quite heavy during the day).


Be cautious walking around in this area after 7pm. Does not inspire confidence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vr3plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This has a very cool rooftop overlooking the city, the doors were locked, but if they opened it up, wow~ Photo opps and chanting to conquer the world moment! The rooms are clean & comfortable, mini fridge, free wi-fi. All the toiletries you need, lots of towels, very happy with my stay. The Business center has an adjoining meeting room with a large wooden meeting table, great for corporate meetings. I hung out and got my work done while waiting for my room. Made me feel empowered and ready to tackle NY! The gym is good, or you can run the stairs. A very safe place for a female traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have yet to stay here but I phoned to double check my reservation which was made through Expedia 6 weeks ago , and they have no record of the reservation , I suggest you, from reading previous reviews of this place confirm your reservation atleast twice and go through a travel company such as Expedia do make sure you get your room , and keep all your paperwork , and call the actual hotel to confirm the reservation first.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EAKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 33 in Long Island City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing