We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value and close to subway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Value and close to subway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We have given this hotel a 4 for a couple of reasons, the water pressure in the hotel is not as great as others I've stayed in and they didn't organise the breakfast room very well for the mass of German students that were there. The teacher basically used it as an office when people were queuing and I think the hotel could have done more to make sure the other customers weren't stood waiting whilst he gave out SIM cards to 30 kids. However the guy who kept all the food things filled did a great job!
The location could be better but for the price you pay I think it's ok. Close to subway and the garage next door had everything you'd need snack wise.
I wouldn't walk too far at night, we walked to the park by the water but it was a bit dodgy on the way back late on.
The bed was really comfy and I would recommend it to anyone who wanted good value but not to pay more to stay on Manhattan itself.
Great Chinese takeaway down the road where we got two meals and some spring rolls for $12! (Cheng's)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    679
    340
    145
    139
See reviews for
483
613
127
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I thought this hotel was going to be super out of the way, but it worked out really well. Having the subway so close was really convenient, minutes to Manhattan. The room was pretty nice, very roomy for a basic room in New York. Breakfast was good, everything was good. So glad I found this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is located in a working class neighborhood just one block from the Queensboro Plaza subway station. The rooms are average size and clean. The bed was great. The free breakfast is just OK. Few restaurants in the area. The big plus for this hotel is the location just one block and one stop away by train from Manhattan. If you are looking for a place that is not too pricey this hotel may be good for you. You will pay $75 to over $100 more per night to stay in a smiliar place in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators, vending machines and rooms located near the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rueben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dottingen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed for 6 days in March 2014. Hotel is very close to Subway and Manhattan. The King Suite room was clean and spacious. Breakfast includes eggs, sausage, waffle maker, bagels, donuts...The price you pay is much lesser than in Manhattan. We would book it again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed stay. Our city view room (811) was very spacious and clean. Good facilities in the room, a fridge microwave and coffee maker. Although we had our own itinerary when we did need to speak to staff they were very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were also very nice and friendly.

Although there is no "secure" luggage storage when checking out earlier in the day, we left ours all day with no problems at all.

Can't comment on the breakfast as we ate out whilst on our trips.

The hotel location although it seems a bit run down was perfectly safe and was in a fantastic position for several subway stops. Gas station next door was useful for snacks & drinks. (Although don't expect any sort of customer service here!).

Overall a brilliant stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for one night in March. We previously stayed at this hotel because it is located near the subway and very close to Manhattan and Astoria, where we have relatives.
The service is OK, but try not to get situated on the first floor, especially near the breakfast room. As we were there only 1 night, it was not a big issue, but there is considerable noise from about 5 am on. Also, try to get positioned at the back side of the hotel to avoid street noise. The breakfast was adequate, but never enough places to sit for the crowd that accumulates. It seems to be a favored hotel for foreign visitors and that is quite nice.
The price and location are the big plus factors!

Room Tip: do not get on first floor and back rooms away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great location, five minutes walk to three subway stations. Lots of nice eateries around, as well as a laundromat and pharmacy. The hotel is ok but there are a few issues. We were on the seventh floor right next to their laundry which went 24/7, and we had the cleaners yelling at eachother up and down the hall outside our room throughout the day, which was really annoying! We had Stained sheets and smelly stained towels on occassion. The cleaning could be A LOT better. We actually had our toilet block up and over flow on our last night, so I asked if they could come mop the floor. They used towels and didnt mop, I had to ask again and they still didnt mop. Needs work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sh7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing