We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Island City -Views of Manhattan - PS 1 Step back in time to the future” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Long Island City -Views of Manhattan - PS 1 Step back in time to the future”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

MOMA PS1 is a quick block away from the No. 7 train, Court Sq stop.
This is where MOMA does rough modern, not like Manhattan smooth MOMA. The building itself is a white elephant, rambling so that you feel as if you could follow breadcrumbs into or out of exhibits. There are three floors with twisty turny paths into little rooms with video, bigger rooms with objects, many sets of stairs and lots of guards watching you like hawks.
There is no unity there is art chaos. This does not feel sophisticated, organized or corporate. (Although that happens for sure behind the scenes.)
This feels like what you would find in an art colony, in time forgotten, in a madcap utopia, the good, the bad, the creative and occasionally the divine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2013traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    92
    44
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very cool experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to PS1 for our first time this June. While the building is not HUGE, it is a really great reclaim.
We spent a long time walking through, checking out some great installations, physical, audio, video.
If you like very contemporary art, I would definitely make the trip over to PS1. What a gem.

Finally, though we didn't eat there, the restaurant was super busy and smelled great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank neilhalper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very contemporary, great building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This old school house makes a great venue for this gallery. A highlight for me was out the old boiler and plumbing covered in gold leaf in the basement (easily missed). The video material wasn't to my taste - just too bonkers - but a Lassnig exhibition was excellent. It was nice to make a trip out of Manhattan as well. Price of admission is included with ticket for MoMA.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It is my second visit to this fantastic museum - even though the current exhibitions aren't so interesting - the venue itself is wonderful, an old public school that was renovated and converted into this museum, the spaces are huge and strolling between school's classrooms and corridors offer a unique experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amirflg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,Az
Level Contributor
452 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Too Weird Even for Modern Art”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited w/ my wife and 30+ son. We are all very broad minded and especially my wife and I enjoy 20th century + art, regardless of the medium. Unfortunately the 3 of all were pretty uniform in that most of the exhibits were pretentious, self indulgent and certainly not suitable for children. The mixed media parts especially. Building is very cool and the price is right (free for LIC residents and 1 guest) but I wouldnt recommend making a special trip to see the current exhibit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sccrref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing