We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty good, getting better, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Long Island City
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good, getting better, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was satisfied with my first stay (see TripAdvisor review), so on my return trip I made only a cursory effort to explore other options before deciding to stay here again. Most of what I wrote before is still true. The main problem with the room itself is the feeble water pressure. The staff does seem to be making an effort to be more friendly and helpful. But I have a couple other points to make.

One, the rooms are small. That's to be expected in a NYC budget hotel. But, it also means the rooms are not very suitable for families with children, especially children of a boisterous, active nature. So if you're traveling with younger children, you might wanna think twice.

Second, the best thing about this hotel really is its proximity to a subway station on a line that goes directly to Grand Central. That means you can get from there to anywhere in Manhattan almost faster than if you were staying in Manhattan, but without Manhattan hotel prices. However, it's been pointed out to me that this station, like almost all, requires traversing 4 flights of steps. If that's a problem for you, you won't be using the subway much, and so this hotel really won't offer much.

Couple other observations: the hotel seems to have become quite popular with international guests. During my stay I overheard German, Spanish, Swedish, and Viet Namese, as well as some other languages I couldn't identify.

Directly behind the hotel is a no-name quick-serve diner (the canopy says only "Breakfast-Lunch-Dinner"), which I guess mostly serves students from LaGuardia Community College across the street. It's a cheap place to grab a bite if you're staying here.

Other reviews have mentioned the limited parking. It's true, there are only about a dozen spaces, half in front, half behind. But, in numerous occasions of walking past both en route to the subway station, I have never seen them all full. If you are driving, it might be worth the risk.

Me, I'm happy with the place, and intend to stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    139
    180
    71
    99
See reviews for
152
169
49
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

EVERYONE: If you are even considering this hotel: DONT STAY HERE!!!! First, the staff did not understand english, they were not helpful at all nor were they kind. It was as if we were imposing on them by asking normal questions (I.e. travel around the city, getting more towels, etc.). Second, the shower handle in our room was broken and when we called to tell them, they were snappy about fixing it and made us feel like we were bothering them. He only came up to the room to put the handle back on and during our stay it was never repaired. Next, when we first stepped in the elevator, the floor was soo sticky that our feet stuck to the floor and there was something wet on the floor as well. They only got up what was sticky and didn't do a good job of sweeping or mopping the floor. The seats in the lobby were stained and so were the chairs in the breakfast room. The blanket in our room had holes and was ripped. During the course of our stay, my friend said she got biten by a bed bug on top of everything else. Lastly, if you need ice, you have to go to the basement and watch out for the rats! My friend saw TWO RATS running around. The hotel is next to the train which was only 10-15 minutes to Times Square which was the only bright side. However, I will never in this liftetime stay at this hotel again. I will stay in Manhattan when I visit New York again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Island City hotels

Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Even though the hotel is located near a busy road and up close to the Metro rails, we could hear no noise, unless the window was open.
Very small breakfast but still a breakfast with 3 kinds of ceral, and begals. But okay to start the morning with ;-)
The hotel is located a few feet from a metro station that will take you to Manhattan within 10 minuts, so easy to get to manhattan fast.
The staff werent all that helpfull and not very keen on talking, but they did what they are hired to do and we have no complaints about the Hotel at all.
Room was cleaned daily.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that faces out towards the big road as i suspect that those to the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We chose this hotel due to the free parking and close proximity to the subway. The parking was limited, about six spaces in the front and about six spaces in the back. We had a king size room and no it wasn't spacious like other places but we weren't expecting a large room. We only used the room to sleep in. The room was very clean and well kept and the bed was very comfortable. The location wasn't horrible like some of the reviews stated. We never once felt uncomfortable walking back to the room at night. We would definately stay here again and tell other people to stay here for a great value. We had a room in the front facing the subway and we never once were kept awake at night from the noise level. Read the positive reviews not the negative for this place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancergrl608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

DO NOT stay here. Rooms were dirty and cramped (too say the least). One member of our party had sheets that were stained with (what appeared to be) fecal matter. Noisy and ill equiped, the train runs right outside your window at a 4 way intersection that provides nothing but NOISE, NOISE, NOISE. Not to mention the view of the 24/7 Adult Sex Toy Store right across the street. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstrav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel staff is really the only problem. They never even acknowledged us when we returned to the hotel each evening from the city. Not once did we receive a 'Hello" or even a smile for appreciation of our business. When we first checked in we asked what time breakfast would be served and instead of answering us the guy at the front desk just pointed in a matter of fact fashion to a sign stating the information. Then when I asked where it would be served, this time he didn't even look up and just pointed in the direction of where that would take place. Other than the lackadaisical attitude of the staff, I thought the location and price of the hotel was perfect. There was free internet access and also free parking available. The rooms were very small, apparently all rooms in New York City are that way, but the bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayella1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Affordable, clean and good location........will be back again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#29 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#22 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#25 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#26 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island City

Property: Days Inn Long Island City
Address: 3136 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Days Inn
Days Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing