We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Mediocre Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location, price, and comfort of this hotel is amazing. I have stayed with a group and personally. The only downfall is the demeanor of the staff. Check-in is always rough. The staff has no idea about "customer service". It seems that check-in is an inconvenience for them and they offer nothing but what is requested. The housekeeping staff keeps everything very well maintained and clean. The breakfast area is usually well stocked, although, one staff member to keep things cleaned, trash emptied, and restocked sometimes is not enough. I will use the hotel again, knowing I just need to bite my tongue when interacting with the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,822)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks and love the place ,great location,close to Manhattan without the price tag,easy walk to subway and quick ride to mahattan.
Room was very clean and good size,great city view,air con works well(which is a must for me) and block out curtains for sleeping.
Breakfast was good,might have to wait for a table some days but better than paying for breakfast when you can have it free.
bed was very comfortable
Will stay here again that for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melmo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

stayed here a few years ago

its one short block to the subway there is alsoa gas station next door useful for drinks snacks etc. takes about 15 mins to times square and much less of course to lower manhattan

the room was plenty big enough - huge comfortable bed, decent bathroom, microwave and fridge and a nice flat screen tv

breakfast was decent enough and included in the price

highly recommended will stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMVManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location and the fact that the price is much lower than similar standard on Manhattan makes this an ideal hotel for visiting New York on a budget or repeating visits.
This is the second time I have stayed on this hotel and it is quite nice. The staff is probably not the most smiling or cheerful hotel staff found but they are polite and helpful.
This time I got a room facing the street. Very spacious room with kingsize bed, sofa, armchair, desk, 32" Television with lot of channels, refrigerator and coffee maker. The room was clean however the bathroom could do with a washing of the floor and removal of the previous guests soaps. For the nine days I stayed there the floor was only swept/washed a couple of times however definitely not something to complain about.
The room had air-condition and since I was in NYC during a fall heat wave I had to turn it on. It turned out to be somewhat noisy however it was less noisy than opening the window facing the very trafficked street. It did however not disrupt my sleep. I stayed on the 8th floor.
Breakfast was basically fine with waffles, toast, juice, yoghurt, danish, egg and sausage etc. I came in early so even though the room is on the small side I did not face any problems sitting down.
The neighborhood is nice and quiet. A small gas station which also sells a variety of kiosk items is close by and in the neighborhood there are small food vendors. The Queensboro Plaza station is 5 minutes away and with the 7 line taking you to Times Square or Q or N to south Manhattan this is ideal for discovering NYC.
I will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: You might want to get a room with a city view to avoid the noise from the street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kengedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I just stayed here 5 nights. We were moved to a different room the 3rd night because we hadn't booked a "city view" all 5 nights. Well, I wasn't asked when booking; they just quoted 2 rates, which I thought was just because we were there both on a weekend and during the weekdays. I wasn't pleased about having to change rooms in the middle of our stay. And city view evidently means the west side, as we really couldn't see much of the skyline from the 3rd floor. Higher up may have had a better view. In any event, it was the move that rankled me.
The location is great, however. Without paying Manhattan prices, this hotel is 1 subway stop from Manhattan, and a quick 2 block walk to the Queensborough plaza station.
The hotel has good wifi in the rooms, a fitness center with 1 treadmill, 1 weight machine, 1 cycle, and 1 elliptical. Whenever I used the fitness center, I had it to myself.
There is a decent breakfast but was consistently crowded, I mean packed! The poor guy trying to keep up with re-supplying breakfast items could use some extra help. The rest of the staff was typical New Yorkers- neither friendly nor rude, but really not concerned with hospitality either.

Room Tip: If the rate quoted changes for different nights during your stay, make sure they aren't quoting...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

4 nights in october. Good service, clean beds, good location. To small diner for breakfast. some small take aways two blocks away on the other side of the subway. Subway is one stop from manhattan. Atm did not work but there is one at the gasstation right nextdoor.

Room Tip: higher floor have less streetnoise and a good view over new york
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lioged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed there for over a week during Fall of 2012. The place is clean, staff is courteous and breakfast is better than most other hotels in this category. It's a new hotel so everything works perfectly. Subway station is couple of minutes walk from here and you can reach times square in 15 minutes. Very affordable and recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,732 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: $93 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing