We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Affordable New York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel is new and clean and features views of Manhattan. Being a "Country Inn," it doesn't reflect New York City character and our king room was a bit cramped, but perfectly adequate for sleeping. The continental breakfast was added value, though it was crowded. I believe the hotel is more affordable that others in the area due to the fact that there are no eateries or shops within walking distance, but the train is a few blocks away, though. Nearby parking is nearly nonexistent, so be prepared to lug your bags a few blocks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzzArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    707
    355
    155
    146
See reviews for
504
636
132
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very good value for NYC. Subway is extremely close to the hotel - only takes minutes to get to Manhattan. Especially convenient if you are going to be going to midtown and/or the East Side in Manhattan. Neighborhood around the hotel felt safe, though certainly not scenic. There is a great place for breakfast & lunch about 1 block from the hotel (on the way to Queensboro Plaza subway station) - the people there are very nice and the cafe is very modern & clean with good food at reasonable prices. The convenience store at the gas station next to the hotel was also great for stocking up on snacks for our kids. Microwave & refrigerator in the room was a nice touch. Free breakfast was extremely crowded - we opted to get our own down the block at the cafe mentioned above. The hotel staff & cleaning people were very nice and the hotel is in great shape - definitely feels brand new. The view on the city view side of the hotel was 'okay'. You can see the empire state bldg & chrylser bldg in the distance, which was fun, but not a spectacular view. Might consider getting 'non-city view' room next time because those rooms seem to be quite a bit larger and some also have a chair, in addition to the bed and the desk with chair. Cab rides to Manhattan were generally $10-20, depending on where you were going and amount of traffic. Easy to get a cab. Coming back to the hotel, would recommend telling the cab driver to go up 41st Ave and letting you off at the Gulf station at the corner of 41st and Crescent. The Gulf station is only a few feet from the hotel, but saves $1-2 in cab fare, since you avoid driving around the block (there is traffic sometimes). Subway was very convenient and our kids loved subway rides. Overall, for a room priced in the $100 vicinity, its a great bargain and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evanston96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Got a really great deal despite the holiday!

We got a suite with a king bed and pull out couch. Beware of room 606, the pull out couch is broken! When you open the bed, some of the springs holding up the mattress are broken. My friend ended up sleeping on the couch itself instead. We alerted the front desk staff to the issue upon checkout, but they didn't seem concerned.

Housekeeping was great. We made a call requesting extra towels, and they came up just a few minutes later.

Breakfast is free, but nothing special. Bagels, cereal, coffee, juice. There is a waffle maker, but no matter how much nonstick spray you use, your waffle WILL stick. Don't even bother with it. The dining area is tiny, so you may be better off bringing your food back to the room. Coffee and tea are available all day.

The location is what really sells this place. It's just a 5 minute walk to the Queensboro Plaza station. You can walk a little further to Queens Plaza and catch the F, but it's... sketchy. Either way, it's a super short ride to all pertinent Manhattan stops.

If you have late night munchies, go next door to the Gulf station. They have anything you need, and the staff is really nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We had no trouble finding the hotel after getting emailed instructions of subway travel from Newark Airport. It was our first time in America so complete novices. We found the staff efficient if not over friendly. They did what they needed to do but no more. The free internet access was fairly slow but useful. We had a King Size room with views of Manhattan from our window which was a complete bonus. The room was kept very clean and the toiletries topped up when required. The breakfast was the same everyday but more than adequate, sausages, cereal, choice of fruit juices, bagels and waffles etc. The breakfast room was always crowded whatever time you were there but we always managed to get seated but some customers took their food back to their own rooms to consume. We enjoyed our first visit to New York and would certainly recommend this hotel as good and reasonably priced

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 8 nights, I booked it in advance so I got a room with breakfast and great view of the NY skiline for around 120 dollars (double). Three different subway stops are within two minutes walk from the hotel. You can get to Times square within 10 minutes.

The rooms with bathroom are quite large. The room includes microwave oven, coffe/tea maker, TV and a fridge.

The breakfast were simple but tasty. The breakfast room was too small for the hotel capacity so sometimes you will wait to get a table.

Very good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereToGoNextTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

The room was great, and we had a great view of the Manhattan skyline. Do not stay here if you have a car you care about. There were never any parking spaces available, and certain days they clean the street so you can't park there. We parked in the recommended lot down the street which is not a garage but a fenced area. They have a sign stating they are not responsible for damage and I found out why. They routinely ram the cars together to squeeze in as many as possible. The New York cars have front license plates that damage the rear bumpers. I came out with several damaged areas on an otherwise perfect car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

NEVER AGAIN will I stay at this hotel!!! Have been a loyal customer at this hotel since we started coming here last year(have stayed here at least 5 times) and its getting worse and worse..front desk staff is a joke, NO ONE knows what they are doing..booked a 3 nite stay, called that morning to confirm our reservation, no problem. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not find our reservation, then after a couple of minutes they found 2 reservations, after going back and forth w them telling them that we booked our stay in January, and canceled it, we re- booked it last month (as i was talking with them about this, they were conversing back in forth in their NATIVE language, gee thats VERY professional!). Our rate was a special deal that included a $25 food voucher. After being questioned about the name on our reservation, i informed the hotel i was traveling w my boyfriend( YES, Im gay) the look we got from all 3 front desk staff was a look of disgust (and i thought only God could judge me). Finally after 5 minutes of being questioned, and being told that they tried to charge my CC the DAY BEFORE and it was declined(i changed my bank 2 weeks ago, hence the new CC, and btw ,WHY ARE YOU CHARGING MY CC THE DAY BEFORE ARRIVAL??? and we were LUCKY our reservation wasnt canceled ) we checked in. After arriving in our room, i called down to the front desk and asked when i was getting our food voucher, I was told that we would not be getting it because i was not a " tier G3 goldpoints member" I called the main office to inquire about this, and was told that they had NO IDEA what he was talking about, we should have gotten the voucher..so in other words, THEY LIED!! After calling the corporate office to complain( Mary Kay is the best), i got a call from someone claiming to be the property owner, he said he would take care of the problem(going on 24hrs, still no action taken). How are you supposed feel safe at a hotel who's front desk staff lies and has issues with whom u love and wish to spend the rest of your life with( we have been 2gether over 8yrs!!) NEVER AGAIN!!! I have stayed with every major hotel chain, and NEVER have i been treated as rude as this... RUN RUN RUN

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christianjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing