We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base to explore the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to explore the city”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was in New York City for a 6 night/day visit to take in the sights and needed a base that wasn't going to eat up the majority of my budget for the trip. This hotel proved to be a hidden gem. The room itself was generous in size and i had a view of Manhattan from the window and balcony. When this is your first visit to the city, you get in late and your first proper view of the city is the famed Manhattan skyline? Breathtaking.
The staff were all courteous and very helpful when I was looking for a local bar that would be showing that nights UFC card. They didn't know offhand but very quickly were able to find out and let me know before I headed out.
One of the major benefits of this hotel is its proximity to the 39th Avenue Subway station which is a mere 2 blocks from the hotel. The N&Q lines run through this station which takes you directly into Manhattan in 10-15 minutes.
All in all this proved to be the perfect hotel to function as a base to take in all that NYC has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Manhattan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Juan,

Thank you for your time and recent review of our property! Thanks for making a reference to the subway; Our guests are often wanting to know how close it really is! The hotel is surely a hub to all major attractions and this is the hidden part of it! Next time your here try Klutch in Astoria where UFC Fights are the bigger than Sunday Football. We hope to see you on the next visit!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    361
    78
    33
    20
See reviews for
215
296
78
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Right around the corner from the subway that goes into manhattan every five mins or so..
Fab clean rooms with free wifi and a manhattan view to one side.
Lovely little area without the manhattan price tag..would defo recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your feedback and recommendations to our viewers! We certainly appreciate your business and delighted you found the comfort, convenience and value in Long Island City. Till the next time you come across to us we wish you a wonderful rest of the year.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Room was perfect. Stayed for four days and loved it. Helpful staff and great views. Two minutes to subway and two stops from Manhatten on N or Q. $20.00 cab from Times Square after shows. Cab or car service from hotel in minutes. LIC Deli across the street open from 6 to 10 with good food options. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the short and sweet version of your feedback. The big three VALUE, VIEWS and LOCATION what more can be said.

Till the next we hope see you..

Travel Safely...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location is awesome, a little hidden jewel and just a short stop outside of Manhattan. Area is really nice and quiet as well. Subway to Queensplaza or 39th st N trains are a very short distance away. Great little Market next door at the LIC deli to get a breakfast sandwich or a Bagel. Few things that could of been better, I made a comment to the gentleman at the check in late at night that our TV did not work. Expecting to the fixed the next day, his note did not get followed through (I ended up fixing the TV). Second, we were bombarded by a not so nice lady (I think she was the head of the cleaning/maintenance) that we needed to leave. I was not aware check out was 11am, even through the booklet in the room says 12pm. I didn't appreciate the attitude. Over all though in the grand scheme of things, this is a great hotel, and I'll continue to stay here. Cleaning staff is very friendly and have done a great job each time I stay here. As the old saying goes "we can always do better".

Room Tip: try to get a room w/out an ice maker near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback! I want to apologize for the TV this request was not followed up upon and will be addressed internally. Check out time is published at 11am so if your directory stated otherwise again we apologize for rushing you. We accept your challenge! We will do better and next time you stay with us please contact me directly and I will guarantee a perfect stay or you will not pay for that part of it!

We value your feedback...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room that I saw on Kayak and the one that we ended up getting were completely different. The refrigerator did not work and it was a non-smoking room that had an intense smell of smoke. The pool was closed unexpectedly as well . I ended up talking to a manager and they corrected the situation.

We ended up getting a much bigger room, with a king size bed, a patio, a view of Manhattan that was beautiful and really helped to make the vacation a whole lot better.

The maids were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel special as guests.

Elizabeth, that worked at the Holiday Inn went above and beyond for us. For this reason alone, I'd recommend this Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming back to our property! I apologize for the pool closure however this has been published since January. If you found the listing somewhere please send us the information as did cover this last year. I hope you received some information on the Aquatic Clubs in the area which we offer complimentary passes to?

I will certainly pass your lovely comments over to Elizabeth who does ensure our guests feel at home and assists with every question or concern gracefully!' Our Room Attendants as well who are not shy and engage with our guests. I will let them know!

We would like to thank you again for staying with us again and next time be sure to ask for the Loyalty Bonus on the 3rd Stay. I guess you will have to wait and see.....

From all of us, Travel Safely and see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice and clean rooms. The stuff was very nice and you have a nice view to manhattan. Our room was VERY small (I know NYC has small rooms in general, but I know, that there exist bigger ones). But that was ok for us, because we were there for just one night. Breakfast can be taken there but is definately not necessary. The price for such a close hotel to Manhattan is worth and cheap. So thumbs up, even if I wished to get a little bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tommy,

Thank you for your recent review. I know we have rooms that are smaller in size but they have fantastic views which makes up for the space. Next time you stay with us we will certainly find something more suitable. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and being very close to Manhattan is a thumbs up because you don't have to pay Manhattan Prices.

Travel Safely and again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the HI Long Island City for 5 nights to celebrate my partners birthday in New York. The whole experience staying at the hotel was first class, great service, great people and great ambassadors for IHG. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade to a suite with amazing views over the city. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day, light, bright and airy. The Brazilian BBQ buffet in the evenings was great value and would recommend a nice bottle of Malbec to wash it down. The hotel is very close to the subway station making it very convenient to commute in and out of Manhattan. If we ever return to NYC then without a doubt stay their again. Well done to all the hotel team!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for being such a great guest! I cannot wait to share this my team. The expression "Hidden Gem" doesn't get old with us. I'm delighted that you and your partner had a memorable experience! Rio Grande Restaurant is the great place for value and fare. We cannot be happier that you found our property.....

Travel Safely..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 32 in Long Island City
593 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 466 in New York City
11,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 466 in New York City
9,426 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#213 of 466 in New York City
701 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 466 in New York City
9,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Property: Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Address: 3905 29th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing