We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and convienience for the money!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Value and convienience for the money!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights in February. We have 3 sons aged 13, 11, and 6. We stayed in a Suite room. Pros for this room are as follows: inexpensive!!! ( our family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights for less than 1 would cost in most hotels) , clean, convieniently located to Manhattan ( the subway is right around the corner), safe ( we never felt unsafe walking the streets or on the subway), free breakfast( it was basic but saves a lot of money and they had Dunkin Doughnuts which the kids loved), quiet (maybe because it wasn't prime season but we had no problems with noise). Cons: the sofa bed was broken as others have said but the staff brought in a roll in cot to replace it and my son said it was comfortable enough, One of the 2 tv's was broken but the one in the main bedroom worked, not fancy (but this was family travel anyway), cramped. Unlike other reviewers we had no trouble with the staff. They were not rude just efficient. When we needed help they answered our questions and when we checked in the girl at the desk smiled and was helpfull. We never had a problem. They didn't fall all over us but again this is not luxury travel. I would recommend staying here. You can save money for all the wonderful and fun things to do in the city. Afterall, the room is just a place to sleep. The maid service was good too. You do pay for parking but the lot was right next door and not too expensive. The gas station next door had anything you could need and the ATM didn't even have an unreasonable fee. I got my coffee here each morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hassi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    748
    395
    176
    179
See reviews for
554
685
150
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was stay there for a week with my son , first , the hotel had a very good situation , it was also new , with many equipment sutch as big flat screen , free wifi ice machine, a/c , and so on .
We had past a wonderful moment in that hotel and we will return soon :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights with my partner and friends for a sightseeing trip to new york.

The hotel and rooms are basic but clean, and for the price where better than I was expecting. I was just looking for somewhere to rest my head at night and not break the bank, on this basis the hotel was more than adequate. The room was a good size and the bathroom was clean and modern. The bed was large and comfortable, however the sofa bed was shockingly bad and I would not remommend that anyone attempt to sleep on this.

The staff where ok and did thier job, I wasn't expecting much more, after all it does not claim to be a 5 star hotel.

The hotel is just off the island of Manhatten and as such is much cheaper. I found the location suited us well, as was quiet at night and the subway station was only a 2 minute walk round the corner, with only 2 stops (5-10 mins max) to get in to the centre of Manhatten. For the money we saved, this was more than worth it.

The garage next door was really handy for picking up snacks, beer etc.

Overall, for the money, we had a good stay. I would stay again at this hotel just for the money it saves compared to staying in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireloueasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ 85622
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Parking is limited, and difficult with all this snow! Rooms are spacious and clean. Bed is moderately comfortable, and free breakfast is just that; the usual. All of the above is great for the price of the rooms. HOWEVER, there is no excuse for "white" towels that are grey and dingey in color and have the smell of body odor. Made me want to run to the neighborhood department store to buy a NEW towel to use. YUCK. Internet is free, and VERY slow. Business travelers will NOT get any work done here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griffytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Great room with a large comfortable bed. The metro is less than 5 mins down the road making this hotel incredibly well placed. The metro is very cheap and saves you a fortune compared with staying in Manhattan.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful. The breakfast area is quite small but we never had to wait long to be seated. The wifi was free and pretty fast, though it was a tad intermittent and the staff were next to useless at giving any assistance. The overall attitude of the staff was surly which varied from the "gruff but useful" variety to the "genuinely annoyed that you're alive" variety. That said, we never let it bother us.

All in all though we couldn't have wished for a better located, cleaner hotel for such a good price. There's also a convenience store next door that's perfect for snacks, drinks and booze until pretty late.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordmongerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and two teenage daughters for a week long stay. Over all I found the location quite close to Manhattan and convienient to multiple subway stations and buses to get around NYC. Our room was fairly roomy compared to others that we have had in Manhattan for considerably less money. The free breakfast was nothing to write home about but we did not go hungry. The coffee they serve out of an automated machine is lousy and they had no cream, only milk. The person that takes care of keeping the area stocked could do a much better job. There is a gas station/store right next door to the hotel that makes much better coffee and we grabbed a cup there before going to the breakfast room. Our room was cleaned daily but we could never understand why the 2 women that worked on our floor always worked together and could not manage to each clean a seperate room at the same time and seemed to take for ever.
For the better part the staff is very unpleasant but I did encounter one gentleman that was very friendly and provided us with some great advice on local eateries that we could order food from or take a quick cab ride to get to. The choices for dining in the immediate area are very few and far between.
Although the staff was not a key feature of this hotel, the price and location would easily have me return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2frosty4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I've stayed here twice now, once April 2010 and most recently January 2011.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and in fact probably will on the next trip in April this year.

The rates are incredible, in comparison to the sky high prices of Manhattan. Yet the location in Long Island City is as good, if not better than some hotels in Manhattan itself. Such is the public transport access (Q, N, 7 and F trains all within a couple minutes walk), you will be in midtown within 10 minutes.

Both times we stayed in a king size room with city view. Nice clean rooms, huge bed, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, well sized bathroom. The city view rooms are quiet at night time too, being as they are not situated on the main street.

As for breakfast, remember, its a 'thrown in' - and something you will rarely see at more expensive hotels in the city, and it's fine. Bagels, donuts, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, juices, coffee..... Sure the breakfast room is small, so just load it on a plate and take it to your room, problem solved!

The rate this January was $62+ tax, you couldn't get a single room with shared bathroom in the city for that. I know which I prefer.

Surly staff? Yep, thats probably the only complaint I have about the place. We where checked in and out by a very unfriendly Indian / Pakistani lady. She couldn't raise a smile. But, at the end of the day, its a minor point, as I had no issue to actually need to approach the staff at any other time - which is a credit to the way the hotel is run.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 32 in Long Island City
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 32 in Long Island City
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 32 in Long Island City
1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing