We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and affordable”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just a few blocks from three subway lines, you can get to Manhattan museums, other attractions, and LGA or JFK quite easily. Breakfast is free and ample, though seating can get crowded at peak times. The local neighborhood is not the finest, but it's safe, and there are some decent budget places to eat nearby. The staff was very courteous and helpful. For the budget-conscious, this is an excellent option for a NYC visit.

Room Tip: Next time, I would make sure my room was not next to the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    750
    400
    179
    182
See reviews for
564
686
150
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
suffolk, uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first time was with a girlfriend in 2011, and when I returned with my husband I decided to go to the same place as I knew the area.
Firstly, you get what you pay for. It's medium budget so don't expect The Ritz. However, we found it to be perfectly clean inside, which was our priority. The area may look a little dodgy, but we went out after 10pm on two occasions looking for food and never felt worried or threatened. The free wi-Fi worked perfectly and was a God-send. The breakfast is fairly basic, but we were happy with tea and toast, followed by a yogurt. We didn't find the front desk staff to be overly friendly, but on the one occasion we had a problem ( sink in bathroom blocked ) it was fixed very quickly. Our room was immediately next to the breakfast room which we felt might have been an issue with noise in the morning, but it really didn't bother us. City views would have been a bonus rather than an alleyway out the back, but we're easy going and in no way did it spoil our trip. We have both said we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kady2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel in located conveniently 5 minutes walk from the subway station. Our room, at the end of the corridor was very quiet, an unexpected surprise. both room and bathroom are kept very clean. Our bed is comfortable and, although the rooms are smaller than other hotels, it has everything we need. The rooms with king beds have city views. rooms with two queen beds face the neighborhood. We are staying at the later but we heard no noise from the street below. Breakfast is complementary but very popular so I would be up early to fight the crowd of people. Te continental breakfast includes waffles, cereal, eggs and sausage (I avoided those), yogurts, bananas, etc. as expected of s continental breakfast. This is a second time in this hotel and we recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour of the East Coast of the USA, from the UK, in November 2011.

This hotel was really lovely, newly refurbished at the time, and best of all – their free Wi-Fi worked and breakfast was included! The area it was based in looked a bit dodgy to me, but it turned out to be completely safe and fine.

It is very well located, being within a couple of minutes walk of a subway station, and an assortment of deli's, Dunkin' Donuts, etc. There is also a gas station almost next door for essentials such as bottled water, soda, snacks etc.

The room was small but really nice, comfortable and clean, and the staff there are super-friendly - they printed out our boarding passes for us once I had checked in online for our flight home!

Breakfast was plentiful and good - sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels & cream cheese, yoghurt, mini muffins, donuts, coffee, and orange juice, although you had to get there early to nab the sweet pastries as they tended to go really quickly. There was also a waffle maker but that was constantly in use so we didn't get to try them at this time.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabbycat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

- This hotel does not recognize Club Carlson Elites. I was told by the front desk that Gold Elites do not receive a room upgrade, late checkout nor an in room welcome gift. This was a first for us!
-The front of the CI&S LI City had filled black garbage bags stacked on either side of the building in plain sight, some 30+ on one side and 13 on the other with cardboard boxes stacked on top of the pile. It wouldn't surprise me if they were still there. Several four inch rebar spikes were sticking out of the cement which I felt were quite dangerous. As for exterior decoration, ten large plastic planters were only growing WEEDS.
-With the exception of egg patties and sausage, if you are a carb addict (bagels, donuts, cold cereal, waffles, etc.) you'll love breakfast. They did have bananas one morning but they went fast.
- Best part of the room was a comfortable bed. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. The shower was never wiped down/cleaned from the previous guest(s) as there were water spots on the tile and stains in the grout. The hotel definitely does not use fabric softener on their towels. Bath amenities are only second rate at best. Never could get the TV to turn on with the remote and it took quite a few clicks to advance channels or volume.
- Front desk personnel were neither friendly nor particularly helpful during either check-in or check-out. I was given the distinct impression that dealing with guests was an imposition of their time. All answers to my very few questions were curt and short. Several of the other employees spoke no English.
- Lastly, it seemed to me that this hotel's management is more focused on milking this property for all its revenue than providing a pleasurable experience for its guests. This is quite evident by the lack of attention to easily correctable details and the poor service given. My previous stays at other Country Inn and Suites ranged from very good to excellent. I would rate this hotel a "POOR" at best!

Room Tip: Rear facing high floor rooms overlook the Big Apple. When I requested such a room on check-in at 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsasric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff and the lack of choices for the breakfast. As a Gold Member you should not only be recognize for your Status but also upgraded if available and we sincerely apologize that the agent was unbale to do so We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care at 1800-967-9182.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

just got back from our trip where we stayed in the country inn and suites and found that it met our needs very well. we were looking for something that was reasonably priced (I know in NYC that is a relative term) safe, clean and with easy subway access and this met all of those requirements. I did not ask for a higher up room as some have suggested so no special view, but that again was not an issue for us. the continental breakfast opens at 6 during the week, 7 on weekends and was typical of most. It was clean and food was ok, good enough to get us started on our day. when we got there early the food was plentiful and there were places to sit, get there after about 7:30 and finding a spot to sit may be an issue, and you may have to wait for them to fill some things up. they do replentish things but not exactly in a speedy fashion. there is not much in the way of food close to the hotel, several pizza and chinese places do deliver to the hotel, but the queensborough subway station is just two blocks away and four stops from times square. there is a gas station/convenience story next door, the sign says 24/7 but twice we did not get back till around midnight from the show and it looked like just the gas station was open at that time, not the story.

we just spent the day in the city and the hotel was just fine to crash, sleep, eat breakfast in and head out again. there is a close parking lot for 13.60 a day plus tax, but we got lucky and got a spot right outside the hotel in the street where we were able to keep the car for the 4 days we were there and there were no issues. the walk to the subway station in the dark was fine, not exactly suburbia, but we did not have any problems with it.

Room Tip: we were on the 6th floor and had no issues, although no view if that is important to you. ice maschi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimcht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel met all of our expectations - very good price, clean, solid beds, decent breakfast, and most of all, a very quick and easy point of access to all the attractions in Manhattan via the Queensboro Plaza subway. If you're looking for a typical four-star NYC hotel experience, this isn't it, but we enjoyed our time at this hotel as a place to sleep. The area is improving as there are new condos popping up down the street, and my wife and I both felt safe there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Manhattan skyline. No, the street scenes directly below isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing