We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It is my second visit to this fantastic museum - even though the current exhibitions aren't so interesting - the venue itself is wonderful, an old public school that was renovated and converted into this museum, the spaces are huge and strolling between school's classrooms and corridors offer a unique experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amirflg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    93
    44
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,Az
Level Contributor
490 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Too Weird Even for Modern Art”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited w/ my wife and 30+ son. We are all very broad minded and especially my wife and I enjoy 20th century + art, regardless of the medium. Unfortunately the 3 of all were pretty uniform in that most of the exhibits were pretentious, self indulgent and certainly not suitable for children. The mixed media parts especially. Building is very cool and the price is right (free for LIC residents and 1 guest) but I wouldnt recommend making a special trip to see the current exhibit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sccrref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic building with alright exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you are not a hardcore modern art guy, the exhibition is alright. It is like many other galleries a nice way to bend your traditional lines of thinking and to stimulate alternative ways of looking at things. However, what I will remember most is the old school building with the corridors, rooms and staircases full of character.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjøvik
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“MOMA ER KOMA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

You love it or you don't. We went there with two kids, age 5 and 10. They did not bother with this. Strange things to see, and quite big to go visit for only an hour or two. With kids maybe better with other museum.....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I must have gone on a bad day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

because I found the entire thing pretentious and self-serving. I am usually a fan of modern art, but I was not at all impressed with what passed for exhibits. I have a friend in the area, so I will go back one day, if for no other reason than to write another review with confirms or contradicts this one. If all the exhibits were this bad, PS 1 would not have the reputation it currently enjoys.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eyebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing