We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,141)
Filter reviews
2,141 results
Traveler rating
699
1,006
307
71
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
1,006
307
71
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew yorksubway stationf linethe breakfast areabagelsfree breakfasttimes squareparking spotnever felt unsafebeds were very comfortablecentral parkthe hotel is cleanthe empire state buildingmanhattan viewjfk airporttwo blockslate at night
Filter
Updating list...
931 - 936 of 2,141 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

An absolutely harrowing experience -- the hotel put multiple holds on my card over an extended stay, double-charged me, and then never released the holds! The manager disappeared whenever I attempted to get him to address the problem, and I have yet to finish resolving what has now become a $3000 mess with my bank!

I feel bad leaving such an awful review, as the actual staff was nice, and the hotel was very convenient, but clearly the management are either incompetent, or outright thieves. Stay elsewhere, or be sure to pay in cash and use a card you don't need for security...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nycdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Location of this hotel is good, midtown is only 10-15 minuts by metro. Subway station is in a 10-15 minuts walk. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is simple, but OK. Free coffee and WiFi are avalible 24 houras. Rooms are clean and big. Price is reasonable. Many rooms have nice view of Manhattan. I used to see Empire state building from my bed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moscovite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwplazalic33143, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Hello moscovite2011,

The Best Western Plaza enjoyed your succinct review regarding your stay with us! We are glad our amenities served you well and do plan to return for another stay with is in future trips to New York!

With gratitude,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great Manhattan view from our room. Subway (F line) located 400m from hotel, working 24/7. Travel to/from Manhattan (Rockefeller Center) about 10-15 minutes. Free internet access - wifi, business center with PC's and printer free of charge. Breakfast rather small but sufficient (breakfast room a bit crowded). Maybe Manhattan locations are more convenient but double (or triple) the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Hello Nucek,

The Best Western Plaza is thrilled your found your stay with us of great value for your money! Hope you keep our hotel in mind in future trips to New York!

Sincere regards,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is very reasonable and not far from Laguardia Airport. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast is nice. Parking may be available but no reservations for parking are taken.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzdancer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Hello Jazzdancer49,

The Best Western is very happy to know you found our hotel of great value and convenience! Hope you decide to return to our hotel on your next visit to New York!

Many Thanks,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights, influenced by the reviews, comparatively high room rates in Manhattan, and also proximity to the subway system. The hotel was less expensive than in Manhattan and on arrival we were slightly concerned about the area, although our concerns were unfounded during our stay. Check-in was efficient and we were allocated a room on the fifth floor accessed by lift. The room was perfectly adequate, although there was some traffic noise from the road outside. The nearest station was relatively close and we checked travel arrangements with the hotel prior to travelling in to Manhattan for the first time. Unfortunately, the hotel advice, omitted to advise us that due to LONG TERM rail works, the evening return trains were different to the outbound journey. On boarding the same (wrong) train to return, we suddenly found ourselves in a different area, and only managed to reach our hotel (on foot - and wet) following clear advice from a helpful local resident.
The included breakfast was provided on a mezzanine floor above reception. The food available was average but the space was clearly inadequate for the number of guests wishing to use it. This caused some of the guests to return to their rooms with their food. Also the replenishment of food appeared to be variable depending on the availability of one member of staff. Some of the staff manning the concierge desk appeared to have limited knowledge of the area. On attempting to re-confirm our flights, I was directed to an area on the mezzanine floor where one working computer was available without a working printer. There had clearly been other equipment, but the workspaces were empty. On attempting to access our room after breakfast on the last day, the key would not work. Seeking assistance the one member of staff from the breakfast area arrived wih knife/screwdriver and from the marks on the door this had occurred before. Using the key and said tools, he could not access the room and left for further assistance. Surprisingly, the normal key then opened the door.
In summary, this hotel is better value than in the main area of Manhattan, and is well located for subway access. However, we feel that the publicity and picture of this hotel may overstate the comparative value when taking our overall experiences into account

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Hello Travelexperience12,

The Best Western Plaza would like you to know your review has been of great aid to us ! Not only has your review allowed our hotel to reflect on a past customer relation, but in turn arise new ideas in ways to better handle experiences similar to yours, projecting us further in our goal in providing the best possible hotel service in Long Island City. Again thank you once more for posting your review!

With Sincere Thanks,
The Best Western Plaza Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews