We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect For Commute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Long Island City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect For Commute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was a guest here as I had an early morning commute out of LaGuardia. This hotel was perfect for that. It is also convenient and accessible to Manhattan. The room was quite large and very nice. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel beautiful hotel located in Long Island City, Queens New York City for your recent stay! We appreciate the kind feedback and delighted that you found the property convenient. LGA is only a few miles away and easy access at virtually anytime. As you described, the commute is quiet easy and then you can be at LGA in minutes. Till the next time you comnute in, we look loof forward to having you as our guest.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    335
    69
    29
    16
See reviews for
206
273
74
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My girlfriend's room had a Manhattan view and her room was tiny. My room had a view of scenic Queens, but it was huge. Something to consider.

Part of vacationing is being able to relax and soak in a tub....both rooms were shower only.

We had room service twice and were very pleased both times.

It is very convenient to a couple subway stops.

The staff is so-so. They were very distracted, asked me the same question multiple times. The attempt at multi-tasking meant they weren't doing any of the things they were working on properly. Do one thing. Do it right.

Overall a good experience.

Oh, why have signs up saying you are environmentally friendly and to hang up your towels if you don't want them swapped out....only to replace them anyway?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cham3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Cham3814,

Thank you for the opportunity to have you stay with us. I appreciate your candid feedback and will manage to get the observations and services corrected. I want to apologize again. Glad to hear some things went well and again thank you for highlighting these items. We are convenient to the city center as you know and views are wonderful from any part of the building.

We have a couple of things to work out however thank you again for the "in"convenient truth. If you do ever have the opportunity to stay with us again please contact me directly. I appreciate your comments and can guarantee a better experience. Thank you for staying with us.

Travel Safely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Staying here for 2 nights in the middle of last summer.

Positives:
+ All staff here treats us not as a guest, but when staying here they treated us like a good old friend, this concept is same as a USD 1000 price tag Aman Resorts. 11/10.
+ All staff here was very informative about the surrounding area, subway, etc. Before I arrive here, I sent numerous email to the GM, Mr.Rosario Bianchi. I asking everything about NYC, and their hotel. He was very gracious and very informative in answering my questions, He gave me a sense of "very welcome", although I still didn't arrive.
+ Very competitve price, about USD 200 nett in the middle of summer, much cheaper than the other hotels in Times Sq. you can reach Times Sq in 30 min from here, but the price was 50% cheaper.
+ They gives us late check out until 2 pm, free of charge.
+ Groceries store nearby.

Negatives:
- Surrounding Area: very quiet, like a ghost town, err maybe I'm too hyperbolic :), but I didn't like their atmosphere at all. Far from my expectations about NYC.
- The Subway, at 10am till 3 pm the nearest subway station (2 block from hotel) don't operate. So, you must walk about 8 block to reach the nearest subway station).
- The Taxi: taxis are very rare in this area, and also when I came to this hotel, the taxi driver did not know the location of this hotel, even I've clearly shows the map.
-Their double bed was too small for us, maybe just 160x200cm.

Recommended: Absolutely Yes, their hospitality is their main strength.
Return To Sleep: Maybe No, I still like the Times Square atmosphere.

As usual, I always include photos in each of my reviews on Tripadvisor. - It's Real Review.

Room Tip: Just ask High Floor, Manhattan View, all of their staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSB_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I guess we meet again! Thank you for your time and feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to afford you a good value and services. Our team is committed to give our guests the best experience. It was a pleasure communicating to you and making sure you had enough information before your arrival.

Our area has become more of a destination for those guests who do not want to pay Manhattan prices. It's definitely not Times Sq. It only takes a 15 minutes to get there. We have 2 train stops located near the hotel, N or Q Trains is a1 block away and the 7 and E trains is 4 blocks away. The 7 train has been on weekend repair for 26 weeks and we continue to voice our issue with this so again I apologize for this. There are new restaurants opening in our immediate area. The pictures were nice thank you for sharing them. The hotel only has queen size beds as the smallest bed type. I apologize if you felt the bed type was small.

I will certainly pass on the positive feedback to our team and again thank you for the Real Review! Hope you can stay with us again soon!

Travel Safely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

It's a very nice business hotel - close to Manhattan, quiet and the views of Manhattan are spectacular. The room I stayed in wasn't large, but I didn't expect huge sizes and I was very happy about the stay. The neighborhood is a bit industrial, but what do I care :).

Room Tip: High floor, Manhattan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and feedback! On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn L.I. City, we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing IHG!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,270 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,054 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

To find a hotel for less than $100 a night, 1 subway stop from Manhattan, and Manhattan views to kill for, would be almost impossible. Well, not really. This is all at this property. It is clean, fresh, smart, warm service, killer views and almost in manhattan.

The surrounding area is gruffy right now, but it is going through a gentrification, with many hotels and condos coming up. However, it will take a while before the area is fully spruced up. But, except for the walk to and from the subway, you will not spend any time in the area, because there is nothing else to do here. No restaurants or any other activity. In fact, it is best to hop on the subway (2 blocks away) and get to Manhattan for a whole different world.

My room (1501) was smallish, but was made to look spacious with a wall of reclining glass windows floor to ceiling, facing the bed and looking west towards midtown Manhattan. Yes, you will also look over the rooftops of the adjoining neighborhood, but you will have to pay some price for this value oriented place. I look the new Holiday Inn style of a shower stall instead of a tub, far more practical and modern. The new Holiday Inn beds are very, very comfortable, firm and cushy. The staff that greets you at Reception is one of the happiest lot I have encountered in a while, all cheerful and helpful.

Wifi was a bit of a problem. It was inconsistent and at times dropped completely and was very slow.

But overall, if you can snag a room here for less than $100, you will be lucky!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor with a Manhattan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our property! We appreciate the time and consideration in choosing our hotel compared to Manhattan. You will find value outside of Manhattan as the outer boroughs are increasingly becoming a destination for guests traveling to NYC. Our property is close to major airports and offers the convenience, as you explained, to get in and about the city by a short metro ride. Our area indeed is gentrifying and there are a few nice restaurants along side our hotel. Our very own Brazilian Restaurant offers an authentic style rodizio BBQ which I suggest trying next time your in our neighborhood. I do apologize, I wasn't sure if you contacted anyone for the Wi-Fi issue as we have staff available to assist you to ensure you have a better experience in the future.

I will pass on your kind feedback in regards to the cleanliness and friendliness of our hotel to the men and women who really make our hotel the best in NYC. Thank you once again for staying with us!

143 cities Reviewed is quite impressive, and you have helped 359 guests with your useful tips. Travel Safely and I hope you continue to have great experiences everywhere you go.....

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

There is not so much to add to all the raving reviews about this hotel.
Considering the unbelievable savings comparing to any Manhattan hotel, I would definitely stay there just for the price.

But there is more to this hotel than an attractive rate.

First of all, very friendly and helpful staff . If you need a good restaurant in the area, or some advice on transportation – they are always there to help you.

Second, a very clean and spacious room. ( We had one with a small balcony – not so much of a great view, but still a nice feature). Door to ceiling windows, a lot of light.

Third, and for us some of the most important features that nowadays many hotels ignore: a small real frig ( not the one with the mini bar temperatures), free Internet and a coffee machine.
It happened so that a weekend before staying at the Holiday Inn L.I.City, we stayed at DoubleTree hotel on Lexington Ave in Manhattan. Not only the rate was much higher – than on top of that you had to pay for the Internet, no refrigerator, a tiny room and no coffee maker. There was even no comparison.

As for the parking, it is a very safe neighborhood. Instead of paying the garage rate, we just parked off the street for 2 nights. No problem.
We did not eat at the restaurant, but it was packed at the night time .
We sent couple friends to stay in this hotel and they were more than happy with it; we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trips365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback and time in expressing your experience at our hotel. It goes without saying, Value and Space is the great thing about staying outside of Manhattan. I pride on our service and you will not meet a more knowledgeable and helpful stay in Long Island City! I will share your feedback with our team. We are delighted you found your stay comfortable and to your expectations. Thanking you for making this "A Great Place" and referring guests to our property. Travel Safely......

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duryea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is located a block and a half from a subway stop and will get you to Times Square in no time flat. If you're lucky enough to get a city view room, you'll be bowled over by the nighttime view. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is limited parking on site, but there is a parking garage next door, where you pay Queens, rather than Manhattan rates. Overall great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and travel tips for our future guests! Value, Service, and Convenience is our mantra. We hope to see you sometime in the near future. We appreciate your time and again, thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View.

Travel Safely.....

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#4 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paper Factory Hotel
#12 of 28 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Chelsea
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
#430 of 478 in New York City
2.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Boro Hotel
#2 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Property: Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Address: 3905 29th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing