We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The City view made our trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The City view made our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I agree with most of the positive opinions on here. Clean, fridge, coffee maker, good bed linen & bed, decent breakfast, although yes, sometimes mega busy!!
I got some great pics of the skyline too, the view having the advantage that you could escape the madness of the city & chill in your room with a beer/coffee without feeling bad about not taking advantage of your time here......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    708
    355
    155
    148
See reviews for
505
639
132
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is very close to Queensboro Plaza subway station for the 7, N & Q trains. It was better than we had expected with modern decor and the king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. As other reviews have stated, the breakfast room is cramped and the staff could be friendlier, but it is excellent value for money and we would stay here again. The garage next door stocks a huge variety of goods and fresh food - but not elastoplast unfortunately!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grecofan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for six nights. The hotel itself is about 200 yds away from the subway station, bought a metro card for $29, 7 day unlimited travel. Also buses available outside Metro station. The hotel provided all that was promised on their website. The room was comfortable, free wi-fi, good view of Manhattan skyline, fridge, microwave, king bed etc. The breakfast was plentiful with cereals, bananas, yogurt, bagels, bread, donuts, cakes, waffles, sausage and egg. It was a little chaotic but nothing as bad as reported in other reviews. I have used this system in other US hotels, plastic knives and forks, disposable plates cups. Not very environmentally friendly, along with the rest of the hotel, for instance the keycard does not control the electricity supply in the room so you can leave everything switched on at all times, what a waste. However as I said convenient to Manhattan, cheaper alternative, delivers on promises, overall quite acceptable. The staff are another issue, do not expect any interaction from staff. This suits me but not everyone will be pleased with their laid back attitude.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week in august and really enjoyed our stay! The location was perfect for us, just 10-15 minutes from Time's Square and Central Station with the 7 train. We paid half of what similar hotels on manahattan would charge and it was defenitely worth the 10 minute metro ride.

Breakfast was hectic around 8, but there was only one day that we couldn't find a table straight away (went back to have a shower and got back 30 min later when it was quiet). Cereals, waffles, eggs/sausage, yogurt, porridge, bagles, bread, donughts was available as well as hot/cold drinks. Best thing, it's included :-) but 2 mornings we went out for breakfast, my tip is Clinton Street Baking Company, it's amazing!!

Our room was located at the end of the corridor but we could still hear the lift, so I cant imagine what it would be to sleep next to it! Spacious room, large bed, tv and free internet. The only thing i missed was a safety box.

Staff is not friendly at all and barely say hello, but we didnt mind as we didnt spend much time here anyway...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aramisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hello,
Some of you may have noticed I mainly provide reviews regarding Hotels located in the NYC area.
This time I have been forced to find a new hotel as there were no vacancies in any of the good hotels I have been staying in the past. I have found the Country Inns and decided to stay in there as conveniently located just 250 meters far away from Queensboro Plaza metro station.
To keep it short, the hotel is very clean and just 2 years old.
Beds are big and have great mattresses, TVs are LCD 32 inches, toilette very nice. If you register t Carlson site and get your fidelity card, you will get free Internet for free.
Personnel in the reception could be a little more friendly or smile sometime, however this would be just a plus and it is their managers' duty to work it out with their staffs.
I see a lot of talking about the breakfast, and in fact I am very surprised about the good rates regarding this point. I have found a chair free just one time during the 4 days I have stayed in this hotel, but this is not the main issue.
The issue is to find only bagels and small butter and marmalade as options... some sliced bread and that is it. The machine making waffles! YEAH, nice toy, cooking the stuff not properly and really not such a good deal, I believe... I am not finding a plus to have to try to make a waffle, probably under or overcooking it! So, breakfast offers no variety, far from being exciting and no place where to seat! NYC is plenty of diners, so I have preferred to have breakfast in other places. If you want a hint and you like food, take the Q or N train going to Ditmars direction and have a breakfast or brunch at Neptune, right at the Astoria Boulevard metro station.
Finally, a good rate and congratulations to this newborn hotel, inviting the to re-orgnize from scratch the breakfast matter, allowing guests to have a better experience and TripAdvisor members to give a higher rate.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the side of the elevators are bigger but you can get disturbed by the noise coming f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent a lot of time on the internet trying to find a hotel for our stay in NYC. Most of the Manhattan hotels were just too expensive and offered small rooms and no breakfast. That is why we decided to book the Country Inn & Suites, because it offered breakfast, larger rooms and a very good train connection into Manhattan. The train station was only a three minute walk away. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was a little crowded in the mornings because there were not enough seats. We simply got some food and took it with us into our room which was on the same floor. There are a couple of fast food places around and a gas station that offers snacks and drinks. I would recommend staying at this hotel, especially if an inexpensive alternative to Manhattan is requested.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Metro is a few minutes walk, then you are in 15 minutes in manhattan. Rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast room is very small, so sometimes crowded but there is enough. Else take the food and drinks to your room. We stayed here 6 nights and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing