We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of "new" in Queens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of "new" in Queens”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I spent five nights here during the US Open. We were surprise and pleased to see so much new construction in the Long Island City area. The hotel is fairly new and about what I would expect of a Country Inn and Suites in a large city. The room was an adequate size, clean and nicely appointed. The Queensboro subway station is a block away, the Queens Plaza station about two. From these you can pretty much go anywhere the subway goes, making it to Manhattan in about 6 minutes. Other reviewers have complained about the breakfast room. It is small for the size of the hotel and the breakfast items were fairly basic. We went out out for breakfast three mornings, just down the street and had a very pleasant breakfast near Queensboro.

Room Tip: Others have said they loved the views of Manhattan. We were on the opposite side, but didn't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpockat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    747
    390
    171
    176
See reviews for
546
680
149
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Long Island City is very well located for visiting Manhattan, Queens and many New York Landmarks. The Country Inn and Suites is a newer very affordable Hotel with a nice breakfast included. Access to the subways is within a 10 minute walk. Rooms are clean, quiet, and efficient. Amenities include shampoo, soaps, lotion and hair dryer and full size ironing board and iron. I felt safe as a single female in the Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor and a corner room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vdawg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our overall experience of the hotel was about(overall rating 6/7). Room was cleaned(7), breakfast, limited selections but ok if you are not fussy, no coffee cream throughout our 6 nights stayed(4). closed to subway line, 5mins walk, area feel safe even late night, subway & m60 bus to LGA approx. 30mins (9). We have asked for a safety deposit box when we arrived but was told was full, we put our name on the waitlist and I checked with FD for 4 days without success then gave up. Our request on high fl away from elevator was fulfiilled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank echan565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. What a mistake. Rude employees and poor housekeeping. What else could you ask for?

Free breakfast? I can see why it's free.

I've read that this hotel is fairly new, but it sure doesn't look like it. Dirty furniture, chairs, and carpets.

NYC is the capital of rudeness. This hotel justifies it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. We apologize for the rudeness of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is actually OK but I will not stay there again. My 1st gripe was that I was lied to by the check in staff. I hold Carlson Club Gold status. In most cases I get upgraded to a larger room or at least a higher floor. When I checked in at this hotel I was given room 210. When I inquired if I was being upgraded I was told that the hotel was fully booked. I accepted his answer. However, later that day I asked another staff if the hotel was fully booked and if larger rooms were available. There were other suites available. Strike 2 was that I was expecting a package to arrive at the hotel. When I asked if that package had arrived they said no. I checked on-line and the package had arrived 2 days prior. So I asked again if I received a package and after searching he found my package. The staff here is poorly managed with a don't care attitude. Also note that if you leave your luggage for a late check out they leave it in an unsecure area of the lobby. So 2 days later I moved to the Fairfield Inn 3 blocks away. There I was granted early check in from moving to the Country Inn in the AM, was given late check out to catch my afternoon flight and was given an upgraded room without asking. I only hold silver status with Marriott yet was given these privlidges. The breakfast was better at the Fairfield Inn as they serve real bacon and eggs as well as better coffee. The lobby and rooms are bright and welcoming. The staff at the Fairfield is more professional starting with them wearing uniforms. To be fair the Fairfield Inn is located close to the subway line and there is a new building being constructed across the street so you will have to turn on the a/c for some white noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i5405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here 6th Aug for 3 nights. Easy to get to on subway from airport and into the city. Read some very mixed reviews so was a little worried as to what we would get but I have to say that all our experiences were positive. Yes bits of wall were scuffed slightly but which hotel doesn't have the odd scuff fro a suitcase, the front desk weren't that friendly but they did their job of getting us checked in quickly. The breakfast didn't have that much choice, but its free so take it or leave it. We never went for breakfast after 8 am so never had trouble finding an empty table to eat at. And the view is the best I've had from a New York bedroom window and this is stay number 9. So my overall view is we will be back, at these prices I would be foolish to stay anywhere else.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkCastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardegna
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Beautiful and comfy hotel in Long Island City - NY. We stayed for 8 days and everything worked fine, the staff was helpful and very kind, the room was big and clean. Wi-fi was very powerful and FREE! Near the hotel there was plenty of subways like 7, Q, N in Queensboro Plaza(200m from the hotel), M, R, E(direct to Jfk in 25 min) in Queens Plaza(500m from the hotel) to reach Manhattan in a few stops(actually 2 if you go to Central Park). The rate was definitely wonderful less than 100€ per night per room. So don`t waste your time looking for a hotel and reserve at Country.....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing