We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DINGEY STINKY TOWELS - SLOW INTERNET”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Green Valley, AZ 85622
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DINGEY STINKY TOWELS - SLOW INTERNET”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Parking is limited, and difficult with all this snow! Rooms are spacious and clean. Bed is moderately comfortable, and free breakfast is just that; the usual. All of the above is great for the price of the rooms. HOWEVER, there is no excuse for "white" towels that are grey and dingey in color and have the smell of body odor. Made me want to run to the neighborhood department store to buy a NEW towel to use. YUCK. Internet is free, and VERY slow. Business travelers will NOT get any work done here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griffytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    747
    390
    171
    175
See reviews for
545
680
149
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Great room with a large comfortable bed. The metro is less than 5 mins down the road making this hotel incredibly well placed. The metro is very cheap and saves you a fortune compared with staying in Manhattan.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful. The breakfast area is quite small but we never had to wait long to be seated. The wifi was free and pretty fast, though it was a tad intermittent and the staff were next to useless at giving any assistance. The overall attitude of the staff was surly which varied from the "gruff but useful" variety to the "genuinely annoyed that you're alive" variety. That said, we never let it bother us.

All in all though we couldn't have wished for a better located, cleaner hotel for such a good price. There's also a convenience store next door that's perfect for snacks, drinks and booze until pretty late.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordmongerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and two teenage daughters for a week long stay. Over all I found the location quite close to Manhattan and convienient to multiple subway stations and buses to get around NYC. Our room was fairly roomy compared to others that we have had in Manhattan for considerably less money. The free breakfast was nothing to write home about but we did not go hungry. The coffee they serve out of an automated machine is lousy and they had no cream, only milk. The person that takes care of keeping the area stocked could do a much better job. There is a gas station/store right next door to the hotel that makes much better coffee and we grabbed a cup there before going to the breakfast room. Our room was cleaned daily but we could never understand why the 2 women that worked on our floor always worked together and could not manage to each clean a seperate room at the same time and seemed to take for ever.
For the better part the staff is very unpleasant but I did encounter one gentleman that was very friendly and provided us with some great advice on local eateries that we could order food from or take a quick cab ride to get to. The choices for dining in the immediate area are very few and far between.
Although the staff was not a key feature of this hotel, the price and location would easily have me return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2frosty4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I've stayed here twice now, once April 2010 and most recently January 2011.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and in fact probably will on the next trip in April this year.

The rates are incredible, in comparison to the sky high prices of Manhattan. Yet the location in Long Island City is as good, if not better than some hotels in Manhattan itself. Such is the public transport access (Q, N, 7 and F trains all within a couple minutes walk), you will be in midtown within 10 minutes.

Both times we stayed in a king size room with city view. Nice clean rooms, huge bed, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, well sized bathroom. The city view rooms are quiet at night time too, being as they are not situated on the main street.

As for breakfast, remember, its a 'thrown in' - and something you will rarely see at more expensive hotels in the city, and it's fine. Bagels, donuts, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, juices, coffee..... Sure the breakfast room is small, so just load it on a plate and take it to your room, problem solved!

The rate this January was $62+ tax, you couldn't get a single room with shared bathroom in the city for that. I know which I prefer.

Surly staff? Yep, thats probably the only complaint I have about the place. We where checked in and out by a very unfriendly Indian / Pakistani lady. She couldn't raise a smile. But, at the end of the day, its a minor point, as I had no issue to actually need to approach the staff at any other time - which is a credit to the way the hotel is run.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The hotel room was good, the location was convenient for the Queensboro Plaza subway and the price was right for us.

However, our stay was spoilt by the unfriendly, unwelcoming and unhelpful behaviour and attitude of the management. Throughout our stay of six nights, it was clearly obvious that they were inadequately trained and totally lacking in the required skills to provide decent customer service.

In marked contrast to the other hotels were stayed at, at check-in we received no warm, friendly greeting or other words of welcome. Instead, we were repeatedly told by a very aggressive young man that we would be required to move to another room the next day; this despite him being repeatedly contradicted by a colleague saying that we would not need to move. Happily, in the end, a move was not required.

During the third day of our stay the in-room internet access stopped functioning, causing major problems for guests since there was only one internet access point in the lobby. Management were clearly disinterested in sorting out this problem and this issue was not resolved during our stay.

The 'complimentary' breakfast was generally appalling and much of the time some of the food items were unavailable. The size of the breakfast room was hopelessly inadequate for the number of guests. The sole person overseeing the food in the breakfast room was also responsible for emptying the refuse bins in that area.

As we were vacating the room before the required time we received a very aggressive phone call from a female employee stating that we needed to get out of the room.

Stay here only if good customer service is not important to you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gracie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is my experience about this place in a nutshell, but if you would like to know more details, please feel free to contact me.
this is a nice hotel, location and etc... but the front desk agents/service are so rude and nasty it is so sad. They actually stopped my guest while coming to visit me in my room and told him he cannot visit up in my room and he has to call me to come down so we can have visiting time in the LOBBY! Can you believe that? Her name is Jessica and was very rude, as I came down stairs she was screaming at the top of her lungs to my friend saying she will call the police. I have traveled all over the US and have never once been told room visits are not allowed. After she screamed at the top of her lungs for nothing, for a total of 15 mins, she switched up and said she will let him go if he agrees to give her id..ultimately, I felt so belittled and treated so badly. I asked to speak to a manager and for the 2nd day in a row the manager Patel was not there! Honestly I would rather stay in a hostel or a broke down bed bug free motel before I stay at this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Misssunshine1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

It is not easy to find a decent hotel with an affordable price in New York, so this one is kind of unique in this sense. The location is perfect, the subway station is only a five-minute-walk away, and you can be at Times Square in 15-20 minutes. The staff is kind, the rooms are surprisingly big and clean, the beds are really comfortable.

After a few days, the breakfast gets a bit boring, since it is the same every day and the breakfast area is a bit tiny, so you often have to queue up, but come on, you are in New York City - it is not a problem to find a good place to eat if you got bored with it.

So I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something cheaper, but still close to Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nr0bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing