We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A nice hotel close to Manhatten” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Long Island City
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    357
    261
    88
    76
See reviews for
220
331
76
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
622 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was here last year and now again. This was just an overnight before a trip to Switzerland. This is a very basic hotel in a non-tourist area in nearby Queens. In the off-season the rates can be quite low. In the busy season they vary higher by demand. The hotel is accessible with a 10 minute walk from the N,7, and F metro lines. The rooms are small but clean. The higher floor rooms have views to either the west (the city) or the east (basically LaGuardia take offs and landings). the rooms might have some small flaws like a slow drain or light bulbs needing replacement. If you bring a vehicle, street parking might be hard to come by, though spaces will open up here and there. Check the signs for how long you can stay parked. Street cleaning generally alternates sides once a week. There is an air conditioner for summer and a heater for winter. The windows open a little for outside air. The hotel serves a free starter breakfast in the lobby and there was a fridge in my room. The front desk offered a free weekday newspaper. A free standing computer is located in the lobby. The biggest problem would be nearby tourist services. There are none close by. But a nearby bus (66) or taking the 7 or N train one or 2 stops farther will put you near neighborhood shopping.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the price we got, room is pretty nice. Have wi-fi, all the facilities. However, just to bare in mind - our room was 2 double beds (suppose to be for 2 people originally, and one more for the last night). I found the bed too short, even with my 165 cm. I had to sleep diagonally! So if you are a basketball player, consider an other option; also It's really for one person, or for 2 only if both of you are little and close enough to each other :-) My main concern is breakfast area. It is awfull! Only 3 tables for 9 floors hotel building, one of them near the entrance door which is automatically opens if somebody is around (we were there in winter!). Menu is pretty much nothing - Ok you can get a cereal with milk, banana, bread and Philadelphia cheese and donuts if you' re lucky (if you come by 9:30 they are gone). Coffee is just a colored water, tea about the same. Because when we came it was completely packed, we have to wait for a while, up until 9:50 which is the end of breakfast time. I asked the "breakfast man" to refill smth he answered in Hindi or smth I couldnt understand (obviously he didn't do anything and just glided to his back room). And when we were leaving he was pointing to the receptionist at us as we did smth terrible. Wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Let’s talk about the positives first. My room at the Ramada was fantastic, the wi-fi is free (unlike a lot of New York hotels) and as an affordable option to Manhattan hotels, some might think it hard to beat. And in many ways it is (they even throw in a fair buffet breakfast). However, there is such a spectacular failing at the point of check-out that what would have been a 3 or 4 star rating crashes and burns.

I have been travelling to New York for many years and I have never known even the cheap and cheerful (on a good day) YMCA fail to offer a baggage storage facility for guests who need to check out by a certain time but have time to kill because of later flight times. It has just always been a ‘given’ in my experience that hotels and some hostels acknowledge this and cater accordingly. Not so the Ramada – and there alternative is just plain disturbing. ‘Just leave it here’ the receptionist instructed me, gesturing towards the general lobby area. ‘Perfectly safe. We have many European travellers with midnight flights so they leave (their luggage) here’. Clearly, the Ramada’s ‘many European travellers’ are unaware of safety and security issues in the 21st Century because all the cases I saw (yes, guests are actually taking him up on his ‘just leave it here’ offer!!) sat there without any kind of baggage padlock. Also, there was nothing to stop another ‘guest’ just confidently grabbing a bag belonging to someone else and leaving with it. Who would stop them? There is no security or concierge at the door so I assume the cleaners would be expected to multi-task and tackle the absconder in between hoovering and dusting.

Such a shame because the Subway connections are fantastic as it nestles at the foot of the Queensborough Bridge, making it possible to jump on to several different routes and end up in Manhattan in a matter of minutes (my fastest journey time was about 9 minutes to 7th and 59th, near to both Times Square and Central Park). It is also a fraction of the price you would pay for a glamorous Manhattan locale. But the check-out experience was a ghastly failing under late flight circumstances (you have to be checked out by 11am) and the unprofessional look of the reception on arrival, combined with a friendly but rather too casually presented staff means that I will be exploring other local options in the future. And who the characters frequently loitering in the lobby area might be is anyone’s guess!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromhell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

5 minute walk to 39th St subway station then a few stops and you are in Manhattan, I found it was a ideal place to stay to explore the sights if you don't want to pay the high prices in Manhattan.
The Shower was powerful and every time i used it there was sufficient hot water, WI-FI was fast.

There is no room service provided but there are a few connivence stores within 2 minutes walking distance. I didn't have breakfast as i ate out so i cannot comment on that, the bed was comfy and i would stay here again if the price was right.

Sky Train then subway to 39th st from JFK doesn't take long at all.
Taxi to La Guardia $25 (including tip)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-c63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#21 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#10 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Long Island City

Property: Ramada Long Island City
Address: 3830 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing