We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed July 26, 2013

the hotel is perfectly located(only two min walk to subway station and it took us 10 min to reach the city center)we didn't have to change to get to most sights, so it was very convenient.getting from and to JFK airport was also very easy,direct subway line stop only some blocks away.very clean room,microwave and fridge made our stay even more comfortable good sufficient breakfast gave us energy to start our days .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liudmila336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have written several reviews on tripadvisor before, but never a negative critique. My mother told me "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all". In this case, I consider the conditions in this hotel totally unacceptable and detrimental to the health of those that stay there. Thus I have made an exception to my Mom's rule. A few facts: (!) we stayed in a room infested with bed bugs during a recent stay. (2) On-site hotel management, saw the bugs, acknowledge the problem and reduced our bill by 50%. (3) The room was reoccupied the evening after we checked out, an indication of quality of hotel management. Stay at this place if you want, but be prepared to deal with the health issues bed bugs bring, as well as the significant costs to deal with the infestation which will likely be carried to your home.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care. Our email is CCare@CarlsonRezidor.com ~Dana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed there with my family. Having read the reviews we brought an inflatable mattress because the hotel didn't provide rollout bed. They provided 3 towels and 1 soap/shampoo/conditioner etc (for 5 people)
I have to admit, that after reading the reviews we were very careful with our belongings so nothing went lost, but the fear was there until the day we left.
Breakfast was good (continental), we made sure to be down by 7 so no queues then. Staff was pretty bitter but not rude. I just got the feeling everyone in NY behind a counter is the same so nothing personal. Hotel is very close to a couple of train stations so that was very handy. I requested a room far from the lifts and with skyline and got exactly the opposite, so no tipping from me. Carpet had a horrible red stain, not acceptable for a hotel. Microwave & fridge where very helpful to make popcorn and keep the beers cold.
Dunno I'll come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yainus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is just a couple blocks from the NQ7 subway line. The room was nice and clean. The hotel was quiet when I was there. The room had a fridge and microwave which was handy when we got home late and wanted something to snack on. The wifi signal was hard to get on the 6th floor, but other than that I was rather impressed. My mom and I felt comfortable walking to and from the subway station alone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The dining room is woefully inadequate, usually untidy and crowded with people. Seating is limited. The rooms are nothing more than average, the carpets stained, the cleaning staff only do what is necessary. There are better places to stay than here. Also, having only one internet in the foyer is a propblem when there are people waiting to use it.
I would go elsewhere next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidingram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hallway on our floor STUNK when we arrived. We spoke to the manager and the smell disappeared. The room was acceptable, but nothing extraordinary. As for breakfast, it was ok; however, there was no creamer for the coffee. When asked, the attendant pointed to the milk. The coffee supplies in the room allowed only one cup to be made since there were only condiments given for 1 cup. Also, I hated that they gave actual mugs in the room. This meant we couldn't take our coffee with us as we headed to one of the 3 nearby subway stops. The carpet needs to be replaced throughout the hotel. It is worn, stained & stinks (as indicated by the hallway on our floor). Also, it would be nice if the breakfast varied a little for those staying several days. It seems the management is trying to cut corners and make money without investing in their property at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowa2Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was here for 7 nights .As mentioned by other reviewers you get what you pay for . It is not the Park Plaza so come with an open mind .Compared to the price that you would pay for a Manhattan hotel where you would be charged extra for WiFi and Breakfast I guess that this place is an excellent price steal . The hotel is about 5 years old so it is in relatively good shape.
If you want a city view room you have to pay more for it .The windows are small so I doubt that you will even notice the view it after a few glimpses ...so save your money.
I was in a standard executive room at the elevator which is just a little larger than a standard room as it has a larger entrance way area I was told due to the configuration of the elevator ..so actually no advantage unless you plan to spend time near the doorway . I did not hear the elevators at all .

The air conditioning unit is LOUD and mine had only one setting and that was HIGH the LOW was not functioning . At night time it was always coming on ...it took some time to get used to the new noise .The windows do open but in the summer only the brave would open them during the night due to the summer heat and the outside traffic noise .Avoid New York during the summer .I had not choice but to come here at this time so I had a new NYC season experience .

The hallways ,the breakfast area and the lobby were sometimes uncomfortably warm but you do not spend time in these areas .
Take your breakfast to your room if it becomes too crowded or hot .You can return for more before 10am as there are no guard dogs .

There is free coffee and tea available from the machine in the breakfast room through out the day and evening .

I had breakfast early every morning before the crowds arrived which made the temperature skyrocket in such a small area .Plus you get a better selection of food if you arrive early .There was LOTS to eat ..something for everyone ...remember it is included in the room price so do not complain .You would probably pay 20 bucks in Manhattan for what they offer .

WiFi worked well and you do not need a password . It was down for only one evening during my stay and that was probably due to the terrible thunderstorm that we experienced .

The front desk is mainly Middle Eastern managed so some people may have a problem understanding their dialect .Approach them with a smile and they will smile back .

My main complaint with the hotel was with the timing of the room cleaning service .Checked out rooms are always cleaned first then the remaining guest rooms are done next .My room would not be scheduled to be cleaned on my floor until 3:30/4pm .
Being a senior I would start out exploring HOT NYC early and return early for a much needed rest .The summer NYC heat and humidity is incredible and is immensely draining on the body so I usually return to my room for a pm nap to recharge for the evening before the subway rush hour begins . Unfortunately ,my room would not be made up when I would return .
I had my room cleaned 2x by choice during my 7 night stay as I could not be bothered with this arrival of the cleaning staff at the same time as my nap return ..it was an inconvenience to pick up the valuables and head to the lobby THERE IS NO ROOM SAFE IN ANY ROOM and thsi is a MAJOR inconvenience .I guess that they are very limited on cleaning staff in order to save on operating cost .
When the room was cleaned it was expertly done .No problem there ,

There is a convenient Mobile Gas Station next to the Hotel that stocks EVERYTHING that you could imagine including groceries and fast food .There is a Dunkin Donuts at the subway entrance if you want a carbo and joe fix .There are other eating places but I bypassed them as the room has a great fridge and microwave so I made my own snacks.

The Number 7 Purple subway line to/from Grand Central /Times Square is just an easy few minutes walk from the hotel .Buy a refillable Metro Card for ease and value extra added bonus value .There is an attendant in the booth at the Queensboro Plaza Station who will help you out be sure ask for an excellent free subway map .

Overall, I enjoyed my 7 night stay here .The room was quiet except for the air conditioner ,
the staff and I got along ,the breakfast was good ,the room was clean ,the TV worked great after I put new batteries in the remote ,the shower had good water pressure and hot water was abundant.The bathroom was of a good size with a granite top and the towels were soft ..even the face cloth ...The FREE Wi Fi was excellent .
There was an ironing board and iron in the closet.

Would I return?..yes of course without hesitation !

Room Tip: Manhattan view upper floor rooms cost more but are quieter .
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skip n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,729 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: $93 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing