We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A typical NYC Days Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Long Island City
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A typical NYC Days Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you're on a budget then this is good hotel. Close to subway, easy to get into Manhattan. But of course, its a Days Inn. So don't expect anything more than the basics. The bathroom was actually surprisingly clean and updated, with a nice spacious countertop. The room is of course tiny - but that is what you would expect. My room faced the street and the noiseproofing was fine. But my colleague faced the subway line and even though he wears hearing aides, he found the roar of the subway quite noticeable. He said he did manage to sleep and once he had fallen asleep it didn't bother him. I couldn't get the wifi to work on my laptop - but was too tired to try and get it sorted out. So can't comment on how they might have responded to that problem. They were responsive to my doorkey not working. We checked in at peak time (5 to 6pm) so had a bit of wait at the front desk while maintenance was called. But they called maintenance on my second trip down to the front desk, which was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    140
    181
    71
    100
See reviews for
152
170
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I ended up stranded due to weather at LaGuardia Airport and was able to get a room at this hotel. No shuttle to the airport; cab fare varies based on traffic, but would be a minimum of$17 from LaGuardia. The check-in folks were great. The lock was a bit random on my room door--worked sometimes, not others. The A/C was hiked up very high, so the room was like a meat locker when I walked in. But if was during a heat wave, and fiddling with the thermostat (after turning off the A/C for a number of hours)fixed that. The room was mostly clean, although there was a drip of something brown in the sink that had me a bit worried. The curtains were akimbo, the towels threadbare and mildly stained. Breakfast was OK (apples, eggs, bagels, croissants, cereal and oatmeal). But no hot water for the oatmeal. Standard juice and coffee. When I asked for the number of a cab service on the way out, I was told they would call for me and that the fare would be $23. But I knew I could do better on the street on a Saturday morning, and I got a cab that cost me $18.50 (with some traffic). That was a bit sleazy. Not sure I would go here again . . . .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heminway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location, next to train station that takes you to Manhattan in about 15 minutes. The rooms are small and clean, and the breakfast lounge is VERY small, always overcrowded. You'd better grab your breakfast, and go back to your room.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the building, to avoid the noise of the train passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crpineda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is decent comparing the price. Location wise it is excellent since it ir right next to train station.

Room Tip: Normally they offer room i the basement which should be avoided. the front office is helpful but req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pravinsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three days last August and we enjoyed it. This hotel doesn't reflect the normal daysinn's standard, because the rooms are pretty small and the breakfast lounge is rather small and overcrowded, but despite this we found the hotel very convenient considering its price (about 90 € per night) and its location (just few subway's stops to reach Manhattan).
Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marile15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have gotten into the habit of reading TripAdvisor reviews prior to booking and this property's reviews were mixed but it's location was perfect so I took a chance. A few reviews mentioned the rooms were small--they are not; it is very typical for what you will experience in NYC. Even with a king sized bed there was ample room to move around, a good sized armoire and dresser, spacious bathroom, and a mini fridge which came in handy. The location is a little tricky to drive to as it sits directly at the intersection of several busy streets, but no worries at all if you are taking a cab. The property itself is clean and well maintained, parking is first come-first served but we never had any trouble finding a spot. The continental breakfast is typical but still, its free and the WiFi was fast with a strong signal. Another plus was the subway station only 1 block away which provides a straight shot to Times Square and the 24hr. Seven-11 which was adjacent to the property. If you are expecting the amenities and level of service of a Ritz Carlton you will of course be disappointed. If you want a clean, safe property that is easy on the budget with a convenient location then I would recommend this Days Inn

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces a high traffic area as well as the elevated subway line-ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dixonr925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is the second time i've stayed here, and I don't have any complaints. The rooms are clean, and the staff was nice. I didn't have any issues with the wifi. The train is extremely close to your room, but I actually never had any problem sleeping. There isn't much in the neighborhood, so once you're in you're in, but I didn't have any problems getting cabs to Manhattan or on the train

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cancanthebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#29 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#24 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#26 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island City

Property: Days Inn Long Island City
Address: 3136 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Days Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Days Inn
Days Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing