We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great New York value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great New York value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our local friends booked this for us and we were really pleased overall. If you are looking for a hotel when visiting New York, but dont want to pay New York City prices, stay here. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, offering everything you need. Comfy and clean.

The subway is right at the end of the street and only a few stops from Times Square and all the main attractions. At only $2.50 a trip, its a much better option than paying to stay right in the city.

Breakfast is complimentary but not always great. Get there before 8am or there is little there. Its all self service and not always replenished. Still, a good start to stop a rumbly tummy before finding a cafe. Download the tripadvisor new york app, its very useful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    708
    355
    155
    148
See reviews for
505
639
132
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sochi, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

the hotel is perfectly located(only two min walk to subway station and it took us 10 min to reach the city center)we didn't have to change to get to most sights, so it was very convenient.getting from and to JFK airport was also very easy,direct subway line stop only some blocks away.very clean room,microwave and fridge made our stay even more comfortable good sufficient breakfast gave us energy to start our days .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liudmila336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have written several reviews on tripadvisor before, but never a negative critique. My mother told me "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all". In this case, I consider the conditions in this hotel totally unacceptable and detrimental to the health of those that stay there. Thus I have made an exception to my Mom's rule. A few facts: (!) we stayed in a room infested with bed bugs during a recent stay. (2) On-site hotel management, saw the bugs, acknowledge the problem and reduced our bill by 50%. (3) The room was reoccupied the evening after we checked out, an indication of quality of hotel management. Stay at this place if you want, but be prepared to deal with the health issues bed bugs bring, as well as the significant costs to deal with the infestation which will likely be carried to your home.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care. Our email is CCare@CarlsonRezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed there with my family. Having read the reviews we brought an inflatable mattress because the hotel didn't provide rollout bed. They provided 3 towels and 1 soap/shampoo/conditioner etc (for 5 people)
I have to admit, that after reading the reviews we were very careful with our belongings so nothing went lost, but the fear was there until the day we left.
Breakfast was good (continental), we made sure to be down by 7 so no queues then. Staff was pretty bitter but not rude. I just got the feeling everyone in NY behind a counter is the same so nothing personal. Hotel is very close to a couple of train stations so that was very handy. I requested a room far from the lifts and with skyline and got exactly the opposite, so no tipping from me. Carpet had a horrible red stain, not acceptable for a hotel. Microwave & fridge where very helpful to make popcorn and keep the beers cold.
Dunno I'll come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yainus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is just a couple blocks from the NQ7 subway line. The room was nice and clean. The hotel was quiet when I was there. The room had a fridge and microwave which was handy when we got home late and wanted something to snack on. The wifi signal was hard to get on the 6th floor, but other than that I was rather impressed. My mom and I felt comfortable walking to and from the subway station alone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The dining room is woefully inadequate, usually untidy and crowded with people. Seating is limited. The rooms are nothing more than average, the carpets stained, the cleaning staff only do what is necessary. There are better places to stay than here. Also, having only one internet in the foyer is a propblem when there are people waiting to use it.
I would go elsewhere next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidingram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hallway on our floor STUNK when we arrived. We spoke to the manager and the smell disappeared. The room was acceptable, but nothing extraordinary. As for breakfast, it was ok; however, there was no creamer for the coffee. When asked, the attendant pointed to the milk. The coffee supplies in the room allowed only one cup to be made since there were only condiments given for 1 cup. Also, I hated that they gave actual mugs in the room. This meant we couldn't take our coffee with us as we headed to one of the 3 nearby subway stops. The carpet needs to be replaced throughout the hotel. It is worn, stained & stinks (as indicated by the hallway on our floor). Also, it would be nice if the breakfast varied a little for those staying several days. It seems the management is trying to cut corners and make money without investing in their property at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowa2Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing